We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pre Cruise Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1851 SE 10th Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park.Stay.Fly
Ranked #34 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Vancouver
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Great Pre Cruise Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had stayed her a few years ago and liked it but found the AC was very noisy the first time but didn't hesitate to book it again. We arrived very very late after a long day of travel and were greeted with a big smile and welcome. We were given a room on the fourth floor that was similar to the last time we stayed, huge, huge huge, great seating area, fridge, coffee maker, large tv, hook ups for ipod, hdmi etc.

The bathroom has a separate shower/toilet and was so nice to not have to worry about using the sink when someone else was showering. The bathtub had been removed and a large shower stall installed, very nice.

The AC unit has been upgraded and very quiet and not noisy. The only issue we found was the filters on the AC were dirty and definately had mold on them as soon as we turned on the unit my sinuses clogged up due to allergies. I knew immediately what was happening and shut the unit off, pulled out the filters and washed them in the sink. I would of called housekeeping to let them know but it was 1 am and just as easy to do myself.

Love the location, the rooms, the price and the staff. Also love that the rooms now have free wifi in all the rooms

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Greetings!

Thank you for your comments and opportunity in you staying with our hotel again. We do continually strive to have each and every guest satisfied during their stay tso that they come back to see us in the future and share stories such as yours. Thank you again and we do hope to see you again real soon. All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    237
    94
    52
    23
See reviews for
175
227
47
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We booked this hotel through an agent as we had to go back to Connecticut for a funeral. Since we had an early flight it was most convenient to get there the night before. We were able to print our boarding passes in the lobby and the young lady who was in charge in the lobby was very efficient and helpful. We wanted to go out to dinner and we asked another employee directions to the restaurant. She said it was across the street. We started walking in the dark and learned after we had gone about half a mile in the dark that it was more than a mile away. We went back to the hotel and took their free shuttle to the restaurant. Three of our shuttle rides were pleasant. We reached the airport with time to spare. The shuttle piked us up in timely fashion at the airport but the driver let us struggle to get our luggage on and didn't help us take it out when returning to the hotel. All in all I would recommend this hotel. It was clean, comfortable, had shuttle service and some of the employees were very nice but others should be reminded how to treat customers. It was also expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We do our best to provide exceptional service and accomodations, and will definatley use your comments to only enhance our service. We do hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I booked the hotel as a post cruise stay. We needed some wind down time as I didnt want to get off the ship and run to the airport. Also with the inclement weather in the northeast, an extra day in Florida's warmth was welcome.

As the cruise ships make you get off early, I arrived at the hotel a late morning, I know the check in times for hotels are 3pm, but I was hoping for an early check in. Well, when i arrived I saw the pre-cruise perople all leaving so I knew then it would be a while. About and hour and a half later, our room was ready.The desk staff were all nice.

Our room was on the 6th floor. Although right next to the elevator, I didnt bother me at all. The rooms are laid out really nice with a small divider wall between the bed and a sitting area. The big screen tv was a bonus and was able to turn. The room was clean and well kept.

The hotel is located within walking distance to nice places to eat and a supermarket is about 100 yards away. The front desk furnished us with a list of places to eat and grocery shop for last minute items.

The free breakfast was nice with breakfast sandwiches, cereal, juices available. A good way to start out the day. The area was attended by a nice woman who made sure all was stcked up and clean.

Check out was a breeze with a free shuttle to the airport. Our scheduled pick up was at 0730 and we were at the airport 10 minutes later. Real quick and nice.

Overall a good pre or post cruise hotel.

Overall a nice one night stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Greetings! and thank you for the great review on your stay at our hotel. We sincerley do strive to provide service so memorable experience for each and every guest every stay. We do hope that you will come and see us again in the near future. All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
440 helpful votes 440 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Having stayed at several Hyatt Place hotels in the US, I booked this location for a one night pre-cruise stay on a saturday night. The location of the hotel is good, just a short cab ride from both the hotel and Port Everglades. The hotel is also close to a number of restaurants within walking distance, as well as a Publix Supermarket.
The room was good, large, and well equiped. However I noticed more wear and tear than your typical Hyatt Hotel. There were some small stains on the couch, some beat up corners on the furniture, and a giant scratch across the TV. Nothing we can't live with, but it was unexpected.
We found the hotel to be extremely crowded, and everyone seemed to socialize in the lobby, which made it very difficult to go to reception to ask questions or get help. The staff seemed overwhelmed to help everyone, and due to the crowds, people just pushed to the counter to get help, as opposed to getting in a line.
If you need a Walmart or Target, please note they are very far away, and the hotels free shuttle won't take you there. Expect a $30 cab ride each way, so it may be cheaper to rent a car for a day. Also, we waited approx 40 minutes from when the front desk called to when a cab arrived. Not sure why it took so long, but don't be in a hurry to get anywhere.
We did order some food from the hotels menu at night. It was fine, but there are small differences in what is advertised and what the food actually is, so be sure to ask what is included when you order.
The breakfast is very well done, and the hot sandwiches are a nice addition to Hyatt Place's free breakfast offerings. The kitchen was well laid out and not overly crowded.
Overall our stay was fine and there weren't any big problems. However I was not nearly as impressed at this location as I have been with other Hyatt Place hotels. The biggest issue that could be improved would be the constant crowds in the lobby, as this impeded our ability to get service.

