We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Lauderdale Marriott North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fort Lauderdale Marriott North to your Saves list
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6650 Andrews Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #32 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Top notch staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Everyone single member of the staff at this hotel deserves a gold star for service. I recently attended a big party event and had a fantastic time. Despite the added challenges the staff at the Marriott never missed a beat. The room had a nice tree top view with a small balcony and we even got to watch A FIREWORKS show put on by the casino/racetrack across the way. Nice updated bathrooms, good 4th floor pool area and convenient parking, 2 fruit infused waters in the lobby area each day. One draw back was an elevator on the fritz but t didn't seem to affect much.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart L, General Manager at Fort Lauderdale Marriott North, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have great views of the city and I am happy to see that the staff took great care of you. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    246
    119
    40
    28
See reviews for
116
195
56
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clewiston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

If you want to spend a night at a facility that will pamper you with great customer service, from the housekeeping to the restaurant personel, this is the place to go. The customer service in this facility is the best I have encountered in a long time. You receive so much attention that you feel right at home.
If you do eat in, say HELLO to Melania Coronel, she will keep your glass/coffe cup fill to the top, and Mookie Seat will make sure you are well taken care of.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

This was our second visit to the Marriott North for 3 days while waiting to go to our timeshare nearby. The main reason I rated this hotel as excellent is the friendly, competent staff. From the front desk personnel who couldn't be more welcoming and friendly to the restaurant supervisor, Mookie Seat, everyone went out of their way to make sure our visit was positive. The really nice thing is that you didn't feel that this was forced, but, their genuine concern about their guests. Whoever hired the staff made sure to hire people who have a genuine friendly, caring personality.
We look forward to returning again in November.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart L, General Manager at Fort Lauderdale Marriott North, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our hotel and our team! I am so happy to see that you were treated so well by the entire staff and of course, Mookie. She has been with us for a long time and portrays what customer service should be throughout the entire industry. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We were a group of ten that stayed at the Marriott North for one night prior to going on a cruise. Our flight got into Fort Lauderdale late in the evening. Their restaurants/lounges were just closing. We hadn't yet had our dinner, so the hotel arranged for the lounge to stay open so that we could have a late supper. This was totally unexpected and very much appreciated. What we didn't realize at the moment was that this was very indicative of the hospitality of the hotel. The food was top-notch, which is not always the case when it comes to lounges. From check in to check out, the staff was unparalleled. Our rooms were modern, well-stocked, and well-kept. At breakfast they had a hot and cold buffet for those who did not want to order off the menu. Again, the food was of great quality. I had an omelette, which was moist and delicious. Everyone in the group agreed that on the next cruise departing from Fort Lauderdale, the Marriott North will be our first choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart L, General Manager at Fort Lauderdale Marriott North, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. I am so happy that our staff went above and beyond to help you with your late night meal. I feel that we do have the BEST team in south Florida and they would do anything for our guests. I am also happy to see that you enjoyed all of your meals. We have an excellent chef who is extremely creative and well versed in all culinary delights. We hope to see you again when you are down our way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights before a cruise. The hotel is beautiful, they have good food. The staff is excellent. Our first room had a odor they changed our room with no problem. The rooms are large. The room did not have a refrigerator I ask about one and it one was brought to our room very quickly. There is a strip mall across the street. They have a shuttle that with take you there. ,

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart L, General Manager at Fort Lauderdale Marriott North, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice review. I am so happy to see that you were well taken care of by our staff and that you found our hotel to be beautiful. I am also happy to see that you did enjoy the shopping and restaurants right across the street from us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I booked three rooms at the Marriott for only one night and I am glad it was just one night. The lobby looks great an updated but the rooms are a bit dated and musty. The front desk staff was great and check-in and check-out went smooth.

I had booked a special rate that included 2 drinks per room. At check-in I inquired about the drinks and the rep didn't know what I was talking about. However, he immediately got the information from another staff member. I was informed that I could use the drinks at the bar that evening or in the morning for coffee.

Unfortunately, the next morning the person working at the Cafe Bean & Brew didn't know about it and didn't want to be bothered with finding a manager that could assist us. All she cared was who gave us the drink coupons, why, etc. . . . after a while of going back and forth she did give us 2 free coffees. You would think I was asking for something more with her attitude. It was obvious that she was happy reading her book that morning and I came along and interrupted.

If you are doing an overnight trip this hotel will work just fine. If you are looking for a long stay, look somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart L, General Manager at Fort Lauderdale Marriott North, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed our new lobby and that our check-in was quick and easy. We did renovate the entire hotel a couple of years ago. In fact, we won the prestigious "Marriott Renovation" award. I am sorry that the staff did not know about the drink coupons. This was an oversight as it was a limited time package we offered. I will share your comments with the staff so that this does not happen again. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, VA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Very conveniently located just off I-95 and only about 10 minutes from the beach or 15 minutes from the Fort Lauderdale airport. Nice enough but the service is not up to the family name.

From check in to check out, there were lapses. Not being recognized as a regular guest. Concierge lounge not having decaf coffee available at 9 PM. Needing two requests to unplug a bathtub drain. Public computer that won't print the boarding passes. Loud and long staff conversations in the elevator lobby (right outside our room.)

The whole place seems to need a refurbishment. Perhaps that is coming.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator lobbies - staff seems to find them an ideal place to chit chat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart L, General Manager at Fort Lauderdale Marriott North, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I am happy to hear that you considered our hotel to be a "good value" and that we are centrally located. I am sorry that you did experience a lapse in service. I can assure you that this is not the norm for us and it was an isolated incident. I am happy however to announce that we just finished upgrading all of our guest computers. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fort Lauderdale Marriott North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Lauderdale Marriott North

Address: 6650 Andrews Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#31 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Lauderdale Marriott North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott North Fort Lauderdale Hotel resides in the lush Cypress Creek Florida Nature Preserve, bestowing an enchanting backdrop for our guests all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Fort Lauderdale Marriott North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Marriott Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Lauderdale Marriott North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.