We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to meet people around the world :-)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Worthington Guest House

Save Saved
You added The Worthington Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Worthington Guest House
543 North Birch Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Good place to meet people around the world :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

It was our first time, as soon arrive we feel confortable, we visit the place and all was clean and well. Staff always smiley and friendly.
The guests very kind and interested to exchange and knowing about us. Funny to see, some guests are known since many years and it's the place to get together year after year.
We will be back and try the other part like Alcazar or Villa Venice.

Room Tip: Try to obtain higher floors, rooms are more quiet and and not in front of the spa or pools. (less no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    78
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
142
91
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed at the Worthington after our cruise. The Worthington is part of the Worthington / Alcazar / Villa Venice "complex". They share three pools, two hot tubs, great staff, and friendly guests from around the world. From thin to bears, young to old, everyone feels welcome and gets along. A continental breakfast is served which while not fancy is an good way to start your day. The rooms at the Worthington are a little more basic than the ones at the Villa Venice, but they still have comfortable beds, personal safes, and good bathrooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Best vacation in years!! Nice rooms, Nice continental breakfast, Nice grounds, Nice pools, Nice Hot Tubs, Nice Work out room, Nice location, Nice staff, Nice very friendly people that stay there. We will definitely be back!! Many more times!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I recently took my first solo vacation from December 12-16th and had an absolutely amazing time staying at The Worthington property (Villa Venice portion.) I have stayed at the Worthington before in 2011 and was hoping for the same experience and I was not at all disappointed, in fact I feel my experience was even better the second time around. The guest were of all ages, from young 20's-late 60's with at least 20-30 people in the "under 35 category"... being 27 it was a minor concern for me. The guest were from all across the U.S. and at least 4 different countries. The abundance of rooms in the complex makes for a great and eclectic mix of friends, couples and solo travelers. The only thing that surpassed the friendliness of the guest was the friendliness of the staff. They were ready to provide anything you needed or forgot... and do it with a smile on there face even at 5 in the morning! The nights were late every night it seemed with people being at the pool and the guest conversing. During the day or night you can enjoy any of the three pools or two hot tubs you prefer, all heated, and maintained well. The hotel sets a bit of a distance from an abundance of dining and nightlife options so I would recommend having a car if you want to head much off the beach and into Wilton Manors...Though I rented a car and drove way less than I expected as relaxing by the pool with a cocktail sounded way better than getting dressed up and leaving. Ultimately I would highly recommend The Worthington property to anyone looking for a great gay guesthouse in Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ogden, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Had a wonderful time at the Worthington! The staff was excellent, the facilities were clean and in good shape, the room was great, the three pools were warm and clean, and the two hot tubs were great for warming up after the sun went down. All the guests were friendly and we made some good friends we'll stay in touch with. Don't book room 210 above the office in the Worthington though because I want it to be available for when I return! :) We didn't get a chance to try out the breakfast since we couldn't seem to get to bed before 2:00 AM, so we slept through it, but everyone I talked to said it was great. The manager's reception on Saturday night was also very well done! We will definitely be back again and again!

Room Tip: We went with a suite with a kitchen and it was excellent! Highly recommend spending the extra money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

8 of us ranging in ages from mid 30s to mid 60s headed to FTL to celebrate my partners 40th birthday. Friends stayed at all 3 properties. The guest relations was superb. We have stayed there a few times before and they remembered us, offering some fun stories from the last time we stayed. Our room was very clean and well appointed. Anytime we needed additional towels or coffee, they were right there to help. We took advantage of the clothing optional pool and met many of fun people from all over the US and Europe.

Happy hour in Saturday is provided by the resort and is always a great chance to take to everyone that stays there. Then we moved the party upstairs to the 3rd floor balcony and kept the party going. It is only a short $15 can ride into Wilton Manors where we went bar hopping with all of our new friends. Then each evening we relaxed in 1 of the property's 2 hot tubs. Again there was an opportunity to meet new people as the hot tubs were always busy.

Unfortunately the resort sold out on the last night and some of our friends needed to find another place to stay. The Worthington allowed our friends to keep coming back to hang out without charging a day pass fee. It was very much appreciated.

We love going to the Worthington. Everyone is friendly and the vibe is fun but not too cruisy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This was our 3rd time staying at the Worthington Alcazar and it is truely a great place to stain the Fort Lauderdale area. Rooms are clean, grounds are lush and immaculate and staff is very friendly and helpful. You are a 5 minute walk to Sebastian Beach and a very short drive or walk to the Galleria Mall on Sunrise. With the addition of the Venice property this place is quite big but never really feels overcrowded. Will definitley make a 4th trip here in 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Worthington Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Worthington Guest House

Also Known As:
The Worthington Guest House Hotel Fort Lauderdale
The Worthington Guest House Hotel
Address: 543 North Birch Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 Specialty lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Worthington is the largest Gay clothing optional men's resort in North America. Three buildings, 63 rooms, 3 pools, two Hot tubs, free Continental breakfast, free parking, and just steps to the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Worthington Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Worthington Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.