We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home, sometimes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9740 Commerce Center Ct, Fort Myers, FL 33908   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 61 Hotels in Fort Myers
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home, sometimes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This place was great to stay in until we found our new home. However, if you end up staying a while, just know that some of the staff are not the friendliest. One of the female receptionist was very unfriendly, and rude and ALWAYS smelled heavily of smoke, considering this place was smoke free facility. I think her name was Carol.

The manager is very nice, the amenities are really worth it, free laundry,guest lounge with TV couch, books and stuff that was nice and comfy, banquets room, board room for meeting, and a VERY clean swimming pool which was nice.

It's a bit pricey if you staying less than 7 days but its cheaper if you stay longer. As a platinum member I thought they would give you the check in specials, but eh do NOTHING special for Priority club member, which kind of sucks. It would make it more friendly.
I would recommend it for family, since it is kid friendly, and very safe area, close to everything, and plus hospital across the street incase emergencies.

Over all this place is recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for Clark, or Felipe they are very helpful and friendly. Try not to get room on other entrance s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
We at Team Candlewood appreciate your comments about our Hotel. I personally apologize that not all of my staff was spot on in service during your stay. I will look into your comments and I am very glad to hear that most of your stay you were satisfied. I hope you return and I would love it if you call me directly on your next visit. We thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    109
    28
    19
    14
See reviews for
112
174
34
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burnsville, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel was very well kept, the rooms are not as large as they show in the pictures. They are actually pretty small. The pool is behind the hotel and is not in the sun, making the water pretty cold. The sun hits only a small portion of the deck. Then we ran out of toilet paper in our room and when I went to the desk to get more, they said they were out and to use tissues.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Good or bad, all guest comments help me run operations bettter. I will check the pool temperture though for the pool is a heated pool. I am also sorry about not having supplies at the desk when you asked for them, these supplies are usually stocked daily. We at team Candlewood appreciate your positive comments about the Hotel being well kept. Again, thank you for your comments and I hope you can return. You can contact me directly the next time your in Fort Myers, I can promise you a much better stay.

Thank You

Dan Berben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I'm giving this hotel a good rating for several reasons. For us the location was ideal, close to a lot of restaurants, near Sanibel, yet not far from the airport. The setting is kind of weird in an office park and access is a little confusing. But the property is fairly new and in good shape. Because it's an extended stay property you don't get the usual services you might assume; no continental breakfast or daily housekeeping. But that being said a full kitchen is nice and the cleanliness was great, very comfortable beds and quiet for sleeping. I thought it was weird they didn't have luggage racks which is the only thing I'd say they were lacking. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: the studios really are small, go one step up and it's not that much more money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed in a room with two double beds. The room had a kitchenette with microwave, frig., coffeemaker,dishes, flatware,towels, and everything you would need for preparing or reheating simple food. Everything was very clean and ready to use.The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable and the room was very quiet and easy to get a good night's sleep.The bathroom was a decent size with hairdryer and fan but the water pressure for the shower is very low and when i told the front desk Tom the maintence man quickly showed up and cleaned the pipes and replaced the shower head.The work area for the laptop and eating area is a nice size and comfortable.There is complimentary wi-fi. The pool area only has sun from 10.30 to 12.30 as the pool was built on the back side of the hotel.They should extend the deck so u could sunbath there,instead of the parking lot, it is not nice to see many seniors sunning in the parking lot.
There isa workout facility in the hotel,and there are also free laundry facilities.Across from checkin there is a room complete with all sorts of snack foods etc for purchase on the honor system. There is also complimentary coffee,tea and hotwater,This is available 24/7 If u want a newspaper u need to get down to the desk early or they will all be gone.The staff was
courteous and helpful especially Clark.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamego, Kansas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at this great hotel for two weeks while I was in Ft. Meyers. I had originally booked for a week and extended my stay for another week because the room was so comfortable. I had stayed my first night at America's Best Value Inn, and they wouldn't give me a discounted rate for staying for a week & then the room was dirty. I called Candlewood Suites and they were cheaper plus had a kitchen, dvd player with free dvds, free laundry, and fitness room! Harvey was the politest desk clerk and was always smiling.Clark was so helpful and was always willing to give me his advice on the area (I was looking for a place to live) even when he was busy. Clark looked some information up for me on the computer which really impressed me that he took the time to do that when he didn't have to.
The bed was very comfortable and the towels were really nice. The only negative thing that I have to say is that the water pressure in the shower was really weak. But everything else in the hotel was so nice that it is easy to overlook weak water pressure. (Although a water saver shower head would fix that problem.) And the hotel is in a very nice part of town that is quiet and the rooms were quiet. Location is also close to Sanibel Island & Fort Meyers Beach plus restaurants & shopping.
The kitchen is also well equipped and had very nice pans & skillet (stainless steel). Plus salt & pepper which most other extended stay hotels don't provide.

