We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food/Price in Ruby Chen's is Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby Chen's

Ruby Chen's
913 W State Rd 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315-2431
(954) 525-2533
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #605 of 1,123 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Food/Price in Ruby Chen's is Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

During our two days stay in Fort Lauderdale, we visited Ruby Chen's twice and thanks to the advice from Tripadvisor, we really like the food there and the price is very reasonable. Would go there again if chance is given in the future.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
meerbrook
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Take away and eat in.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Great food at a good price. Pity it isn't a full sized restaurant.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Screwed up the same order twice”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

I placed an order for cashew shrimp. When I got to my hotel I only then saw what I got. It was some sort of unidentifiable meat. I called in and they said they can come exchange it. What they brought was still not cashew shrimp.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Above average, great value, Friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

In the Fort Lauderdale Area, Ruby Chen's is from my Chinese dining experience, the BEST Chinese Take-out restaraunt in the area. Their friendly service, above average quality and always hot food, and large quanity makes a great value for affordable Chinese dining. They have a large menu, including different portion sizes and combinations to choose from.

The only down side is that they are mostly a 'take-out' and delivery restaraunt, however, they do have 4 or 5 tables if you wish to sit there and enjoy your meal.

They are located at the Winn-Dixie plaza on State Road 84.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
1 review
“Worst food I have ever had PERIOD!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

I ordered the sesame chicken dinner special. It was the worst Chinese I have ever had in my entire life. I got the order, it was mushy, old looking and not very warm. The sauce it self had no unique flavoring and was just disgusting...that's the best I can come up with. The pork fried rice wasn't much to write home about either. I had also ordered Crab Rangoon's which were fried but mushy aswell and had literally no filling whats so ever. The best part about the meal, was the egg rolls which were a mediocre equivalent to a frozen then microwaved egg roll. When I called to complain I received 50% off my meal and they sent someone back out to pick up the remainder of my order. BE WARE DO NOT EAT!!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Chen's also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, FL
 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to Ruby Chen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby Chen's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.