We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jazz and Culinary Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roadhouse Cafe

Roadhouse Cafe
15660 San Carlos Blvd, Fort Myers, FL 33908
239.415.4375
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 641 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Jazz and Culinary Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We are addicted to the Roadhouse. In an unlikely location in a slightly downscale shopping center you will find this newly expanded oasis of music and food. Roadhouse features absolutely top-notch jazz every night, attracting the best jazz musicians in SW Florida. The owner, Sherry, creates a welcoming, warm family atmosphere. The great service reflects the family touch. Frankly, we would go just for the food alone, but we are jazz fans as well. Our menu favorite is the fresh tuna, but almost everything on the menu is first-rate. The only thing that limits our visits to the Roadhouse during the season is the heavy traffic on San Carlos Blvd. We'll be heading back to the Roadhouse as soon as spring break ends and the traffic clears. We do still miss Sherry's father Lou, whose jazz chops were almost without equal. Lou is now with the Roadhouse in spirit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    55
    20
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AceReview”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is my second trip to The Roadhouse in the last week. I thought the first visit might have been a fluke and so expedited a second! Although it would be fair to say the encrusted grouper I sampled the first visit might of had something to do with my decision. Unfortunately the grouper was unavailable so I ordered the salmon and my dinner partner ordered the lobster tail. It was early in the evening but the restaurant was already packed and we munched on the delicious hot ciabatta bread and dipping sauce. Chef Brian excelled himself - the lobster tail was to die for and it filled the plate. Simply cooked, the sweet meat was easily removed from its shell and melted in the mouth. The salmon, although slightly undercooked for my palate; but this was quickly remedied by the Chef; was enhanced by the fresh stir fried vegetables tossed in a sweet and sour sauce. A big thank you to Gwendoline for excellent service who anticipated our every need. I can honestly say that having sampled the cruisine of many fine dining establishments The Roadhouse is, in my opinion, worthy of a Michelin Star and most certainly worth a detour to sample the excellent cooking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Attention to every detail. Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

20 person dinner last night. Fantastic service, incredible food. Sherry - the owner- exudes personality, class, and goes the extra mile to make everyone welcome and she creates an evening to remember. The private room and table were phenomenal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captiva
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Musical and Culinary Treasure for Ft Myers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Was there last month for a wonderful meal and great jazz entertainment. Went back this past Thursday and was pleasantly surprised to see they expanded the restaurant to better accommodate the musicians and dancing. What a job they did in a short time! The new size of the dining area works very well and the service as great as ever with Mary Beth last week.

Woody Brubeck on the piano and Barbara Smith for vocals (the Thursday night program) are Manhattan supper club quality!

If you think jazz and food work well together, go there and be amazed at both!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

They have it all. Great food, atmosphere and friendly staff. The newly expanded dining room is elegant and inviting. The owners always make you feel like you are very welcome. The wine list is plentiful and works well with the menu which is plentiful without being overwhelming.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roadhouse Cafe also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Roadhouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roadhouse Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.