Room Tip: I would suggest asking for a room away from the lobby as it gets very crowded and loud. Otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Greetings and thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. Please know that we do strive to make our lobby more conduscive for our guests arriving or needing service by taking appropriate measures to insure the flow in the gallery is well suited for all. Again, I thank you for your feedback and do hope that you will come back and see us in the near future. Thank you and all the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We like this hotel for pre-cruise stays because of its convenient location. It is fairly close to the port and the Harbour Shops complex is right across the street. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable. Staff are pleasant and helpful. The complimentary breakfast is surprisingly good although the breakfast area is small and it can be difficult to find a seat. This is not a luxury hotel but it completely meets our needs for a pre-cruise stay.There is free shuttle from the airport (tho we had a 45 minute wait before the shuttle arrived) but you must pay $7 pp for shuttle to the cruise port.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Greetings, and thank you for the great review in regards to your stay at our hotel and the ammenitites that were up to your expectations and standards. In regards to the space at breakfast, we do set it up for success for a better flow type situation to avoid any congestion, and are still working on continual improvements. We do hope to see you again and we thank you. All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

A no-name road side motel at Hyatt prices. That is the best way to describe my feelings about my stay at the Hyatt Place in Fort Lauderdale. Why? It is small things that ruin a hotel experience; The Wi-Fi internet connection in the room does not work most of the time, and when it works it is very slow. The first night I actually took my computer to a nearby McDonalds so that I could log on and get some work done, after that I learned that if I set my alarm for 2AM, when everybody in the hotel was asleep, I could actually log on and get some work done, as long as I was patient with loading time. When I booked I was advised that there was a $5/night charge for parking, so I assumed that it was underground parking or in a multi-story garage. It is not. It is plain outside parking with poor lighting and no visible security. The breakfast is included in the room rate, but it is so appallingly poor that if you value your palate you will take a pass.
An overall disappointing experience that has soured me to the Hyatt label.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Greetings! My sincere apologies for the experience in regards to the Internet and your breakfast. Please know have been addressing the Internet issues and we are in the process of purchasing ALL NEW equipment within the next couple of weeks. As for the breakfast we do strive to provide the best Hyatt Place Signature AM Skillet breakfast program. Again, on behalf of the hotel, I do sincerly apologize for the inconvienance and hope that you will revisit our hotel in the near future. Thank you for your feedback. All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights prior to cruising out of Port Everglades. We flew in and I found the phone in baggage claim area, called the hotel and was told where to go to catch the shuttle and that it would be there in about 15 minutes. The shuttle actually came in about 5 minutes and we were quickly at the hotel,
Check in was quick - we had a room on the 6th floor - the room had 2 double beds with a slightly separated area with sofa. It is not a separate room - just a quarter wall between that area and the beds. There is a very small closet space near the sink. There was also a bar sink and refrigerator but no microwave. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The hotel has a small outdoor swimming pool, no hot tub or whirlpool.
There is no "regular" restaurant in the hotel, but here is a very small bar which offers quite a few drinks and also a small area with cold food available. There is a menu of hot sandwiches - I had a mushroom swiss hamburger which was huge and good - about $11 with potato chips.
The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast which was okay - offered a few breakfast sandwiches, cereals, toast, fruit, etc. There isn't a lot of places to sit and it fills up quickly with guests but food can be taken to your room if you like.
The location of the hotel is good - about a block from the Harbor Shops which offers Total Wine, Publix, other stores and restaurants. It is also about a 5 block walk to the water taxi which you can ride all day for $20, plus there are many restuartants in that same 5 block area.
Check out was quick and efficient. The hotel offers a shuttle to the port through an independent contractor for $7 a person but we decided to take a taxi. We told the front desk we wanted a taxi and one arrived within 5 minutes. The trip to Carnival Freedom terminal was about $12 plus the tip we gave the driver. So it ended up being a little more than the shuttle, but we didn't have to wait for the shuttle to get full and also go to all the different ships to get off.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel - it is nice - not a luxury hotel but a nice place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Greetings, thank you so very much for your wonderful review. Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderale appreciates your feedback as we do cater to all types of travel here in our hotel. Please share your experience with your friends and family. We do hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center

Address: 1851 SE 10th Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#28 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#29 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center ~ great location, conviently located 2 miles from the beach, 1 mile from the Ft. Lauderdale International Airport and Port Everglades Cruise Port. In addition, we are less than 1 mile from the Ft. Lauderdale Convention Center. We offer a complimentary shuttle to the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, a complimentay upgraded "hot AM Skillet" breakfast buffet, and 24 hour food cooked to order food options, or grab and go. We are within walking distance to Harbor Shops, Mezzaluna, and Outback to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport - North Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.