We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific value - quiet location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1851 SE 10th Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park.Stay.Fly
Ranked #36 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Seattle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrific value - quiet location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed one night post-cruise and would stay again if I'm every again in Fort Lauderdale. Our room as spotlessly clean and well decorated. The rooms are mini-suites with a spacious separate seating area (I think the sectional sofa makes up as another bed - we didn't need it). The small refrigerator is for guest use and does not come filled with beverages. With the microwave and bar sink plus dishes, the room would be great for a family traveling with small kids or starving teens. The breakfast offered many choices and was far more than the usual continental breakfast at some hotels. There is a small bar in the lobby that offers beverages as well as sandwiches and light fare. Within a couple of blocks there are several restaurants as well as a shopping center. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We were very pleased with the shuttle service to and from the Fort Lauderdale airport. As noted by another reviewer, the hotel did not have a bell-hop service but we easily located a cart. Overall, the hotel exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: As in many hotels, rooms away from the elevators are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudraDOS, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Greetings ski_sunSeattle!

Thank you for your kind review! Our hotel sincerely engages in providing excellent service and accomodations for each and every guest regardless of the purpose of their stay. Thank you again and we hope to see you again real soon. Best, Audra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    211
    90
    52
    22
See reviews for
168
204
45
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We spent the night here before our cruise. It was VERY close to the cruise port. The hotel was nicely decorated, very modern, and clean. Our room was spacious. It had the best shower we have ever had in a hotel. The staff was friendly, helpful and speedy. The breakfast was good with lots of choices and plenty of sitting space. The neighborhood was safe and clean with plenty of eating places and shops within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudraDOS, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Greetings jen0187!
Thank you for your kind review and details about our location - we certainly take great pride in serving our guests each and every day. We hope to see you again in the near future. All the best, Audra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Good room ...lots of space but you are on your own to find a cart to shlep to tour room
Many people kept theirs overnight which made it difficult when we left nextmorning
For our departure breakfast was a bit too late at 6:30 .we had to ve at the airport .I felt theguy at the desk was doing it all and getting frazzled ..checking people out,organizing airport shuttles and setting up breakfast ..too muchfor one person Our shuttle leftwithout us but did return topick us up ...the advantage to being close to airport and cruiseportit worked out fine
Plenty of restaurants around
This place is popular with cruise people so is often sold out book early
Glad they took care of mildew problem

Room Tip: Not far from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudraDOS, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Greetings Mmemichele!
Thank you for your kind review. Our apologies for any concerns with the issue you mentioned above. Our staff is well trained on multi-tasking and providing excellent customer service 24/7 and in the most hectic of times. Our location does speak for itself and we do pride ourselves on providing stellar accomodations for a "Service so Memorable" experience. We do hope to see you again in the near future. All the best, Audra, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel staff was less than helpful and spent most if their time socializing with each other. The room smelled foul and there was mold in bathroom and other people's hairs laying everywhere. The furniture and headboards were all dirty and stained. The shuttle service was supposed to drive you as a courtesy and leave every so often but when we went down to take a shuttle to get some good they nonchalantly said no were are so busy so no service. We stayed here before our cruise and were highly disappointed. Please note that we have stayed many places between Miami and ft Lauderdale before cruises and this was the worst by far...gross! Also, I left a message for housekeeping which has the list and found looking for my daughters Sesame Street Zoey doll and never received a response back from head housekeeper!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudraDOS, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Greetings Jubee Hernhern! Thank you for your review. My sincere apologies on behalf of the staff here at the Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center. Please note that your above mentioned feedback will be taken very serious and have begun already to address these concerns you mentioned. We believe in delivering Stellar service that provides a clean and friendly environment. As for the ZOEY doll, I will check with my housekeeping manager and to insure that we did receive your message. Again, our apologies and as we know there are many choices out there, we do hope that you will consider us again in the near future so we can show you what our hotel and staff is really about. All the best, Audra, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed here for two nights pre-cruise and two nights post-cruise. Very excellent shuttle service to and from the airport. The free breakfast is very good but one morning I had to reject 5 bowls at the buffet because they had not been washed properly.
The pool area is pleasant. The rooms are large but the bathroom is quite small.
Very convenient location to many good restaurents and assorted shopping.
We have stayed here many times and are always happy to return when good rates are offered. They can fluctuate widely.
For two people it can be less expensive to take a cab than the hotel's shuttle. To and from the airport is free though.
Staff have always been first rate.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudraDOS, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Greetings SpitfireLC! Thank you so very much for your kind review. Our sincere apologies for the bowl issue at breakfast- this is something that is not the norm for our hotel as "clean and friendly" is the words we live by here at the Hyatt Place 17th Street Fort Lauderdale Convention Center. We do thank you for frequents stays and will be sure to mentione to our staff both your concerns and the delightful compliments of our staff. We look forward to serving you again- in the very near future. All the best, Audra Durham- Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

