We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chad's 40th” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Worthington Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Worthington Guest House to your Saves list
The Worthington Guest House
543 North Birch Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tripadvisor Web Special
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Chad's 40th”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

8 of us ranging in ages from mid 30s to mid 60s headed to FTL to celebrate my partners 40th birthday. Friends stayed at all 3 properties. The guest relations was superb. We have stayed there a few times before and they remembered us, offering some fun stories from the last time we stayed. Our room was very clean and well appointed. Anytime we needed additional towels or coffee, they were right there to help. We took advantage of the clothing optional pool and met many of fun people from all over the US and Europe.

Happy hour in Saturday is provided by the resort and is always a great chance to take to everyone that stays there. Then we moved the party upstairs to the 3rd floor balcony and kept the party going. It is only a short $15 can ride into Wilton Manors where we went bar hopping with all of our new friends. Then each evening we relaxed in 1 of the property's 2 hot tubs. Again there was an opportunity to meet new people as the hot tubs were always busy.

Unfortunately the resort sold out on the last night and some of our friends needed to find another place to stay. The Worthington allowed our friends to keep coming back to hang out without charging a day pass fee. It was very much appreciated.

We love going to the Worthington. Everyone is friendly and the vibe is fun but not too cruisy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    91
    29
    10
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
175
117
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This was our 3rd time staying at the Worthington Alcazar and it is truely a great place to stain the Fort Lauderdale area. Rooms are clean, grounds are lush and immaculate and staff is very friendly and helpful. You are a 5 minute walk to Sebastian Beach and a very short drive or walk to the Galleria Mall on Sunrise. With the addition of the Venice property this place is quite big but never really feels overcrowded. Will definitley make a 4th trip here in 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed at the Worthington during Halloween week and found it to be very relaxing.We got there Wednesday evening and the person working there was more than happy to get us in and show us everything. Although we had one of the smaller rooms it was still very nice and clean. Next time we will get a room with a kitchen.The staff was on the ball when handling any concerns we may have. Everyone was very nice (guests included).We were there with several friends and we had a blast. Very relaxed atmosphere. Having a morning coffee by the pool while watching the lizards scurrying about was amusing.. They also had a very friendly resident cat. We will be back again......

Room Tip: The rooms with kitchens are much bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed over the Thanksgiving holiday and loved all of the tropical foliage and the three pools. The room was tastefully decorated and suited our needs perfectly, and the bed was comfortable! We had a third floor room by the sundeck, which made us feel as though our very own private patio each morning. The staff were friendly and accommodating. I noticed the clientele was diverse with a number of guests from overseas. The guests were very friendly even though we were on a couples holiday and kept mostly to ourselves. We appreciated the laid back atmosphere of the resort, especially after staying at a more "touristy" hotel before coming here. The next time we end up in Fort Lauderdale we definitely plan on staying again.

A couple of tips:

We preferred to eat and drink over in Wilton Manors, where the food and drink were 1/3 the price on the strip - and actually made with love instead of just bored locals trying to milk the last dollars out of your pocket. The strip really doesn't have any interesting bars or restaurants (maybe excepting Casablanca) unless the Big Kahuna and the Jersey Shore types that hang there are your scene. Head over to Wilton Manors for nightlife. The only downside is that Wilton Manors is a 10 minute drive from the strip. The resort is two blocks from the beach at Terra Mar, which was perfect for an early morning dip. Walk the 10 minutes down to Sebastian Street beach if you don't want to share the beach with gawking Ma and Pa Kettle types from New Jersey and Texas.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Very friendly staff, clean up dated rooms, great continental breakfast, laid back atmosphere. You can be by yourself or part of the crowd your choice. Short walking distance to the beautiful beach and great restaurant choices for breakfast ,lunch or sunset dinners.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor with a view of the pool and hot tub which is most rooms but less n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I've been staying at The Worthington for years (every Thanksgiving). THe amentieis are always clean and working as they should be, Staff is friendly and attentive. Guests are all friendly. Love the idea of being interconnected with two other resorts as well.

Room Tip: There are not bad rooms. just depends on what your looking for. Worthington side - more festive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Come alone or with a friend, this is the friendliest property, the perfect place to relax by the pool and jacuzzi. The staff is incredibly nice, always hot coffee in the lobby. Went alone, everyone was so friendly, I wound up with a Ketel One and cranberry just sitting in the jacuzzi. On Saturday, free open bar with Strawberry Daiquiris.

Room Tip: 2nd floor of the Worthington provides a great view of the pool and jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Worthington Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Worthington Guest House

Address: 543 North Birch Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Worthington is the largest Gay clothing optional men's resort in North America. Three buildings, 63 rooms, 3 pools, two Hot tubs, free Continental breakfast, free parking, and just steps to the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Worthington Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Worthington Guest House Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Worthington Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.