We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but too isolated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   17260 Harbour Point Drive, Fort Myers, FL 33908   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #20 of 61 Hotels in Fort Myers
Louisville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Nice but too isolated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011 via mobile

No beach. Nice resort if you want seclusion and away from it all with nice harbor views and a view of the bridge to sanibel. Must have a car as you're away from everything else. Clean, spacious, captive tower was nice, had it's own private pool.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    276
    157
    58
    24
See reviews for
213
358
20
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

My husband and I came to relax and we did just that. The hotel lobby is just beautiful and the hotel overlooks the bay. You can see dolphins and manatees in the water! The staff greeted us upon our arrival. Our room was nicely appointed. Howver the a/c was not working properly which really wasn't apparent until our 2nd day so when we told the front desk, they immediataely changed our room and offered to pack us up! Everyone says hello and the nice lady (I believe her name was Vicki) at the dessert shop offered to fix us something even after they closed. Management & staff (and in particular Michael) was so helpful and courteous. They even called after we switched rooms to apologize for the issue with the room and offered to do something for us before we left. We took them up on the deilcious breakfast buffet. The food at the restaurants was just fabulous. Although the hotel could use a little "lift" it is beautiful and we would definately stay there again. Great location too!!

Room Tip: Overlooking the bay is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimauma, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

This could and should be so much more! Went away for much needed romantic weekend but the hotel was a complete letdown. Confirm what some others hotel rooms are VERY outdated and dirty. Beds were uncomfortable despite new bedding. Yes walls are VERY paper thin. Room 882 is one of the angle rooms so balcony is VERY small. I am a wheelchair user and when I called they said no wheelchair rooms were available, but I failed to see anyone else who was in a wheelchair.

Pool was not clean & ,serious lack of umbrellas. Hot tub was only lukewarm with yellow bottom, sand and scum.
Lots of young families and young couples by pool, a pina colada will set you back $9.
.
Positive..Food in Chaleys was exellent and overall wait and bell staff was attentive. Park your own car, it's easy to save $$. no getting around $15 hotel fee.
Marriott please put some serious cash into the place, you charge enough!

Room Tip: Sanibel tower only, not an angle room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011 via mobile

Location and views of harbour are great. Pool floor and pool chairs stained dirty. No beach. Water activitiies on premises such as kayaking, jetskiing, boating. Did not use restaurant or spa so cannot rate. Overall nice but needs exterior cleaning.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

My husband and I just returned from staying here for 4 nights. I was greeted by MIchael, the front desk manager, who is courteous and professional. Upon our arrival, he had champagne and choc. Dipped strawberries with a personal note delivered to our room (celebrating 21 years). On the third night our children met us so we reserved a second room. Upon their arrival, another hand written note from MIchael with chocolates waiting for them in their room. Additionally, on our last night there, he upgraded us to a magnificent suite for us to enjoy. The resort is beautiful with all the amenities, the staff professional and always willing to cater to your needs. We will definitely return and will recommend to everyone for all to experience a class A vacation.
Bonni maysonet MIami, Florida

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011 via mobile

So you do your comparison shopping online. You found a good value. You pay in full for a great room. With a view of the sunset! As soon as you arrive to this beautiful hotel, the first thing you notice in front of the valet is the sign declaring a minimum fee of $12 a night to SELF-park. Valet is $20/day. Hmm... Maybe this wasn't such a good deal. 

You approach the desk and are met by a friendly clerk who informs you of all the amenities you earn with the MANDATORY $15 a night "resort fee." 

So in your first five minutes, you realize the decent $169/night rate that compared nicely to the mom & pop inns actually ON Sanibel Island is actually closer to $200 a night. So they are tacking on $15 a night for "access" to kayaks (for which you pay $40 a rental) and "access" to a spa (where nothing but the jacuzzi is included). Plus, if your teleporter wasn't working, you have the honor of paying for driving to this money-milking machine. 

"Eh, let's make the best of it. Oh, look! Cabanas! No one is in that one." 

"Uh, sir," the Ukranian pool guy says. "These cabanas must be reserved."

"Ok," you reply. "Let's make that happen."

"You must arrange with front desk," he says in heavily accented English. "Thirty-five dollars a day."

"HA!!! We'll find our way to the peasant chairs, thank you very much."

The rooms were fine. The coffee in the little room coffee maker was actually good. The pool was a good temperature and clean. Everyone was polite and courteous. The shower didn't quite drain as fast as the water flowed, making you stand in your own filth, which isn't the end of the world. Kayaking was a bit of a waste if you have seen a mangrove before. But, it's a beautiful view from the harbor side rooms, and lying by the pool was just what we needed on this vacation. 

Was it worth $200 a night? Meh. Perhaps if the true price was declared somewhere between "Look at our fancy hotel" and "credit card please," I wouldn't have felt so scammed. I realize times are tough. However, I left feeling like a money tap that had been sucked dry. 

Left quite a bad taste in my mouth. Can you tell?

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011 via mobile

Lobby was gorgeous but who would have guessed that a nasty, carpet stained roomed lurked behind our resort room door. The bathroom fixtures were old and falling apart. The carpet was stained and the bed sheets left us itching.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 17260 Harbour Point Drive, Fort Myers, FL 33908
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#16 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort And Spa
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Hotel Fort Myers
Sanibel Harbour Hotel
Sanibel Harbour Resort And Spa
Sanibel Resort And Spa
Sanibel Harbor Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.