Room Tip: Be sure to talk to either Harvey or Clark if you need something when you stay here. They are both r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
We at Team Candlewood truly thank you for the great review. Harvey & Clark are two of our finest examples of how we take service to the next level!! We are all proud of how we take care of our guests because we realize that guests have many choices these days. Again, thank you for taking the time to write and hope you can come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Spent 7 nights. Found the rooms clean and well equipped. Staff was friendly. This is an extended stay economy property, not luxury! The guests can be families, teams, fishermen etc. For a reasonable rate this was a good place to stay. On site gym, pool and laundry were all fine. Location was good as a base to visit sites but too far out to walk anywhere. Yes there is a gator in the pond! Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: Go for the pond view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
We thank you for trying out our Hotel and enjoying the Candlewood experience. We truly do try to create a family atmosphere for all of our guests, long or short stays. Yes, we do get an occasional guest in our pond, but it adds to the Florida experience. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write such a nice review, hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I booked my hotel room through Hotwire in November 2012 for a stay on January 11, 2013. I called Hotwire on Dec. 14th and reconfirmed. On the day of the trip, I called Candlewood informing them that I was arriving that evening around 10 p.m. to which the desk clerk stated that that would be fine. I get there around 10:30 p.m. and after waiting 20 minutes for the desk clerk to acknowledge my presence, he states that he does not have a room for me. I then call Hotwire who finally found me another hotel - A LaQuinta. Had it been in my power, I would not have ever booked a room at LaQuinta because I am not a fan of that chain. I specifically requested a hotel like Candlewood because it had a kitchenette. My friends who went directly through Candlewood did not have any issues with their reservations. I will never, ever book a room through Hotwire. I don't think hotels place any importance on reservations booked through Hotwire.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
I am so sorry that this happened to you, and I personally apologize! Our Hotel does have checks and balances to make sure that all reservations including all third party sites are treated the same. Because no system is perfect, on occasion we do get into a case of inventory overbooking. With that said, let me make it up to you. On your next visit to Fort Myers, please contact me directly at gm@ftmyerscandlewood.com. i promise you I will make it up to you!

Again, I am sorry for the trouble.

Dan Berben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway

Address: 9740 Commerce Center Ct, Fort Myers, FL 33908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
#15 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway hotel conveniently located at Summerlin and Bass Roads, near Lee Memorial HealthPark and Lexington Country Club. This extended stay, all suite property is located near Fort Myers Beach and Sanibel-Captiva Island and is minutes from Everglades National Park, Manatee State Park, Tarpon Tournaments and just a short drive to Naples and Marco Island. At Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with 2 separate phone lines and free high-speed and wireless Internet. Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway provides our guests a free fitness center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our free guest laundry room. Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway is located nearby to many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to dine in , a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as sodas, snacks, and ice cream.Earn more with each night's stay! Priority Club Members earn points and rewards every day at the Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway Hotel Fort Myers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.