We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprisingly well done” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Broadway Palm Dinner Theatre

Broadway Palm Dinner Theatre
1380 Colonial Boulevard, Fort Myers, FL 33765
239-278-4422
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 88 Activities in Fort Myers
Type: Dinner Theaters, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Broadway Palm Dinner Theatre’s award-winning buffet and dazzling Broadway musicals, featuring a live orchestra, make it the perfect destination for anyone looking to enjoy quality, family entertainment at a great price!
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Suprisingly well done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I had no idea what to expect going to a Theater in a strip mall in SW Florida. But.....we tried it and were absolutely positively surprised. I had seen Les Miserables twice before (on Broadway and in Europe) and expected a kind of "Cruise ship quality" but this production was WAY better then that. Great cast with good voices. Very professionally done . The food was fine and plenty...nothing really special but certainly not bad at all. I would certainly go there again once a new show starts and will recommend it to friends.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    103
    32
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Teriffic show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We took our friends here as a birthday gift to see South Pacific. It was our first trip as well. We were all so pleased. The organization and efficiency of the dinner service was excellent. The quality of the food excellent. The performance was spectacular. We will certainly add this to our list of "must do's" when we visit again.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The shows themselves are quite good. It is a huge theater and serves a lot of people. The food is just okay and that is the reason for my lower rating . We have been to other dinner theater shows in the area, this is by far the poorest in terms of food that is served. Most of it is tasteless.
For the price they should be serving better food. We have been to this theater three times now and each time the low point of our visit is the quality of the food. This is the only Dinner Theater that we have rated as poor because of food quality. If you do not care about taste but just quantity then it is not a problem. Yes you can see the show without the meal, but you are placed way in the back and I suspect you would need binoculars to see the show as the seats are way in the rear of the theater.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice local dinner theater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We have been several times over the years. The food has gradually gotten better, and the current buffet offerings are actually pretty good for a buffet. Their dessert bar is very good - first time visitors should know that there are different desserts on the dessert bars on either side of the stage. Cakes and pies are on the right side as you face the stage, and ice cream offerings are on the left side.

When you enter the theater, there is a gift shop and a bar where you can sit if you arrive very early. Otherwise you can pick up will-call tickets at the booth on the right, and go on in to the theater and find your assigned table.

The quality of the experience for us depends on the quality of the play. Some of the shows have been outstanding, and most of them very good. Only one poor show (and that was several years ago - a Will Rogers thing where the lead actor really couldn't pull of the roll).

The majority of the patrons are older folks, which is understandable, as this type of dinner attraction does not hold as much interest for the tweens and young singles - not enough excitement to keep them interested.

Seating is at tables for four or six people, and the rows of tables are tiered. Be aware that if your group does not occupy the whole table, chances are good that someone else will be seated with you. It is good to get there early enough to get the seat at the table that you prefer - if you are near the back of the table, and slightly off to the side, facing away from the center of the theater, it may be difficult to position your chair in a manner that enables you to see the show.

The sound system is very good in my opinion - I read some negative reviews, but I have never experienced poor sound. Of course, some actors project better than others, but that is the nature of live theater.

There is a second small theater off to the side where some other shows are presented, including some shows for children, I believe. We have had a very good experience there on several occasions as well. You enjoy the same buffet service in the small theater venue.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dinner for show of South Pacific”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We are season tickets holders and have been for quite a few years and also year round residents
and attend quite often. The dinner last evening left a lot to be desired. Usually it is a good
average meal for a buffet. The pork roast was very tough and hard to cut - the chicken had
a very old taste. - the roast beef lacked any flavor. The watermelon fruit bowl should have been
tossed 2 days ago. It was over ripe and had a sour taste. All in all it was not a good meal.

As for the show it was excellent !

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broadway Palm Dinner Theatre also viewed

 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Broadway Palm Dinner Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadway Palm Dinner Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.