We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Marriott.com
and 7 more sites!
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   17260 Harbour Point Drive, Fort Myers, FL 33908   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up To 20% Off Resorts
Ranked #20 of 60 hotels in Fort Myers
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel was lovely, especially in the Captiva Tower. What I was most impressed by however, was the staff. Every person from the concierge, to the wait staff, check in staff, restaurant manager and shop staff were incredibly friendly, genuine and helpful. I can't recall the last time I stayed at a hotel where EVERY single staff member was beyond gracious. I enjoyed my stay and only wish I could have been there longer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    222
    127
    55
    22
See reviews for
168
285
17
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rcihmond, va
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

the hotel was very clean and well managed. The frontdesk was right on top of every request and the check in process was very professional.
the room was clean, well appointed and even with the age of the hotel everything was ok. The furniture was up to date and the bed slep very well.

Overal I would highly recommend this hotel. We were there only for three nights and two days but well worth the getaway.

Room Tip: oceanfront is the only way to really appreciate this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel has definite ups and downs, depending on what you plan to do during your stay. First, the plus: The entire staff is very attentive and knowledgeable. They will go out of their way to take care of you, from the valets to the front desk folks to the concierge. The tennis center and spa get sa thumbs up also. Another plus is the view, especially from the water side. With boats and activity to watch, sitting on balcony is better than watching an empty sea. Of course, that's the negative too. As the name says, it's on the harbor (or harbour), so there's no beach. You have to go over the causeway for that. If you like the pool, you're fine. Finally, one negative about the rooms: water pressure is terrible and the temperature keeps changing from too cool to too hot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodridge, Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Sanibel Harbour Marriott would get an Excellent rating from us if it wasn't so overpriced. Two nights here cost over $100 more than 3 nights at the Hyatt in Key West. The food and drinks were also more expensive. But the customer service, our room and the grounds were awesome. This was actually the second time we stayed here and we immediately noticed that the rooms were updated (we stayed in a one-bedroom, king suite), but we also noticed the updated prices. We will probably look for a different place to stay the next time we visit the Ft Myers area, simply because of the expense--but we will definitely miss it!

Room Tip: The waterfront rooms give you the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I went here for some time away from the snow. From the very first step on the property I felt welcome. We don't use the assistance for the car or the luggage but the men were very accommodating and nice. I got a call upon arriving in my room and then again when we were about to check out asking how my room was and could they do anything to make our stay more comfortable. I gave this property a 5 star because it was clean friendly and a pleasure to stay at.

Room Tip: You can't have a bad room at this hotel because of how it is placed. Pick any room, if you do wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

When booking this hotel online, given the perceived location, and price for the room, I expected a lot more.
The hotel is away from everything, and though a "resort", it doesn't seem you could do without going out. My review is based on what I paid for, and expected from a Marriott.
ABOUT THE PLACE: First, we were assigned a room in a building away from the main building (Captiva). That wouldn't be a problem normally, but the feeling there was of being on your own.
ABOUT THE SERVICE: There is a "lobby" in this Captiva building, but we were there 3 times, and there was never anybody there to speak with. If we wanted something, we had to pick up a phone, and call the main building for service. We did not feel attended, but hurting for service instead
ABOUT THE ROOMS: They are average on looks and feel, and on the large side. The room smelled a bit humid when we first arrived, but after a few hours of A/C the smell dissipated (the A/C is not very efficient.
It need attention to some details. The grout around the bathtub is old, and there are several cracks though which mold and oxide show. Other than that, even though old, it is fairly maintained.
The bed is nice, but the pillows were awful. I asked for additional pillows, the second night, and got a couple of foam pillows that were better.
The phone was not working, which is why we had to go down to the unmanned lobby to get service, and could not be fixed during our stay. They offered changing the room for the last night.
ABOUT VALUE: Would take a working-type hotel anytime instead of this, were I would get similar quality rooms, and maybe better service, and pay half as much. The resort and parking fees, which amount to almost 30$ per night cannot be justified.

THE BOTTOM LINE: Would not come again, and would not recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hotel has beautiful views of the bay and the causeway and a friendly staff that are very polite.
BUT, this place was not worth the money. $12.00 a day to self park and THEN, there wasnt many spaces. A resort fee of $30 or $35 a night is charged. your already paying "X"amount for the room, so why the fee?
The bar/lounge, was nice. The wood fired pizza was great. The other resturant was so-so. We were seated outside, which we asked for, but after taking our order, we were kind of forgot about.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Hotel Fort Myers
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Hotel
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort And Spa
Sanibel Harbour Hotel
Sanibel Harbour Resort
Sanibel Harbor Resort
Sanibel Harbor
Sanibel Harbour Resort And Spa
Sanibel Resort And Spa
Sanibel Harbour Resort Spa
Address: 17260 Harbour Point Drive, Fort Myers, FL 33908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#16 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
#17 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.