We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort for gay men” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Worthington Guest House

Save Saved
You added The Worthington Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Worthington Guest House
543 North Birch Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tripadvisor Web Special
Asbury Park, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort for gay men”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Beautiful property with friendly staff and clean accommodations.
Friendly clientele of all ages.
Clothing optional, so it's not for the shy.
Decent breakfast, no room service or bar. However, the hotel hosts a free happy hour on Saturdays at 4:30 with a DJ, free drinks and light snacks,
Really a great place; we'll be back for sure. Most likely will stay in the Villa Venice next time.

Room Tip: 3 hotels make up this complex. In order of attractiveness, the Alcazar seems to be the low end, Wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    85
    26
    10
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
160
101
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We picked the Worthington as it has joined through t the Alcazar and the other one giving a great community and a variety of pools and courtyards.
Well managed, very clean, parking, one block back from beach. No lift and was a sweat with heavy cases as we were on top floor. Wifi slow in rooms. OK near reception.
Only Worthington courtyard was sunny until around 4pm. Possibly longer in summer.
Breakfast is a very light buffet. Laundry and small gym.
Sadly there is no bar or kitchen which would improve the evening social life. Now the hotel is so large it would really benefit with having a bar.
Nearest bars in Wilton Manors which is stated everywhere as ten minutes a way, but in reality is twenty minutes in the car.
Three pools - one salt water which is nice. One is hotter. One jacuzzi is very hot, the other less hot but was higher in chlorine.
Enjoyed stay and would return!

Room Tip: Pack light if you are on a higher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virgiinia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is our second stay here. Do think they could come up with one name for the place, now I understand there is another added in addition to the Alcazar making it three, so I really don't know where the hell I am staying half the time. We had a 3rd floor room with a full kitchen above the pool and below the office somewhere. The place was clean, comfortable and well-appointed. However when I heard the rapidly thumping techno music I asked them when it would stop. They assured me that it would be at 8PM when the office closed, first night fine, second night a problem, I came back to the room and needed some rest and it was 8:50PM and the thump...thump was still going. I called the emergency number on the office door and someone answered and said they would turn it down and they did turn it off. I am paying $200 plus a night for this nonsense. If one wants to hear this crap go to a twink bar or a bathhouse.....I am on vacation here and could use some rest when I want it. When we left I told the clerk at the desk about it and he said it did not usually happen and gave me a flash of attitude. I do not find the staff here very friendly or helpful.....HELLO it is called hospitality job......look up the meaning please. If they could find a solution to these problems this would be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim D, Owner at The Worthington Guest House, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your review, I'm sorry the name is confusing to you. We are known as The Worthington Resorts, there are 3 different buildings that were acquired at different times over the years and had their own following. Guest do have preference in which building they want to stay in. It is much easier for a guest that stayed at the Villa Venice to say I would like a room in The Villa, same for Worthington and Alcazar. There is only one office so its not really very confusing. Guests may roam throughout the complex and enjoy all three pools. I haven't heard the term "Techno Music" in quite a few years, we do play todays adult hits including Adelle, Elton John, and many more of current songs. Sorry that you could hear it at 8:40 pm from the third floor as it certainly is not played at a high volume with the exception of Saturday Happy hour when we have a live DJ. The timer may have been off for one reason or another, it should have ended at 8:00pm. I was there when you checked out and Steve did apologize to you nicely as he listened, you did ask him why he wasn't smiling, he did not want you to think it was funny, he took it seriously. My Apologies if you took him wrong.
Have a great day,
JIM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had a wonderful time .My partner and I had a wonder time ! Jim and his staff were awesome! Clean and safe place for gay people . near beach Nice rooms great pool area . fun people good value for your dollar . Nice breakfast . Hot tub was hot !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in Jan 2013:

The service was excellent, the team all very friendly.

Security at the complex was good - so no worries there.

The room was comfortable and clean.

The complex is unstaffed at nights, so depending where you stay it can be a bit noisy - we were staying not far from the pool/hot tub, and a group was down for the weekend, who were quite loud until 4am - that said, they left the next day, as we arrived on a Sunday, and we could all on management if it was a major problem.

Breakfast was quite reasonable - self service - bagels/cereals/toast/yogurt/juice/coffee included in the room rate.

There was also free wifi there, which was great and easy to use.

Pools and hot tubs all clean - with a choice of 3 pools.

Close to beach/restaurants and $15 taxi fare to Wilton manors for night life.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This place is a jem, great rooms, extremly clean, friendly staff, excellent facilities. I have stayed there 15 times in the last 10 years, each time I meet new people from all over the world, nice friendly atmosphere, gret tools 2 of them and 2 hot tubs. They really do whatever they can to make your stay a good one for you. Nice breakfast bar in the morning and the best coffee in lauderdale, yes better than even a Starbukcs

Room Tip: All rooms are great, just depends on how many in your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I first visited this resort in 2009 and have stayed in both the Worthington and Alcazar buildings. The rooms are impeccable, and management is attentive. The resort is mindful of both those that need attention and to those who wish to "lay low".

I was a guest from 22-Nov though 3-Dec and was there for the loud birthday boys (on the 24th). Honestly, I just moved to the Villa Venice side where it was a little more subdued. I enjoyed relaxing in the cabana area and spa, and returned back to my room on the Worthington side around midnight. By then, matters had calmed down.

As a traveler to many a gay resort, I have come to expect that a Saturday night in high season at a fully occupied resort is likely to come with a higher level of noise than is usual. On a few of my trips I was able to conduct business meetings on the telephone from my room during daytime and early evening without incident or disruption during the weekdays.

Never have I felt insecure on the property, nor, have I observed suspicious activity while on premises. If I did, I have no reservations that the matter would not be addressed promptly.

I look forward to many more visits to a business where the management and staff are invested in the premises as well as their quests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Worthington Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Worthington Guest House

Address: 543 North Birch Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 Specialty lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Worthington is the largest Gay clothing optional men's resort in North America. Three buildings, 63 rooms, 3 pools, two Hot tubs, free Continental breakfast, free parking, and just steps to the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Worthington Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Worthington Guest House Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Worthington Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.