We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well done experience, top to bottom” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Worthington Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Worthington Guest House to your Saves list
The Worthington Guest House
543 North Birch Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Very well done experience, top to bottom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Enjoyed my 2nd visit to the Worthington. I was staying for business and only there in the late afternoons and evenings, not vacationing like most of the clientele. Place is immaculate and high quality. Room was perfect. Staff was efficient, friendly, and always "on it." While it's definitely a gay environment, it's not tacky or overtly sexual. Yes, clothing optional, but everyone was behaving very tastefully. The average age of guests on my visit was well over 40. All three (interconnected) buildings were equally nice. My only recommendation would be that one pool be music free (the "gay music" can be a bit unescapable in the afternoons). Saturday afternoon happy hour was very fun. Overall, highly recommended, quality, classy experience with an owner and staff that have built a very loyal following.

Room Tip: If you like a bit more room, the suites are a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    94
    29
    10
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
177
118
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, MD
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is the fourth time I have stayed at the Worthington Properties and the staff continues to deliver top notch service. The property is beautifully maintained and the rooms are clean and nicely appointed. This is the first time I did not rent a car, and was pleasantly surprised that there are so many restaurant and shops within walking distance. Both Wilton Manor and downtown are a short cab ride away, and there are city busses that run frequently. Can't beat the fact that the beach is two blocks away and Sebastian beach is also very close. I thought the atmosphere and staff were awesome!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Worthington Guest House is awesome. All three resorts are very nice. The staff from office to cleaning to maintenance are all very nice, professional, fun and relaxing. They make the stay worth it. I travel back to this resort every year. I have recommended it to several friends and they have stayed and will definitely return.
I would recommend this resort and the other two for a fun, very relaxing and overall good time atmosphere.
The resort/resorts is/are very clean and sanitary and you feel at ease being there.

I would recommend this place to anyone looking into staying at a gay resort.

Come on guys, make one of the 3 resorts a destination in the upcoming future!!! :-)

Room Tip: The WG House is the upbeat and party side. LOL. All in good fun. The Alcazar is for anyone who wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

OK we have all stayed in a gay hotel where the room was crap, AC didnt work, furniture was from Salvation Army and the Queen at the front desk was having more than a bad hair day!!!! THIS RESORT IS NOTHING LIKE THAT! First its 3 smaller hotels all linked together. I gues the owner bougth these one by one and then totally renovated them. You still have you old 1950 tile, windows and trim features in some cases, but they have been professionaly restored and very nicely done. Staff had ZERO attitude and very nice. Breakfast was above average continental style but served in 2 very nice lounges. Grounds are stunning and private. Not a sex hotel so no annoying cruisers or "Smoosh Room" ( That would be nice addition) but 3am at one of the pools was fun on Friday and Saturday night!!! Great place, I'd stay again and recommend you do to...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

It is a excellent place to stay, single or with your other half or groups, every body in the staff are great they will help you on anything of interest. all three pools are nice to hang around and peopple move from one to other, so you can stay by yourself or follow the crowd.

Room Tip: second floor might be more quiet and ask for studios if you prefer a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was at the Worthington for the first time from Sept 18 to the 22nd, and I have promised it won't be my last. The grounds of the hotel and it's sister properties (The Alcazar and The Venice) are gorgeous, immaculate, well tended. You can see the effort put into them. The rooms and pools are spacious, overall well-kept, and turned over daily. The best part without doubt was the staff. I don't think there was one single member of the staff who didn't treat me like they were happy I was staying with them and some of them even made me feel like I totally belonged, which is not easy to do with my sometimes-shy behaviour.

I gave it only 4 stars simply because there were some things in the room that could have been better. The alarm clock and the coffee maker in my room didn't work, and the water pressure when taking a shower was extremely low, making showers an almost unpleasant experience. However, these are minor details that did not in any way detract from the GREAT time I had there. I highly recommend this place

Room Tip: They are all good rooms but if you want to see the late-night action, a second or third floor room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim D, Owner at The Worthington Guest House, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words. I could have easily taken care of the minor problems you expierienced had you mentioned them to us, we need guest feedback to continue to the Best Gay resort in the country. I have looked at room 128, the shower had some particles in the little screen by shower head, I knew what it had to be, as we have great water pressure. The coffee maker was unpluged, someone probably plugged thew phone charger in and we replaced the alarm clock. Thank you for mentioning these items, they have all been addressed.Hope to see you back soon.
Have a great day,
JIM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at The Worthington for the fifth time last week. Another great visit and as expected exceptional value and staff. The resort is kept up very well and the rooms are exceptionally clean. We met some great guys and new friends. Thanks again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Worthington Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Worthington Guest House

Address: 543 North Birch Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Worthington is the largest Gay clothing optional men's resort in North America. Three buildings, 63 rooms, 3 pools, two Hot tubs, free Continental breakfast, free parking, and just steps to the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Worthington Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Worthington Guest House Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Worthington Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.