We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Earns the 3 C's - Comfortable, Clean and Convenient!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9740 Commerce Center Ct, Fort Myers, FL 33908   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 61 Hotels in Fort Myers
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Earns the 3 C's - Comfortable, Clean and Convenient!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We booked this at the last minute after arriving in Fort Myers earlier than expected. We were very happy with the accommodations - and enjoyed the simple niceties that were offered. The best surprise was the sealed bag of popcorn in the microwave, ready to pop! Although the hotel was full (with many young athletes), we never heard a sound. The pool and exercise rooms were adequately equipped. We were also pleased to find a little "general store" in the lobby that had a little of everything for a quick bite to eat.
The DVD collection at the front desk was also a nice touch. The overall experience was very welcoming and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th Floor and never heard a sound even though the hotel was full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Candlewood Suites in Fort Myers/Sanibel, Fl. We are so glad that you had a great experience. The entire team takes pride in "their" hotel. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you are in Fort Myers.

Happy Holidays!

Micheline Lobdell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    113
    28
    19
    14
See reviews for
112
175
35
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We found this Candlwood rather by accident last year and enjoyed it so much we came back again this year on our drive down the west coast of Florida. We stayed 4 nights this time as it is located in a good central location to tour the beaches of Sanibel and Captiva, Fort Myers, Bonita Springs and the gorgeous Lover's Key. We booked in advance just to be sure we would get in and Harris took our booking. The room was, as before, spotlessly clean and the beds lovely and comfortable. The kitchen area was shining and all the cutlery, dishes, and pans were immaculate. It is equipped with everything you need - toaster, hob and microwave and even a dishwasher and large fridge with freezer and icemaker. The bathroom was spotless and the thick cotton towels are the best we have had in any hotel (including the top chains like Sheraton, Intercontinental etc). There was a comment from one reviewer that the fridge was noisy and they could not sleep - I am an insomniac and simply turned off the ice maker in the freezer and slept like a baby. We also appreciated a lot the complimentary coffee corner, and the ability to buy food items which are handy if you do not want to go out for dinner after a long day at the beach!! The lounge area is so comfortable, and there is a library of dvds for use during your stay. Quite simply, we felt just like we were at home - not like a hotel at all, and Harris on reception could not have been more helpful. We will definitely be back if we are in Florida again next year on vacation. We are so pleased to have found this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Alligator pool - lovely view and a chance to alligator spot. Did not see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
WOW!! Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review of the Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel. The Candlewood team cannot thank you enough for your kind words. Our team works very hard to make sure that we are doing everthing we can to make the Candlewood "Home Suite Home" when you are away from home. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Happy Holidays!

Micheline Lobdell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have been staying at Candlewood Sanibel Gateway for a couple of weeks now, waiting for our condo purchase to close. We are experienced travelers, having stayed at hotel/motels from two stars all the way to four stars. This stay at Candlewood is one of the nicest ever. Certainly not a four star, but pretty close to it. A lovely, quiet, convenient area, where a walk around the neighborhood at night (or at any time) is refreshing and relaxing. The customer service has been outstanding, the staff making us feel that we are truly appreciated as guests.

Room Tip: We were in a second floor room for the first week, which was fine, but our dog didn't like the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Candlewood Suites, Fort Myers/Sanibel. We truly appreciate your kind words and will be happy to share your comments with the staff. We love to make our guests feel at home!

Happy Holidays!

Micheline Lobdell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My Fiancee and I were in the area to look at property in the Fort Myers area. We were greeted by Clark & Harris very warmly. Beautiful room especially for the price ! Clark advised us on different areas we might be interested in as well as 2 great places for dinner. Even showed us on the map where we should be. When we checked out, Harris was still as friendly as at checkin. We promise to return in a few weeks. Thanks again guys !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Candlewood Suites in Fort Myers/Sanibel. We take great pride in making sure our guests feel at home while staying with us. I will be sure to pass on your comments to Clark and Harris.

Once again Thank You! We look forward to your next visit. Happy Holidays!

Micheline Lobdell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was our 2nd stay " @ this location. This experience is a complete ¨about face¨ from our last visit (negatively).
Shower has no water pressure. It was easier to shower at the beaches (didn't do). The fridge was noisy all night long (can't sleep). The towels were gray & dingy (Bought towels @ wal-mart). Coffee pot was dirty (not fit for brewing coffee). The best experience was meeting Carol at the front desk. Although, she seemed "overwhelmed" by not having a chair in which to sit while working w/ customers. She had to "hunch over" a low counter & we could see she was uncomfortable. The rates are great. But, I think I would prefer to pay more for better service & accomodations. Not having room service is a large negative factor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Candlewood Suites. I am truly sorry that you did not have a positive experience. I don't know if you reported these issues during your stay as we would have been happy to change your room. If you find yourself in this area again please give me a call and I will personally make your reservation to an upgraded room.

Again, I apologize for your problems.

At your service,

Micheline Lobdell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Hard to find. Arrived very late. Clerk at the desk (older man) was extremley rude and seemed a little bit degrading due to us being not QUITE as old as him. However we're professionals, so i suppose he should think twice and be equally kind to ALL guests. Never had this happen to me. The rooms were goood, but if staff is rude or has a "whatever" attitude, it loses all its value. Alerted all my local friends of business this as well. They also did some weird late time charge for the room (as in other reviews mentioned)
Just not worth it. Hope they shape up for their own sake!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel. I am so sorry that you were not treated kindly by our staff. This is not how we treat our guests. I am unaware of any weird late charges so I will be looking into this.

Again, I apologize for your less than perfect stay.

Micheline Lobdell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando,Fl.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

At check-in meet CAROL at front desk, her attitude was YES I can. I was able to use my Priorty Club points to upgrade to a 1 Bedroom, beautiful suite. The pool is heated. The cubboard is on the honor system with all amenties. Hotel cannot be seen from Summerlin Road and is very quiet, located next to a middle school. Short 5 miles to beaches, 1 mile to Publix shopping center with a Five Guys Burger location. Looking forward to staying at this location again.

Room Tip: Use Priorty Club points for upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel. Carol is a great employee that takes great care of our guests. She takes great pride in making everyone feel welcome.

We look forward to your next visit.

Micheline Lobdell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway

Address: 9740 Commerce Center Ct, Fort Myers, FL 33908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
#15 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway hotel conveniently located at Summerlin and Bass Roads, near Lee Memorial HealthPark and Lexington Country Club. This extended stay, all suite property is located near Fort Myers Beach and Sanibel-Captiva Island and is minutes from Everglades National Park, Manatee State Park, Tarpon Tournaments and just a short drive to Naples and Marco Island. At Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with 2 separate phone lines and free high-speed and wireless Internet. Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway provides our guests a free fitness center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our free guest laundry room. Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway is located nearby to many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to dine in , a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as sodas, snacks, and ice cream.Earn more with each night's stay! Priority Club Members earn points and rewards every day at the Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Otel, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway Hotel Fort Myers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.