We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2431 Cleveland Avenue, Fort Myers, FL 33901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Fort Myers
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We booked this hotel as it appeared from the description that it was in the centre of downtown Fort Myers - which it may well have been but it was on the very busy Highway 41 and with no restaurants or attractions within a short walking distance. When we arrived to check in there was no Restaurant as this was being renovated, this was not mentioned on the web site. Hence we were unable to get a sandwich or anything to eat. A temporary restaurant was in operation in what looked like a conference room, no windows very gloomy. We spoke to the Manager and told him we were not satisfied as the hotel was not as described on the web site and he was extremely understanding and offered to cancel our reservation at no cost - this we really appreciated as we had booked with Booking.com.
This is not a hotel to stay in if you want to be able to walk out for a meal or entertainment. Cannot comment on the cleanliness etc of the room

Room Tip: Cannot offer any advice, sorry
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Elizabeth W,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    45
    32
    9
    14
See reviews for
45
43
12
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

If Downtown Historic means a Dunkin Donuts and a CVS I could have stayed home. Booked rooms 3 months ago and was given handicapped rooms and from then on it was downhill but I won't keep you.Would NEVER recommend

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Kathleen M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online.We are sincerely sorry for the issues you had regarding your room request. Our goal is to provide clean and comfortable stay to all of our valued guest and make their stay a memorable one. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luverne, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this Holiday Inn. The bar/restaurant is under renovation but the rest of the hotel is done and wonderful. Great value for the cost, we made this hotel our home for a week. The staff bent over backward to help us with our plans and arrangements. The managers were also wonderful to visit with and hear about the area. We felt that we were centrally located on a road with easy access so it was a great place to leave and come back from.
We would highly recommend this property to the visitors to the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

What a great experience here at the Holiday Inn!! Everyone on staff was great! The daily cleaning of the rooms was amazing as well! I cannot say enough great things about this hotel. Even though the restaurant was under renovations (but will open in the next few weeks), they still provided good tasting food and service. Estefania who takes care of sales there was just AMAZING!! We had a baseball team and lots of parents/family that wanted to support them and we were all very pleased at how smoothly things were handled and they were very accommodating if people wanted to extend their stay. If there were things missing or needed in the rooms they were quick to respond. There are tons of great restaurants close by and conveniently located next to a Dunkin Donuts and CVS in case you need things.
Very, very pleased by our stay here and would recommend this to anyone needing a hotel in this area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh, scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you get a good price on this hotel and you get a renovated room then this hotel is good value.

I'm not one to stay in Holiday Inn's normally as they can often be over-priced and in a need of a make-over but I wanted to stay in the historic downtown and this was the best priced option.

Location:
As others have said, the hotel is not in the historic downtown but it is close. It is only about a 3 minute car drive or a 20 minute walk but it's not the most pleasant walk I've ever had. Cleveland Avenue which the hotel is on is a very busy wide road which you have to walk along unless you walk in a round about way through a suburban area. We did catch the free downtown trolley back which takes you close to the hotel but you still have to walk through a dark area if you come back at night. I did feel quite safe, however.

Hotel staff:
Hotel staff were very friendly and a lovely lady on reception was very helpful when our car broke down after we had checked out.

Hotel decor:
The hotel was under renovation when we visited (Jan 2013). We stayed on the executive floor and these rooms had been renovated. The rooms were fresh with nice decor and a comfortable bed. The restaurant was mid-renovation when we visited for breakfast. Breakfast was fine although I thought it quite odd there was no breakfast buffet, you had to order with a waiter. Thus if you were in a hurry, you weren't going to get your breakfast before you had to leave as it wasn't the quickest.

Overall:
A good value hotel and once the renovations are done, I'm sure it will be very pleasant. Again, be mindful of the location though if you think you're going to walk downtown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear scotland580,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I highly appreciate your compliments on our hotel staff and thank you for noticing our decors.

On the other hand, I would like to apologize if you didn't find our location to be convenient. Guest comfort and safety are of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a comfortable and safe environment.

I have taken note and wish to thank you for your comments. Rest assured that it will be reviewed by the hotel's management and will be used for future improvements. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Price line deal never a gain. The hotel was alright the pool area. Not so good location no so good. The food at the. Makeshift. Restraint was horrible The staff was friendly they have shuttle to Jet blue park. And bed are nice. Cleaning staff was excellent . Gotta ask for shuttle. Bob driver very helpful

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear davo571,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience at the restaurant. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

*Agree with others - location not historic district & wouldn't feel safe walking to historic district at night.
*Room-service is poor - Placed an order and had to repeat it multiple times. Staff called back 10 minutes later to confirm the order. When arrived, no utensils or appropriate condiments. Order the following day was very slow and staff again came back after the fact to confirm what was ordered...wish they'd write it down the first time. Take home point - if you are closed for renovations, maybe you should be "closed" and not deliver sub-standard service as it gives a poor impression.
*Mixed feelings about the front desk staff - My overall impression of the front desk staff was that it was just a paycheck and they weren't going to go out of their way. One staffer came off unfriendly, another seemed uninformed about the immediate surrounding area and what events were going on. I would suggest that management provide more training about the area and a daily briefing for staff on what is going on in the area that day.
*Parts of the hotel were clearly under renovation, but there were some things that needed attention and that seemed like regular maintenance and would have been appreciated. ex. Cigarette butts & trash in the mulch by the pool and in the outdoor restaurant area. A coffee spill in the main walkway that had a "Wet Floor" sign put over it instead of someone taking the initiative to just wipe it up.
Enough with the negatives...positives were: housekeeping staff very friendly, bed linens very soft and comfortable, nice new carpet in hallways and rooms, nice new & clean feeling in bathroom, mini-fridge & microwave in room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear MamaBellSavage,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. We are happy to hear that the housekeeping staff was helpful during your stay. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. Most importantly, I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic

Address: 2431 Cleveland Avenue, Fort Myers, FL 33901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District Fort Myers hotel. You will know we are a step above the rest as soon as you walk into our large, recently renovated, contemporary style lobby. Soon you will be greeted by an outstanding front desk agent solely concerned with your satisfaction. After checking in, enjoy the Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District s fully renovated rooms, business center, and restaurant, Cafe 2431. With high-speed wireless Internet access in public areas, meeting space, and guest rooms, you can catch up on work any where you would like even while relaxing by our tropical pool. The Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District is located in Historic Fort Myers near the River District and is within walking distance of the Boston Red Sox Training Stadium, local businesses, dining, shopping, and entertainment. The Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District Fort Myers Hotel is just minutes from I-75 and approximately 20 minutes from the Southwest International Airport (RSW) so you can be to your home away from home in no time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic Hotel Fort Myers
Fort Myers Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.