We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Waterfront Inns Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Avalon Waterfront Inns Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avalon Waterfront Inns Beach Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This hotel worked out well for spring break. It is in a great location within a lot of higher priced hotels/resorts on the beach. Avalon also has the advantage of security patrolling at night for safety of guests. Rose at the front desk was especially helpful in communicating and resolving any issues. The manager, Deanne, worked hard on the property at all hours and found time to answer questions and make sure the stay was good. Even though the room is not 4 star, the location and service is and you get this for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontInns, General Manager at Avalon Waterfront Inns Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write to us and communicate your positive experience. We will pass along your comments to our staff and should you ever need a room in South Florida please do not hesitate to contact me.

Cordially,

Deanne Babwah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    42
    31
    40
    192
See reviews for
75
95
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We spent one night at the Avalon in advance of a Caribbean cruise. Our room was a 3rd floor walk up. The stair railings are unstable and unsafe. The door lock barely worked. The carpet was growing things that have never before been seen on this planet. The hot water was non existent. The mattresses had contours resembling the Grand Canyon. The plaster is crumbling from the walls. The windows and blinds were revolting--probably haven't been cleaned--EVER. As advertised, they have WiFi. What you don't find out until you call the front desk is that WiFi is only available in the public spaces. I'm surprised that the city health department or pubiic health hasn't shut this place down. This place is one step removed from a headache ball.

Disgraceful and a real eye sore on the beach.

Room Tip: Avoid this slum at all cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontInns, General Manager at Avalon Waterfront Inns Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to tell us about your stay.
We apologize for any inconveniences we may have caused you during your stay.
We are in the process of updating the hotel so that our guests are more comfortable.
If we can be of any additional service to you please let me know.

Sincerely

Deanne Babwah
GenerL Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Bed Bugs. Crime. Falling Ceilings. Broken Locks. This is the nastiest place I have ever been too. My boyfriend was bitten by so many bed bugs I had to call the Public Health Department. They should be shut down. We were robbed in the middle of the night by a stranger while we were sleeping! The door of the motel didn't lock and they have no security. I was surprised at how incompetent management were when I told them about the bed bugs they replied, well the cruise ships bring them in all the time. Wow. I would never recommend this place to a soul. Its completely disgusting and you will regret staying here. There are too many nice places around---keep going

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontInns, General Manager at Avalon Waterfront Inns Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to tell us about your stay.
We apologize for any inconveniences we may have caused you during your stay.
We are in the process of updating the hotel so that our guests are more comfortable.
If we can be of any additional service to you please let me know.

Sincerely

Deanne Babwah
GenerL Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

All reviews you see here are true ! This is the worse place I have ever seen. Very old, rundown, filthy, mold in rooms, holes in the ceilings, bugs crawling, doors don't lock, rusty air vents & AC, windows don't shut, doors don't lock ! Unhealthy and unsafe ! Stay away !

We just got back from a 5 day trip to Florida and we stayed at The Avalon Waterfront Hotel in Fort-Lauderdale Florida. This was the worse experience we have ever had. The first room given to us was so disgusting and filthy, we thought maybe it was one of the older ones, so the receptionist there was kind enough to show us at least 3 more rooms which were one worse than the other. When seeing how discouraged we were, the receptionist offered a suite on the third floor which at first seemed much better and a little more updated but then we saw that the rooms were dirty and later on in the week we discovered bugs in the kitchen. The dishwasher still had dirty dishes in it from the previous clients, and even though we advised the front desk they never sent anyone to empty it. We didn't end up using the kitchen at all because it was too dirty and had bugs, there was no way we could use it. Even the microwave was filthy. So we had to eat out the whole time which was not in our budget. There was mold in the bathroom above the bathtub and a huge hole in the ceiling which we tried to ignore except when it rained the water came in ! Talking to the manager was no help she just looked at us and said there was nothing she could do and that we had a choice to stay or leave. I told her we didn’t have a choice because we did look around and most places were booked solid or were charging crazy fees for last minute reservations.But she didn’t care and did nothing about it, very disappointing !

I would ask that you please stop taking advantage of people that work so hard all year to be able to go on vacation and then get ripped off with a place so dirty, not even an animal would sleep there ! It's so unfair ! Would you sleep in a room with bugs and filth? I don't think so, and you shouldn't allow anyone to have to sleep in those conditions. This place should be shut down ! I am disapointed in Bookit, because we did book through them and they could have advised us not to stay there. I've written to both the hotel and bookit but so far I have gotten no response from anyone. I will keep posting this until I get some answers and some compensation.

Room Tip: Not worth the savings here, spend a little more and find a place you'll have peace of mind. We s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontInns, General Manager at Avalon Waterfront Inns Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to tell us about your stay.
We apologize for any inconveniences we may have caused you during your stay.
We are in the process of updating the hotel so that our guests are more comfortable.
If we can be of any additional service to you please let me know.

