We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than can be exspected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Worthington Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Worthington Guest House to your Saves list
The Worthington Guest House
543 North Birch Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“More than can be exspected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I've stayed at the Worthington several times and each time have been very pleased in
the staff, room, grounds and pools and the guest from around the country and the world that seem to have nothing but good things to say about their stay there.
The Staff alone being so pleasing is enough to make you want to stay there and it is the only
guest house I'll ever stay at in Ft. Lauderdale...looking forward to the next stay at the Worthington.

Bill R.
Dallas, Texas

Room Tip: room 128 is the most perfect room for the Worthington....perfect view of the pool and the festivitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    103
    32
    10
    7
See reviews for
1
195
131
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was a repeat visit. We have stayed here several times in the past. Staff is absolutely wonderful. They are so friendly and you can tell they enjoy their jobs.
The rooms are comfortable and very clean. The buffet breakfast provided each morning is wonderful, especially when you can enjoy it sitting in the tropical garden surrounding the pool.
The location is just a short walk to the beach and close by to many fine clubs & restaurants. The Worthington is part of two other resorts (same owners) that are interconnected, so you get the benefit of two more pools and spa's.
We are booked to return next April to celebrate our 40th Anniversary.
We highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Worthington for one night prior to our 7 day cruise and returned for 2 day's afterward recently.We absolutely loved it. Both rooms were clean, comfortable and newly remodeled. The staff was very polite, attentive and so accomodating. In fact i asked where a small grocery store was in the neighborhood so I could go buy some beer and they apparently have other guests that leave beer and such behind and they gave us 20 Coronas , no charge. They would rather give it to their guests than have them walk or take a cab to a store. Their Happy hour party is a blast. they take over an hour and a half setting up for it with all kinds of beer, wine, mixed drinks,frozen drinks, food and a d.j. provides the music all poolside. Continental breakfast is served every morning with fresh coffee, bagels, danish's, juice, cereal, yogurt etc. Thank you Jim and the rest of your very professional fun staff for a very nice visit. We will be back, Ken Hooper and Michael Culpepper, Oceanside Ca.

Room Tip: Anything poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Called last minute and they squeezed me into a room even though the resort was fully booked. My room had a direct view of the pool and hot tub. Comfortable king size bed, fridge, huge shower, & super clean Ice machine within a few feet. Couldn't have asked for a better room or more convenience! Great luau party and tons of fun dudes. Loved my stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pdrocean
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stay here two times a year and often recommend to my friends. The addition of the Villa Venice hotel to the Worthington had made an already great place even better. Now the resort has three pools and two hot tubs. If you have never been here before the Worthington is three smaller hotels that are connected each with their own pool. There is good mix of people from all ages. Great location just one block from the beach and less than ten minute walk to Sebastian beach (the gay beach). The owners are great and really maintain the property. If you are looking for a place to eat near the hotel check out Casablanca restaurant. It's a wonderful place for dinner over looking the beach .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Enjoyed my 2nd visit to the Worthington. I was staying for business and only there in the late afternoons and evenings, not vacationing like most of the clientele. Place is immaculate and high quality. Room was perfect. Staff was efficient, friendly, and always "on it." While it's definitely a gay environment, it's not tacky or overtly sexual. Yes, clothing optional, but everyone was behaving very tastefully. The average age of guests on my visit was well over 40. All three (interconnected) buildings were equally nice. My only recommendation would be that one pool be music free (the "gay music" can be a bit unescapable in the afternoons). Saturday afternoon happy hour was very fun. Overall, highly recommended, quality, classy experience with an owner and staff that have built a very loyal following.

Room Tip: If you like a bit more room, the suites are a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is the fourth time I have stayed at the Worthington Properties and the staff continues to deliver top notch service. The property is beautifully maintained and the rooms are clean and nicely appointed. This is the first time I did not rent a car, and was pleasantly surprised that there are so many restaurant and shops within walking distance. Both Wilton Manor and downtown are a short cab ride away, and there are city busses that run frequently. Can't beat the fact that the beach is two blocks away and Sebastian beach is also very close. I thought the atmosphere and staff were awesome!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Worthington Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Worthington Guest House

Address: 543 North Birch Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Worthington is the largest Gay clothing optional men's resort in North America. Three buildings, 63 rooms, 3 pools, two Hot tubs, free Continental breakfast, free parking, and just steps to the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Worthington Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Worthington Guest House Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Worthington Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.