We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfully homey!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mason Jar Cafe

The Mason Jar Cafe
2980 North Federal Highway, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33306
(954) 566-8221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #167 of 1,062 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
ANNAPOLIS, MD
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delightfully homey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

After coming here several times, I am happy to report that The Mason Jar is consistently good and a warm, friendly place to dine. The two of us came twice for dinner....we started with salad and fried pickle appetizer...crunchy long wide slices of pickles with a light, tempura-style crust, served with a mild creamy dip. We have ordered the short ribs (huge, saucy, piquant), the walnut crusted mahi with apples and onions (prefect texture with crunchy bite, but a bit bland, the half duckling with honey( perfectly cooked, flavorful, nice balance of sweet and salty) plus sides of corn pudding (sort of like corn bread and fresh corn, delicately sweet), Mac and cheese (comforting and mild) and Brussels sprouts leaves with lots of pistachios (savory, sweet and nutty), green bean casserole (like Mom used to make...yum!). While there, we saw gorgeous fried chicken, pork chops and ravioli. Looking forward to trying these sometime. A really nice place, moderately expensive $70 for two for salad/appetizer and two main courses at $26 and $24 with one glass of wine...but free refills on iced tea! Try it...you will like it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    45
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Find on Federal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Really enjoyed the homey atmosphere of this inviting restaurant on Federal Highway in Fort Lauderdale. The menu's focus is on 'comfort' food and they deliver!! The salad was fresh and crisp with a wonderful house dressing. I ordered a special seafood entree (snapper) and it was outstanding!! There are many 'sides' to choose from e.g. macaroni and cheese, roasted brussel sprouts, glazed carrots, etc..I ordered the carrots and they were very good. My mother was with me and she had delicious, crispy shoestring fries. She also ordered the salmon and loved it.
We didn't have room for dessert!! Very lovely!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
727 reviews 727 reviews
389 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Always very good value. Big portions with large sides. Very good comfort food in friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergerac, France
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“delicious comfort food!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We went on a Sunday evening & it was perfect comfort food. HUGE portions.....we had between us southern fried chicken with delicious green bean casserole, a big salad & delicious grouper. Excellent desserts & it was very inexpensive for the amount & quality of the food. Not a buzzing place as quite a lot of elderly eat there but the food is good if you are looking for something homely & quiet.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“great food and good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

my 2nd time here and good again..although our waiter seemed to be very new at his job he was very nice and personal...we were a party of 4..and started with a bottle of wine..which the waiter didnt now how to open..so i assume the manager /owner was close to show him how..nice catch and direction on her part...i started with the phyla triangles..there were 2 to the order..nice crunchy phyllo filled with chess....then got our entrees....one meatloaf...very large portion and no leftovers..one had the port chop...again no leftovers...one the short ribs..delicious and no leftovers..i had the pot pie..it was verify large but lacked flavor....there was no salt in the entree..and the chicken was a little tough...i ate half and took the rest home...we all got 2 sides..brussel sprouts mac and cheese and smashed sweet taters..all good...
overall a good place to go..no frills..good service with good food that could use some seasoning..

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mason Jar Cafe also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, FL
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to The Mason Jar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mason Jar Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.