Sincerely

Deanne Babwah
GenerL Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Disgusting! Plaster cracking or falling off the walls. Taps and toilets dripping or running all the time. Cleaning is minimal. No vacuum touches the carpets - sweep out the carpets onto the balconies. I did not feel the rooms were very clean!! The picture shown on the site is much nicer than actually is. Could be a very nice place with some work. Provided us a room key knowing previous guest had not booked out - guest walked into our room thinking he was still booked in room. Staff slow and not terribly friendly. I would not suggest this place to anyone!!!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontInns, General Manager at Avalon Waterfront Inns Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your review on trip advisor. We are sorry that you were not happy with the your room and have discussed this issue with our management team to assure that it does not occur again.
We pride ourselves on providing clean and comfortable room at an affordable price.
We have recently taken steps to spruce up our rooms such as Painting and remodeling the bathrooms. Please let me know if you are traveling back to Fort Lauderdale and would like to give us another opportunity to provide you with a comfortable and clean room on the beach as I will personally handle your reservation.

Best regards,

Deanne Babwah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Be very careful, I had some items go missing lock your case & use the safe! Cockroaches in the kitchen at nights ants crawling around dirty stains on curtains & dare to look at the wooly cover Under the main sheet full of hairs & god knows what else really dirty hotel, cleaners are backwards in living towels everyday we had 1 towel between us , we used are own beach towels in the end which 1 of our nice ones went missing along with a snorkel & mask set, rose was lovely at the main desk very helpful & friendly..the only good thing is your across the road from the beach, this hotel connected to tropic cay as their the same as one really does need updating with a fresh look, the pool was nice kept clean...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontInns, General Manager at Avalon Waterfront Inns Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your review on trip advisor. We are sorry that you were not happy with the your room and have discussed this issue with our management team to assure that it does not occur again.
We pride ourselves on providing clean and comfortable room at an affordable price.
Additionally, we have recently taken steps to spruce up our rooms such as Painting and remodeling the bathrooms. Please let me know if you are traveling back to Fort Lauderdale and would like to give us another opportunity to provide you with a comfortable and clean room on the beach as I will personally handle your reservation.

Best regards,

Deanne Babwah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

A friend and I booked a room for one night to extend our vacation off a cruise. When arriving at the hotel, the sketch people coming out of the check in office was our first sign to why the room was so cheap. We walked in to check in to our pre booked room that my friend put on her credit card. The lady waiting on us was far from friendly, made my friend sign a paper acknowledging our stay then handing us our Bates Motel key on a plastic hook. I was unaware hotels even used the good ol' fashion actual keys anymore! We had to walk all of our luggage up two sets of stairs (no elevators) to our room. In which the guys checking in before us were booked next door. They were walking out of their room as we approached and asked if we had signed for our room. We stated yes and they kind of laughed at us saying they told her they wanted to see the room first and they were glad they did! Uh-o is what we were thinking. We open the front door and couldn't believe our eyes. The comforters on the bed had what looked to be old blood stains on one and then the other was infested with moth holes. The floor in the bed area had stains all over it. We went into the kitchen and couldn't believe the unlivable space. The actual floor tiles were all either cracked to pieces or just missing completely. We didn't even dare to step foot into it. Then onto the bathroom...just for amusement at this point....we pull back the filthy shower curtain to unveil a bathtub that could have once been painted white, to a fully paint chipped black disgusting mess. Again, floor tile in bathroom was filthy. We got out of there as if a murder had just taken place, since that is what it looked like. Went to the front desk, the girl refused to refund us, even there no where on the paper that my friend signed did it say no refunds and told us we needed to call the manager the next day. Thankfully we had a friend that lives in Ft Lauderdale that we could impose on or we would have been 2 homeless girls in FL for the night. This all took place on Dec 6...my friend has yet to be able to get a hold of a "manager" and has long denied the charge through her bank. Even the bank cannot get in contact with a manager there and the investigation is still pending.

Long story short...RUN!

Room Tip: One that someone hasn't been murdered in
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontInns, General Manager at Avalon Waterfront Inns Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your review on trip advisor. We are sorry that you were not happy with the your room and have discussed this issue with our management team to assure that it does not occur again. Additionally, we have recently taken steps to spruce up our rooms such as Painting and remodeling the bathrooms. Please let me know if you are traveling back to Fort Lauderdale and would like to give us another opportunity to provide you with a comfortable and clean room on the beach as I will personally handle your reservation.

Best regards,

Deanne Babwah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Waterfront Inns Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Waterfront Inns Beach Resort

Address: 521 Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Avalon Waterfront Inns Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across the street from the beach (A1A) featuring standard rooms, efficiencies with kitchenettes and one and two bedroom apts fully equipped. We are within walking distance to restaurants and stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Avalon Waterfront Inns Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Waterfront Inns Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Avalon Waterfront Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Waterfront Inns Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.