We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable accomodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1500 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #29 of 136 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable accomodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night before our cruise on 11/4/12. Leaving the ravages that hurricane Sandy caused in Staten Island NY we were quite pleased with our room and amenities. Great location with plenty of shops, supermakets and restaurants most walking distance.Very nice breakfast buffet. Manager Gloria was very warm, friendly, helpful and professional when I insisted on another room because the television reception in our room was not working correctly. I had no patience to have it looked at since we were starving for news after losing power at home before this trip.She gave us an equally accomodating room with a great flat screen. Would stay ther again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Hello There!
So nice to hear that you recognized my efforts. I totally understood your desire to have a TV with a clear picture and although I could not explain why your room didn't have this on that day, I was determined to make sure you and your family left us with a smile... my daily goal. We were able to correct the problem in the first room which allowed our future guests the pleasure of a picture perfect TV.
I welcome you and your family back to our "home away from home" hotel in the near future.
Hope all went well during your cruise and that all was well upon your return home.
Warmest regards,

Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    193
    75
    20
    11
See reviews for
135
217
17
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
P.R.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Excellent super clean hotel. I highly recomend this hotel. We spent only one night before the cruise. The staff was very friendly and our room was ready when we arrived at 1:00 p.m. This surprised me because other hotels the check inn is at 3:00. The location is very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
What a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us! The staff take great pride is keeping the hotel clean, fresh and inviting. It's nice that you've recognize and appreciate our efforts. I will be sure and share your compliment with all staff members. Our location is the perfect place for all travelers as we are surrounded by over 20 restaurants and shops and just minutes away from Fort Lauderdale's beautiful beach.
I welcome you back with open arms and hope to meet you during your next visit.

Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Spent one night only but everyone on the staff at 1:00 am on Tuesday were upbeat and friendly. Shuttle driver was polite and punctual, front desk had my key ready to go and the bed was heavenly.

Breakfast the next morning was perfect and the airport shuttle made an extra trip just for me. I usually stay at the Crowne Plaza and while it is newer and plusher the staff here just won me over.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
What a pleasure to hear that all went well during your recent stay.
I will share your compliment with staff members. Our daily goal is to provide our guests with the excellent service they expect and deserve while staying with us. It's always nice to hear that we were successful.
I hope you get to visit us again soon with more time to enjoy some of the sights, restaurants and shop surrounding us... all within walking distance.

Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The rooms were very nice and clean. Even had a nice touch of a flex reading light on the headboard. The breakfast had ample choices with good coffie. The Staff was very friendly even have a scale in the exercise room so you can weigh you lugggage. There are plenty of restaurant choices within a short walk. The water taxi is about four blocks from the hotel and
has lots of fun stops for just 20$ per day. Free shuttle to the air port. I would reccomend a cab from the cruise port which is only 5 min from the hotel and not expensive. The only thing missing was a pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our staff work so hard to make sure our guests depart the hotel with pleasant memories of their stay. I will share your kind words with them. Our location is a big hit as well. As you've mention, we are just a short distance from so many restaurants and shops. The Water Tax pick up is also nearby as well as the .50 cents Trolley on the weekends.
I hope to have you stay with us again soon and be sure and say hello to me!

Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

For us, this hotel was the ideal pre-cruise choice for sailing out of Ft. Lauderdale. We enjoyed free transportation from the airport and an early afternoon check in, giving us plenty of time to head just a mile down the road to beautiful Ft. Lauderdale Beach for walking, shopping and alfresco dining with a gorgeous ocean view. This hotel has no pool, making it probably less ideal for families traveling with children, a group noticeably absent during our stay. Consequently though, we found the place more peaceful and restful than what we're normally used to! And with the beach so close, who needs a pool anyway?

The location is within walking distance of the cruise port (right around the corner), but there
is so much traffic on embarkation day that I really wouldn't recommend it. The shuttle from the hotel was $8pp and convenient, but if you plan to board early enough a metered taxi is probably much cheaper.

Room Tip: Not much of a view, but can request street-side to watch the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
It is so nice to hear that all went well during your recent stay with us. Our location is perfect for pre/post cruisers as well as business travelers. The convenience of over 20 restaurants and shops... all within walking distance from our hotel is a plus! We absolutely have plans for a pool in the near future...hopefully in time for your next visit. In the meantime, our guests can enjoy a short trolley ride over the bridge to enjoy Fort Lauderdale's award winning beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Of several hotels we have stayed at in this area this was probably the best, surprisingly. The room was extremely clean. Staff was very nice & friendly. Hotel is very convenient to the convention center & several dining locations. Loved the reading lights over the beds. Very nice desk area. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with others. It is such a pleausure to hear that all went well during your stay. It is nice to hear that you appreciated our headboard reading lights. These lights are a big hit and guests have asked to purchase them! You are right about our convenient location. We are surrounded by over 20 restaurants and shops... all within walking distance. The beach is just one mile away; the cruise port and convention center are just blocks away. I look forward to your next visit and hope to see you.

Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during a conference at the Convention Center. The pluses: it's only a block and a half walk, the rooms are spotless, the breakfast is great, the staff is very friendly and responsive, customer service is top notch and the beds are super comfy. The only minus we noted is you can hear people in the next room. The Hilton was the chosen hotel for the conference but we heard more complaints about the price, lack of service and even bugs in the hotel. If you go to the Holiday Inn say "hello" to Gloria, the manager!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and had no issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with others!
It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with clean, fresh rooms and excellent customer service... which you deserve while staying at the Holiday Inn Express Convention Center Cruise Port hotel. I also appreciate you sharing that you could hear from the other rooms. It is important that we know of any areas of improvement so that we can act upon those issues as well.
I am grateful that you remembered my name and that we made such a nice impact during your stay. I welcome you back anytime... and feel free to bring others with you! :)

Sincerely,

Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport

Address: 1500 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#23 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#25 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Holiday Inn Express Fort Lauderdale hotel, an unsurpassed option among hotels near the Broward County Convention Center, Port Everglades and the Fort Lauderdale Hollywood International Airport. We are located in the heart of it all and offer a 24 hour complimentary airport shuttle. We are located one block from the north entrance of Port Everglades. Dozens of great restaurants are within walking distance. Our premiere location is also just 2 blks. From the Broward County Convention Center and adjacent to two large shopping centers. For only $1.75 Per person, any guest may catch the bus to Fort Lauderdale Beach or to the Galleria Mall right from the front of our hotel! Enjoy a tour of the Venice of America on the Water Taxi. We are a 3 minute walk to the nearest stop. We are the closest Holiday Inn to the Las Olas Riverfront & Shops at Las Olas. Our beautifully appointed guest rooms are designed with your comfort in mind. Each room is equipped with the comforts of home-- in-room coffeemaker, hairdryer, refrigerator, microwave, iron/ironing board, 32'' remote controlled cable TV (70 channels with HBO), and complimentary WiFi. Enjoy a unique hot buffet breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning in our lobby from 6:30am-9:30am weekday and 6:30am-10:00am weekends. We feature a great selection of fruit, juices, cereals, bagels, muffins, omelets or scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, yogurt, fluffy biscuits and hot pancakes. Relax in comfort in our 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Convention Center-Cruise Hotel
Holiday Inn Ft Lauderdale
Holiday Inn Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.