We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never thought” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2431 Cleveland Avenue, Fort Myers, FL 33901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #28 of 61 Hotels in Fort Myers
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never thought”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

What a totally unexpected find. Excellent service. Clean updated rooms. Efficient room service with delicious food. This is a throw back to the way Holiday Inns were run when I was a kid in the sixties. HIGHLY recommend this property.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    47
    32
    10
    14
See reviews for
46
45
12
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic on a trip through Florida. It was not what I would consider Historic Downtown. The location was not that great. They are currently under renovations so I am sure they will be updating things. The room was a good size. The shower had a nice big shelf for our shampoo, conditioner, etc. The bad part about the shower was that it had a partial glass shower door & a shower curtain for the back part. The water just poured out onto the floor. We had to use all of our towels to soak it up. The HVAC unit was extremely loud & woke us up throughout the night. It would not keep the room at a constant temperature. We traveled with our 2 Yorkies. They are pet friendly however there were not any marked areas to walk your pet & no pet clean-up station so you can imagine the rest! I did like that the room we were in was tiled. That is much cleaner than carpet when staying in pet rooms. Overall the hotel was average. We did not deal with the hotel staff other than at check-in & they were fairly friendly. We would probably chose a better location next time we are in Fort Myers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear CrystalCamacho,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the location of our hotel. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed in this hotel after a family get-together in Sanibel. Worried having read other reviews, I was very pleasantly surprised. The staff were all extremely pleasant, especially Jen at the front desk and the waitress in the Grille. All went out of their way to make our stay special and we felt very welcome. It is on the main road, which is unattractive, however we got the free shuttle to the "historic" part of town - a five minute drive at most - downtown is full of eclectic stores and outdoor cafes (again with super pleasant staff). There is also the waterfront with a small marina. The hotel room was clean, beds comfortable and the pool area lovely. Thanks Holiday Inn staff:)

Room Tip: Suggest a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
180 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

The hotel itself is not too bad, I've been stuck in much worse. Unfortunately the surrounding area is terrible. If this is "Historic Fort Meyers", they have a LOT of work to do.

The staff was very accomodating as we had to change rooms to get a different bedding configuration after check in. One of the few bright spots of the stay.

The room was fairly clean, with some updating. The Dunkin Donuts next door was handy.

There is NO reason to stay in this part of town. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
YepBeenThere,

Thank you for your recent stay, and providing feedback. It is unfortunate the area surrounding the hotel affected your experience. I am please to see aside from our location you did enjoy your stay. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Had to be one of the worst hotels I stayed at in Flordia. First when I checked in they gave me a occupied room. Next when we were sleeping our neighbors decided to start fighting at about 2am. After listening to this for about 30 min we called the front desk, which they tried to get them to settle. that went on for about another hour. But then oh no this doesn't end about 3 am there was a pool party to which our window was right next to. Called the front desk again to complain, and they said that it was ok for them to be in the pool (screaming) at 3 am. We got up and checked out because our plane was leavimg at 630 am. No apologies no nothing. This hotel is not for people that want to sleep at night. Will not be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear betponygal,


I am deeply sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and the inconvenience the noise caused you. We do our best to keep all guests comfortable. Your comments and feedback are very valuable as they help us determine what areas need improvement.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

The hotel itself is difficult to rate. It's in the process of being renovated, which in and of itself is fine, but it was overbooked the night we arrived and they were prepared to send me to another hotel. When I explained that was unacceptable, they accommodated me.

The room was clean and fairly updated. We asked for fresh towels and that request was ignored.

However, the major problem with the hotel is the location - it's NOT in Historic Fort Myers...it's NEAR there - but you would be crazy to walk from the hotel to the nice part of town. The area surrounding the hotel is pretty scummy - not as scummy as it is about 1/2 mile down the road - but you wouldn't want to walk around there at night. There is a Dunkin Donuts right next door - that was nice.

The restaurant attached to the hotel is, well - not very nice. To give you an idea, there is a tinsel curtain hanging from the wall. 1970 style.

I'd probably have given it three stars, even with the overbooking and tinsel curtain...but the neighborhood is just awful. This Holiday Inn is WAY overpriced for the neighborhood.

Avoid it if you can.

Room Tip: The 4th floor doesn't have an ice machine currently
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear Darth_JJ,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced. I am glad to hear the hotel was able to accommodate you. I am pleased you enjoyed your clean updated room. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy the hotels location. Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I don't know Fort Myers that well, but I find it hard to believe that this is the historic downtown. It's a very lousy area. Other than the CVS and Dunkin Donuts next door, the only other thing you can see are bail bond shops and pawn shops. The buildings in the area are all in crappy shape, low income housing all around and no food nearby. I didn't even feel safe walking around the area.
In addition, the hotel is still under renovation, the staff is not particularly nice, the coffee ran out most days by 7:30am and they didn't care, and most of the equipment in the fitness room is broken. Good points are that the hotel is clean, the staff at the bar/restaurant are very pleasant. For the same money, there are plenty of nicer hotels in better areas. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Dear Pennylose,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic

Address: 2431 Cleveland Avenue, Fort Myers, FL 33901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District Fort Myers hotel. You will know we are a step above the rest as soon as you walk into our large, recently renovated, contemporary style lobby. Soon you will be greeted by an outstanding front desk agent solely concerned with your satisfaction. After checking in, enjoy the Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District s fully renovated rooms, business center, and restaurant, Cafe 2431. With high-speed wireless Internet access in public areas, meeting space, and guest rooms, you can catch up on work any where you would like even while relaxing by our tropical pool. The Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District is located in Historic Fort Myers near the River District and is within walking distance of the Boston Red Sox Training Stadium, local businesses, dining, shopping, and entertainment. The Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District Fort Myers Hotel is just minutes from I-75 and approximately 20 minutes from the Southwest International Airport (RSW) so you can be to your home away from home in no time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic Hotel Fort Myers
Fort Myers Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.