We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2431 Cleveland Avenue, Fort Myers, FL 33901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #27 of 60 hotels in Fort Myers
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not the best!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We also ordered breakfast which came a half hour late.Somethings you can eat cold-eggs are not one of them! The bill is in dispute with our credit card company. Obviously all they are concerned with is the $$$. BAD LOCATION.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear tomkat33388,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. We take our guest comments seriously and strive to provide comfortable accommodations. I am sorry that on this day you were inconvenienced with the service received during breakfast. I have taken note of your concerns and these will be forwarded to the appropriate departments to consider enhancements needed at our property.

Again, thank you and I do apologize and regret that this impacted your visit with us.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    43
    32
    9
    14
See reviews for
44
42
11
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I booked this trip because it advertised it was in the "historic" part of downtown Ft. Myers. It's actually in a very shady area that I felt quite uncomfortable with at night. The hotel itself is fine and for the price I paid, I was happy. The staff was very nice and the common area of the hotel as well as the room were fine. The hotel restaurant is under renovation, however, they still serve meals in their makeshift resaurant (meeting room).

When out and about at night, I felt I was in a very unsafe area and never felt comfortable parking my car in the rear of the building. The people walking up and down the streets at night were kind of scary looking...

Overall, the hotel itself is fine if you want to save money and don't plan on spending a lot of time in your room....but the location...not so good!

Room Tip: You may not want to be near the pool. The guest book says the pool closes at 1a.m. however, there w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear flipflops1515,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I appreciate your positive feedback about the hotel value and services. Guest comfort and safety are of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a secure environment. We are sorry that our location did not live up to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any negative impression you may have during your stay. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights for a conference we were attending in town. Since we had to leave early in the morning both days, we decided to fill out the card in the room to have breakfast delivered. Both days we waited, but nobody came to the door. I see in another person's review the restaurant was closed, so I guess that explains the no service, but then it would have been nice if they did not have the card in the room at all so we would not have wasted time waiting for them to deliver a breakfast they weren't even offering. Other than that, the housekeeping staff was excellent, the room was very clean and organized when we got back in the evening. The front desk staff did their job... mostly, but they did leave much to be desired. Not friendly or overly helpful, and we had to call to get the internet logon information. Also there was noise from the hall/other rooms/outside, so their remodel must not include soundproofing.

Overall, I would stay there again, but not even bother trying to eat there. At least there's a Dunkin Donuts right on the corner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Flash448,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our housekeeping and front desk staff.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding our restaurant service. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 5 days, I enjoyed my stay..good service..some parts of hotel is being renovated...I like the current set-up they have for the restaurant...For the price I paid I am happy with the services....I will come back again next month.

Room Tip: Top Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here from 16 to 19 Feb. This was part of a special holiday & we had booked 2 rooms, both to include breakfast. However we had not been informed that the restaurant was closed & they had setup a buffet breakfast in a conference room.

On the first day we went for breakfast, there was no bacon left, a few sausages & no scrambled egg left. The coffee ran out, there was no toaster or bread and a few danish pastries. The waiter told us it was a one off & would be better tomorrow.

This is not what I call a buffet breakfast! We had paid for this up front, at check-in we should have been warned of the restaurant closure & offered the choice to get a refund on the pre-booked breakfast & go elsewhere.

On the second morning, we walked in & it was the same, so before he had a chance to seat us we left & went to Denny's.

The rooms we were in were in definite need of an update.

I asked for a late check out & was told no way, unless I was a Priority Club Platinum member. The staff member on the desk did not look happy when I said I am, so she reluctantly gave me the late check out, but she made it quite plain she was not happy. Well I am sorry, but this is part of the Platinum member perks.

I have stayed in Holiday Inns all over the world & I have to say that this one is the worst by far!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear RMAllen42,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

We value you as our Priority Club Rewards Member and while we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel is in a bad area - and was being remodeled while we were there - the rooms smell like smoke... the pool is dirty... We were scheduled to stay 3 nights, but we stayed one night and left... ICKY!!! The lobby is beautiful and smells good, but other than that, the rest is a dive...

Room Tip: there are no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Malynda H,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Kindly be assured that review is being looked into and actions will be taken accordingly. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Was not warned when booking that the restaurant and bar are under construction and the food and beverage service had been moved to a conference room. Arrived tired and did not feel like foraging for food outside of hotel so opted to eat in the improvised restaurant. Bad choice. Food was poorly prepared and overpriced for the bus station cafeteria ambience. The young lady tending the area was overwhelmed and complained continuously about the inconvenience of having to run all the way to the kitchen. That said, the rest of the hotel was pleasant. The room was adequate - nothing special and a smaller bathroom than expected. The front desk was pleasant and efficient on both check in and out. However the restaurant problems extended also to the lack of morning coffee available in the lobby once the first thermos was exhausted. I would stay again but not at the rate I paid. I paid for a full service hotel and did not get it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Tom V,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our front desk.

However, We’re sorry about the restaurant renovation and the food selection. We will look into this point. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic

Address: 2431 Cleveland Avenue, Fort Myers, FL 33901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District Fort Myers hotel. You will know we are a step above the rest as soon as you walk into our large, recently renovated, contemporary style lobby. Soon you will be greeted by an outstanding front desk agent solely concerned with your satisfaction. After checking in, enjoy the Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District s fully renovated rooms, business center, and restaurant, Cafe 2431. With high-speed wireless Internet access in public areas, meeting space, and guest rooms, you can catch up on work any where you would like even while relaxing by our tropical pool. The Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District is located in Historic Fort Myers near the River District and is within walking distance of the Boston Red Sox Training Stadium, local businesses, dining, shopping, and entertainment. The Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District Fort Myers Hotel is just minutes from I-75 and approximately 20 minutes from the Southwest International Airport (RSW) so you can be to your home away from home in no time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic Hotel Fort Myers
Fort Myers Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.