We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Courtyard I've stayed at.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale North/Cypress Creek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale North/Cypress Creek to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale North/Cypress Creek
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2440 West Cypress Creek Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #39 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Virginia Beach
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Courtyard I've stayed at.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night to be close to the airport (which was about 5-7 minutes away). The room was really nicely decorated and the beds and pillows comfy. Only complaint would be the ac unit came on and off loudly but not loud enough that you couldn't sleep through it. Lobby had a little bistro and premade sandwiches and snacks. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale North/Cypress Creek, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you Jennifer M for the recent review and for the kind words. It means a lot to us that a seasoned traveler such as yourself would take the time to review us and mention us in such a positive fashion. We apologize that the AC unit disrupted your sleep and rest assured, we are addressing some of our older units and will hopefully have all new ones in every room by early 2014. I thank you again for your loyalty and your time and hopefully we will have you back with us sooner than later.

Mark George
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    75
    35
    9
    4
See reviews for
46
41
24
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Paper thin walls, loud doors that slam, gaps in door frame so that hall light shines through at night,
LED lights everywhere in room, dust on furniture, LOUD a/c unit that is very cold no matter what setting you choose, squeaky beds with thin comforters, worn dented and nicked furniture, cheap iron and ironing board, translucent towels, dirty curtains, constant noise from above. DO NOT stay here if you have any other choice, just awful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale North/Cypress Creek, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I have attempted to reach out to you privately using your TA profile but it appears those attempts were unsuccessful. I would very much like to speak to you personally about your experience, as you can imagine your review caught us by surprise. If you would, please contact me via email mgeorge@ih-corp,com or directly @ (954)772-7770 so that I may gain as much information as possible, i.e. room number, etc. Feedback is critical to the success of our business and I will make every effort to ensure things are corrected for you and future guests alike. I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Mark George
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Upon checking in I was impressed with the friendliness of the staff and the decor of the lobby. Once in my room I liked the spaciousness. Until I saw the COCKROACH.. As big as my thumb running across the floor.. Where there is one COCKROACH... There is many.. Find another hotel.. Unless you enjoy sleeping with COCKROACHRS

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale North/Cypress Creek, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I would like to apologize on behalf of all us here at The Courtyard for the incident that occurred. As you can imagine, we were quite surprised by the details of your experience, and rest assured, we continue to take every action necessary to ensure this remains an isolated incident. Being located in South Florida, we must remain hyper-vigilant with regards to our pest control and treatment. Upon receiving this review we mobilized our entire team and pest control company to inspect every vacant room and possible entry into the building from the doors down to the AC units. Fortunately, we found no further signs of unwanted occupants and will continue our treatment and prevention plan as scheduled so that future guests don't experience a similar incident. Once again, I am very sorry and I hope that the next time your travels bring you to this area, you will once again consider us. Please contact me directly should you have anything further.

Mark George
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If your business is around the Fort Lauderdale Executive Airport (FLX), this is the hotel to stay. Nice spacious rooms. Big comfortable bathrooms. Nice gym and pool. Very friendly staff all around. Not good for TV viewers, though. Cable channel selection could be improved. No good shopping close by whatsoever. Small laundry area. Room amenities include a small fridge, coffe maker and MW oven. Food is OK.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale North/Cypress Creek, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you Tony M for taking time to post your recent review, it is feedback like this that only helps us improve. I was glad to see that you had so many positive things to point out regarding your stay and we appreciate you mentioning the issues with the TV channels. I believe we have fixed the issue and my hope is that we will once again be fortunate enough to have you as our guest. Thanks again!

Mark George
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batimore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

For the past 10+years, I have stayed at this hotel a least twice a year. I was impressed the first time I stayed and never bothered to look else where. I am always impressed that no matter how far between my visits are, the staff will greet me by name. It blows my mind. Within the past year, they have done amazing renovations to improve this hotel. I will continue to make this my home away from home.

Room Tip: All of the rooms that I have stayed in have been very comfortable and clean. I have no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale North/Cypress Creek, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for visiting our Trip Advisor page and posting a wonderful review. I am honored that you think so highly of our hotel and staff that you only choose to stay with us when in town. Although I am proud of the renovations, I am most proud of the people that we have working here for us and we strive each day to make an impression on at least one guest. I am glad to see that is working. We hope to see you back soon. Thanks again!

Mark George
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have stayed here three times in two months, First I have to say that the staff the maid service the grounds and lobby are all perfect ,the rooms are very clean and smell great!!! The hallways are very clean also, Another nice touch is the Starbucks great staff there as well, We come to the area two times a month and would love to stay here everytime if it wasn't for one HUGE issue, The BEDS we have had three different rooms on separate stays,The first room had a old mattress that was tearing apart at the seams not kidding springs sticking out just a really worn out bed room number 115 told the manager and he offered a free night stay in another room the bed was perfect,it was a altogether different mattress newer very nice I won't say the room number because that is the only room I would stay in. So we go back in a week and ask for the good bed room its unavalible so we get another room same lousy cheap mattress same make same brown color same hard springs terrible its late and just tough it out. So if somebody could give me the room numbers with good newer beds I would make this our hotel thanks

Room Tip: If you get the right bed its a perfect place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale North/Cypress Creek, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you Lee S for your recent review, it was great to see so many wonderful comments regarding our wonderful staff and all of the exciting amenities we offer. In regards to the bed situation, we will certainly be addressing this internally, but in the meantime I ask that you contact me directly at mgeorge@ih-corp.com or (954) 772-7770 the next time your travel plans bring you to the hotel and I would be more than happy to assist you with the reservation and more importantly, the room blocking. Thanks again for the review and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Mark George
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I was thoroughly pleased with my stay here.

Upon my entry to the hotel, Ryan,the front desk associate, was most efficient and very hospitable. He made check-in a breeze and was very patient in answering my questions. When I'm on the road for a long time my irritability builds up, and the irritability gets worse when my service expectations are not met. Don't worry everyone, incompetent hotel staff is one thing NOT to worry about from here.

Once I entered my room, I immediately noticed that my specific room requests of a play pen and down pillows were received and definitely noted. It was pretty much quiet throughout the night until the planes took off in the morning. So, light sleepers, that's a small thing detail to consider. The pool area was clean with plenty of towels for guests. I stayed during a weekday so the little one enjoyed the pool all to herself. There's also a gazebo and small fire pit for those that are interested.

I think the only slight concerns I had were the following:
1) The odor on the 4th floor. I don't know what that smell is, but it's quite distracting.
2) The warning of nearby car break-ins on the key card paper holder. At first I was paranoid about leaving my car in the parking lot, but everything turned out okay. Just make sure you don't leave any valuables in the car.

I used my Marriott points to stay here and I'm glad I made that choice. The hotel had friendly staff that were helpful and well maintained amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale North/Cypress Creek, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you swocit for the wonderful review and for taking the time to point out a number of the fantastic amenities and people we have here at the hotel. We will be addressing the concerns you mentioned in the review immediately and I hope that these didn't detract from your stay in the least. This feedback will only make us better and I will be sure to share these words with the staff as we try to improve our service each and every day. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Mark George
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale North/Cypress Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale North/Cypress Creek

Address: 2440 West Cypress Creek Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#36 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale North/Cypress Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale North/Cypress Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fort Lauderdale North/Cypress Creek Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Marriott
Fort Lauderdale Courtyard
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale North

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale North/Cypress Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.