We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I got what I paid for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2431 Cleveland Avenue, Fort Myers, FL 33901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #25 of 60 Hotels in Fort Myers
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I got what I paid for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Price line deal never a gain. The hotel was alright the pool area. Not so good location no so good. The food at the. Makeshift. Restraint was horrible The staff was friendly they have shuttle to Jet blue park. And bed are nice. Cleaning staff was excellent . Gotta ask for shuttle. Bob driver very helpful

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear davo571,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience at the restaurant. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    44
    32
    9
    14
See reviews for
45
43
11
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

*Agree with others - location not historic district & wouldn't feel safe walking to historic district at night.
*Room-service is poor - Placed an order and had to repeat it multiple times. Staff called back 10 minutes later to confirm the order. When arrived, no utensils or appropriate condiments. Order the following day was very slow and staff again came back after the fact to confirm what was ordered...wish they'd write it down the first time. Take home point - if you are closed for renovations, maybe you should be "closed" and not deliver sub-standard service as it gives a poor impression.
*Mixed feelings about the front desk staff - My overall impression of the front desk staff was that it was just a paycheck and they weren't going to go out of their way. One staffer came off unfriendly, another seemed uninformed about the immediate surrounding area and what events were going on. I would suggest that management provide more training about the area and a daily briefing for staff on what is going on in the area that day.
*Parts of the hotel were clearly under renovation, but there were some things that needed attention and that seemed like regular maintenance and would have been appreciated. ex. Cigarette butts & trash in the mulch by the pool and in the outdoor restaurant area. A coffee spill in the main walkway that had a "Wet Floor" sign put over it instead of someone taking the initiative to just wipe it up.
Enough with the negatives...positives were: housekeeping staff very friendly, bed linens very soft and comfortable, nice new carpet in hallways and rooms, nice new & clean feeling in bathroom, mini-fridge & microwave in room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear MamaBellSavage,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. We are happy to hear that the housekeeping staff was helpful during your stay. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. Most importantly, I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH MYRTLE BEACH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I agree with other reviewers that to advertise " Historic Downtown" is a bit of a stretch. One would think it would be right next door to the Ford-Edison Home but it is not. Recently renovated and some areas currently under renovation allowed for the rooms to be fresh and new with very comfortable bedding. We did not use the dining facilities so I cannot comment. We were out and about most of the day and evening enjoying the surrounding attractions, so for our purposes the stay met our needs. I booked our rooms through a Priceline bid so the price point was in line with we got but I would have not been so happy if we had paid the advertised price.

Room Tip: Rooms were recently renovated. Very clean with comfortable bedding and nice bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear William L,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your recent stay with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We also ordered breakfast which came a half hour late.Somethings you can eat cold-eggs are not one of them! The bill is in dispute with our credit card company. Obviously all they are concerned with is the $$$. BAD LOCATION.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear tomkat33388,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. We take our guest comments seriously and strive to provide comfortable accommodations. I am sorry that on this day you were inconvenienced with the service received during breakfast. I have taken note of your concerns and these will be forwarded to the appropriate departments to consider enhancements needed at our property.

Again, thank you and I do apologize and regret that this impacted your visit with us.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I booked this trip because it advertised it was in the "historic" part of downtown Ft. Myers. It's actually in a very shady area that I felt quite uncomfortable with at night. The hotel itself is fine and for the price I paid, I was happy. The staff was very nice and the common area of the hotel as well as the room were fine. The hotel restaurant is under renovation, however, they still serve meals in their makeshift resaurant (meeting room).

When out and about at night, I felt I was in a very unsafe area and never felt comfortable parking my car in the rear of the building. The people walking up and down the streets at night were kind of scary looking...

Overall, the hotel itself is fine if you want to save money and don't plan on spending a lot of time in your room....but the location...not so good!

Room Tip: You may not want to be near the pool. The guest book says the pool closes at 1a.m. however, there w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear flipflops1515,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I appreciate your positive feedback about the hotel value and services. Guest comfort and safety are of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a secure environment. We are sorry that our location did not live up to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any negative impression you may have during your stay. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights for a conference we were attending in town. Since we had to leave early in the morning both days, we decided to fill out the card in the room to have breakfast delivered. Both days we waited, but nobody came to the door. I see in another person's review the restaurant was closed, so I guess that explains the no service, but then it would have been nice if they did not have the card in the room at all so we would not have wasted time waiting for them to deliver a breakfast they weren't even offering. Other than that, the housekeeping staff was excellent, the room was very clean and organized when we got back in the evening. The front desk staff did their job... mostly, but they did leave much to be desired. Not friendly or overly helpful, and we had to call to get the internet logon information. Also there was noise from the hall/other rooms/outside, so their remodel must not include soundproofing.

Overall, I would stay there again, but not even bother trying to eat there. At least there's a Dunkin Donuts right on the corner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Flash448,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our housekeeping and front desk staff.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding our restaurant service. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 5 days, I enjoyed my stay..good service..some parts of hotel is being renovated...I like the current set-up they have for the restaurant...For the price I paid I am happy with the services....I will come back again next month.

Room Tip: Top Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic

Address: 2431 Cleveland Avenue, Fort Myers, FL 33901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District Fort Myers hotel. You will know we are a step above the rest as soon as you walk into our large, recently renovated, contemporary style lobby. Soon you will be greeted by an outstanding front desk agent solely concerned with your satisfaction. After checking in, enjoy the Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District s fully renovated rooms, business center, and restaurant, Cafe 2431. With high-speed wireless Internet access in public areas, meeting space, and guest rooms, you can catch up on work any where you would like even while relaxing by our tropical pool. The Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District is located in Historic Fort Myers near the River District and is within walking distance of the Boston Red Sox Training Stadium, local businesses, dining, shopping, and entertainment. The Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District Fort Myers Hotel is just minutes from I-75 and approximately 20 minutes from the Southwest International Airport (RSW) so you can be to your home away from home in no time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic Hotel Fort Myers
Fort Myers Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;