We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Fantastic Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Worthington Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Worthington Guest House to your Saves list
The Worthington Guest House
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   543 North Birch Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Another Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Last year was my first visit to the Worthington, I had a great time then and an even better one this year. Again the weather was beautiful, the staff was above average and the room was perfect. I stayed in a room just off to the side of the pool and it was private, but practical. The room was cleaned to perfection, you could always ask for more towels if you needed them and nobody questioned you.

These days nothing is free, but at the Worthington you get a big bang for your buck. Each morning there is a variety of cereal, muffins, fruit, juice and coffee all free of charge. If you want to trot off to the beach only 3 blocks away, you have free use of chairs and umbrellas to take with. If you want to relax in your room, you have a wide choice of movies to choose from, also free of charge.

I'm not going to lie, the thing I enjoyed most about my stay was the men. If you like them young, middle aged, older, blonde, black hair, American, Latino or European -etcetera, you are in luck. You can hang out with or without clothes and don't worry if the scenery has a little affect on you... nobody cares! I am already making plans for next year and can't wait. So if you are one of the hotties working the front desk -get ready to see me there!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    107
    32
    11
    7
See reviews for
1
203
136
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

If you're looking for an EROTIC, no-attitude resort for gay men, this is the place. I've stayed at the Worthington/Alcazar on several occasions over the years and never have been disappointed. The staff are friendly and accommodating, the rooms are clean, fresh, and affordable (especially compared to those of nearby resorts), and the grounds are immaculate (and always getting better). The housekeepers are over-the-top friendly and consistently exude warmth through smiles, laughter, and prompt assistance with any needs or concerns you may have. As for the guests, most are in their mid-30s-50s, professional, in-shape, gregarious, and without "attitude." That said, the occasional "twink" or "twink couple" choose to stay at this resort, but if you're under 30, you may find few who share your decade of birth; likewise, men over 60 are a rare breed here as well, though not without occasional representation.
Favorites: the TWO 24-hour pools and the large hot tub; private atmosphere; lush grounds; clean and up-to-date facilities (including the pools, weight room, rooms, and grounds); friendly staff; convenient location (near the beach, restaurants, and shopping...but not the bars, unfortunately); day-passes for visitors, specifically locals and men staying is less-desirable resorts; outdoor music poolside; lots of frisky play at all hours; always a decent crowd over the weekend; happy hour on Saturday; beach towels.
Criticisms: the daily breakfast, while pretty decent, needs to include somewhat higher-quality prepackaged danishes/muffins/bagels; the outdoor music is completely eliminated around 8:00 PM, though simply lowering the volume would be sufficient in order to please both late-night swimmers and sleepy guests. That's it... Those are my criticisms of this resort...hardly worth mentioning, yet hopefully taken into consideration.
If you want a fun, affordable, "playful" environment where clothing is optional and "attitude" is minimal, consider the Worthington/Alcazar Guest House. However, if you do stay at this resort, be prepared to mingle!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Myself and my partner choose this location for a last minute trip to Fort Lauderdale for a Tues - Sun getaway. After a google search, and looking over multiple websites, we choose Worthington House / Alcazar Resort based mainly on pictures and price. We had an awesome time. Staff were very welcoming from the minute we walked in. Check in was speedy, room was very clean and spacious, Pool decks were nicely landscaped with plenty of seating to enjoy the sun. There were multiple people we spoke with at the resort that were staying at nearby places, but had friends @ the worthington and said it was a much better deal when compared. Would recommend to any gay men planning a trip to Ft. Lauderdale area. Can't wait to plan another trip to this resort ourselves.

Only suggestion to owners would would be to add area rugs around beds and at entry.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Stayed here three nights last week (Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday) and had an excellent time! The resort is very clean and beautifully landscaped, the staff are so accommodating and friendly, the rooms are nice and the beds are very comfortable. The room I had (322) had a great view of the pool area and Ft. Lauderdale Beach and was nicely appointed! Will definitely be back here again, was my first time at this guesthouse (usually stay at a different one but wanted to try this one) and I was more than satisfied! Can't wait for my next visit...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I perhaps stayed there the longest out of all the guests - 5 weeks in all- so enough time to get the impression of everything.Only one word needs to be said about absolutely everything, whether its the staff and owner, rooms, pool,grounds, atmosphere, friendliness and nothing is too much to help you - FABULOUS
I would not stay anywhere else!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdurhanFt_Lauderdale, Owner at The Worthington Guest House, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you David, reading this review makes my day. I am so happy you had an awesome stay.The entire team here strives to make everyone's stay a memorable one. Have a great day!
JIM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We arrived on Monday June 20th.......We left Friday June 24th....What a great place....The Staff was so nice andVERY CUSTOMER SERVICE FRIENDLY....we felt like they were family we hadnt seen in in a while....The ENTIRE RESORT WAS SO CLEAN AND BEAUTIFUL, the room was top quality VERY RELAXING....In all my years of traveling this was THE BEST CHOICE WE EVER MADE...we had no idea what to expect....I would ask everyone to GO THERE...YOU WILL NOT BE SORRY......very affordable and everyone that was at the resort during our stay there was VERY NICE!.....the WORTHINGTON is right in the heart of everything...walking distance to all ..........we are planning our next stay as we speak......5*****5*****5......Thanks so much! we really enjoyed our time in Ft Lauderdale.....James & Keith

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdurhanFt_Lauderdale, Owner at The Worthington Guest House, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for the kind words, I am so happy to hear you had a great time at our resort. We continue to raise the bar in Gay accommodations. Have a great day !
Warm regards,
Jim Durhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

My partner and I have stayed at different guesthouses in Ft. Lauderdale, but I'll have to say, we were most impressed with the Worthington. Our accommodations were luxurious, and it was an all-around peaceful and enjoyable vacation. Steve, Dennis, and the other gentleman were so attentive and hospitable. Samantha, the cat, was a delight. The pool and hot tub make you forget all your cares. You cannot go wrong staying here; it's a real treat.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdurhanFt_Lauderdale, Owner at The Worthington Guest House, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for your kind review, I'm the "other gentlemen" lol... Glad you enjoyed yourselves. I'll pass your compliment to Sam as well. Have a great day, hope to see you back soon.
Warm regards,
JIM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Worthington Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Worthington Guest House

Address: 543 North Birch Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Worthington Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Worthington is the largest Gay clothing optional men's resort in North America. Three buildings, 63 rooms, 3 pools, two Hot tubs, free Continental breakfast, free parking, and just steps to the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Worthington Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Worthington Guest House Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Worthington Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.