After a lot of research on hotels people stay at in Ft. Lauderdale before a cruise, I settled on this one and watched the price because we needed to stay on the Saturday night of Thanksgiving weekend.
Luckily we got a decent price for this night. They stay was pretty good, but there were a few things.
1. Check in and front desk - is weird. There is a dessert and coffee "shop" attached to it so you aren't quite sure where to go.. and there are many times there is no one AT the desk. I know I had to call down upon arrival to ask a question and no one answered but I figured it out myself. But if I couldn't figure it out, it would have been nice if the phone was answered. Otherwise.. check in was quick.. they had our pack n play waiting in the room. .and they directed us to where we could get milk quickly for my son to have before bed.
2. I hate when the sink is outside the bathroom with no door to close that off. But that is how it was set up - only the toilet and shower/tub were enclosed.. and it was tight. And the bottom of the shower curtain had mold where the magnets were - ew! Also, the toilet had something on it. Double ew. I wiped it off myself because (no one was answering the phone) but still. Ew.
3. I was happy with the room set up. It had a LARGE sitting area.. great for our bags and we were able to set the pack n play up in a corner where my son wouldn't be bothered by us watching tv in bed later on. The fridge wasn't super cold, but enough to keep his milk cold.
4. Breakfast was good but it is weird where the plates are - above the food. Everyone was walking around looking for plates, myself included. There are very few seats/tables so we were lucky my son was wide awake long before it opened at 7. Good selection of food though.
5. Cabs - we needed a cab to the port and they said "come down 10-15 min before you need it and the front desk will call." BUUUUTTT they don't take your name or room number so if you leave, the cab may come and go. They really should do that in case you need to go get your bags and stuff.
6. we found m&ms on the floor of our room near one of the beds. housekeeping.. DO YOUR JOB. good thing I found them before my son.

otherwise.. it was fine for the night. it is literally a 2 minute walk to publix and other shops out of the back door. very nice!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudraDOS, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Greetings akitkat118!
Thank you for your kind, and informative review. Reviews as such assist in area's that are in need of improvement and will surely be shared with our General Manager, Executive Housekeeping, and overall staff. Please do accept our apologies on behalf of some of your experience that were very much less than stellar accomodations. Please do note that we do not promote any opportunity for our guests to have the "EW" factor, but that of "Service so Memorable"...in which we stive for each and every day. We do hope that, should you be in our area again that you will allow us another chance, Hyatt Place 17th Street Fort Lauderdale Convention Center will make it a stellar experience that exudes the words " Clean and Friendly"! All the best, Audra Durham- Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I booked this property via a hotel discount site 3 months prior to staying there. I received an awesome rate for Thanksgiving night. Unfortunately, my family's day in Ft. Lauderdale started out with confusion and threw off our timing due to missing the shuttle from the airport. I was told it would be there at 1 pm but the driver told me he left the airport 20 minutes prior to that when he finally picked us up an hour later. In that hour, I called repeatedly and phone wasn't answered several times before I finally got someone on the phone. Not sure why the front desk wasn't communicating with him but he felt bad and offered to drive us wherever we needed to go for the rest of our stay. That helped take the bad taste out of my mouth when we finally got to the hotel to check in. The room was modern, very spacious and comfortable. Bathroom was a bit cramped. We ordered food and drinks from the lobby bar, and they were adequate for the price. The next morning, breakfast was hectic and crowded but the food was actually pretty good. We got a ride in the shuttle to a nearby shopping center so my daughter could get a pedicure and I went to Total Wine. He picked us up when we were done. It was very close to the hotel but it helped to not have to walk back with heavy bags. Check out was easy. Would definitely stay here again but I recommend being diligent when inquiring about the shuttle pick up times from the airport. Best to let them know flight info ahead of time and follow up upon arrival.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudraDOS, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Greetings 74Sunshine!

Thank you for your review! We sincerely appreciate your candid feedback and am pleased that our staff was able to turn things around for you in regards to the miscommunication with the shuttle service to the airport. Please know it is our intention to insure a wonderful stay for each and every guest. We do hope to see you again in the near future. All the best, Audra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center

Address: 1851 SE 10th Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#30 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center ~ great location, conviently located 2 miles from the beach, 1 mile from the Ft. Lauderdale International Airport and Port Everglades Cruise Port. In addition, we are less than 1 mile from the Ft. Lauderdale Convention Center. We offer a complimentary shuttle within a 3 mile radius and provide complimentary Airport pick and drop off, a complimentay upgraded "hot AM Skillet" breakfast buffet, and 24 hour food cooked to order food options, or grab and go. We are within walking distance to Harbor Shops, Mezzaluna, and Outback to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport - North Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.