We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Helpful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winterset Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Winterset Hotel to your Saves list
Winterset Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2801 Terramar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Devon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Helpful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We were disappointed with our first room (room 10). The windows behind the bed headboard were very drafty and we could hear every sound from outside - noisey road and very windy weather. However, when we told the staff they were very helpful and moved us to a lovely apartment (room 208).

The room was large, bright and modern with a fully equiped kitchen, bathroom, walk-in closet and bedroom containing double beds. The large and airy lounge had a very large flat screen TV, couch, chair and dining table with four chairs.

The hotel is in a very good location just four blocks from the beach. It is a 20 minute walk to the Mall but you can also get the Trolley bus or number 40 bus which takes about five minutes. The Trolley bus will also take you down town. A Water Taxi stops close to the hotel (it costs $20 but you can use the ticket all day and the boat visits all the local attractions - a great way to spend the day. The round trip takes three hours).

Finding reasonably priced places to eat was quite difficult. This is a very expensive part of Florida - just look at the yachts and the real estate to know why.

We had trouble with the internet - hotel having problems with server, but the night before we left the reception staff helped us to get our boarding cards online and overall the hotel staff were excellent.

If we could get the same room (or similar) we would definitely consider staying at this hotel again and would recommend Fort Lauderdale which has plenty to offer the visitor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    70
    28
    17
    8
See reviews for
41
89
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Winterset is good for the price, you get an entire apartment-sized suite that is furnished, and includes some minor kitchen equipment. The beds are fine if not amazingly comfortable, and the other furniture is totally acceptable.

The Good:
Furnishings are good, lots of seating, so its easy to relax with a group
Clean and comfortable
Short walk to the beach (.25 miles), accessible parking, and easy walk to public transit
Helpful and friendly staff
3 Pools on site--dipping rather than swimming, and not crowded when we went (on a holiday weekend)

The Bad:
Don't get room 103, it's between the office--where you can hear voices and phones from 7am-8pm--and the cleaning closet--voices and rustling from 11am-3pm
Don't be on the first floor, the doors are EXTREMELY thin (see the above problem) so anyone walking by or talking outside is easy to hear if they are speaking above a whisper
Bathroom is very small

Room Tip: Don't get 103, request second floor if you can walk up the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

For the price, this is one of the more charming places I've had an opportunity to stay, and would definitely stay there again. Well maintained classic hotel of days gone by. It's an older property but clean and comfortable with a great staff. Quaint ambiance and just what I wanted. Pictures accurately show rooms and property. It's a short walk to the beach and night life. It is not the Ritz-Carlton but I didn't want the Ritz-Carlton. To sum it up, quaint, charming, comfortable and clean. Romantic get a way.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This past Sunday I visited friends staying at the Winterset. It was their second stay there and I could easily understand why they returned. They had a large spotless room with a kitchen. Their floor was beautiful terrazzo, there were large windows providing views of palm trees and the pool area was charming. And to top it off, the rate was quite reasonable. This is not a fancy new property but rather a nicely updated mid-century property with lots of charm.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed at the Winterset for approx. 2 weeks during September. Being 'out of season' it was very quiet but extremely nice. The hot tube was being repaired during the first week of our stay but not a big deal - it was great when they had finised. Three pools to chose from - picked the main one out the back mostly - again very quiet for most of the time. The BBQ was really useful, again had it mostly to ourselves. Location is only a 15min walk to the beach so pretty good if that's what you want.
My room was very nice - not massive but enough for me.
All the staff were very friendly.
Overall very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Richard B,
Whether you visit during peak season or during the slower summer months, you'll always find peace and quiet at the Winterset. It's close to the beach but far from the noise. With a choice of 3 pools and 3 separate buildings to choose from, guests can choose their ideal spot. Thanks a lot for your review. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

we stayed here 2 nights before a monday flight to Puerto Rico.

clean, quaint, BUT LOUD, you here everything through walls and A/c unit on room is VERY loud! pool was fine, but when guest decided to party till 5;30 am then put glass beer bottle in bottom of pool, it wasnt removed until the evening the next night. REally? GLASS in a pool and staff didnt get it for 1 day? that is dangerous!
ok location, good room rate, but we would try another hotel that was a bit quieter, really, you cant believe how thin the wall are in this place.

recommend a 1st floor unit . we had 2nd floor corner unit and wedged between 2 other rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Michelle S,
We're sorry to hear about your experience but really appreciate the feedback. Guest feedback is very important so we can improve. We do have numerous hotels in our collection and hope that you will let us help you find your perfect fit next time you are in Ft. Lauderdale. We know we can do better and hope that you will give us that chance. Thanks very much for your review. Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights and really enjoyed our visit. We walked to the beach everyday and it was minutes from the airport as well as local shops and restaurants!

Loved the mature Floridian foliage, the three well-maintained pools and the staff were very friendly. The hotel also included umbrellas and chairs for the beach. Older style of hotel but did well in updating the rooms and they were very clean. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: I stayed in a standard room but my family (with children) stayed in the rooms with kitchens etc. Tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Tracy C,
Thanks so much for your review. The Winterset is very special, and we are pleased that you appreciate the older style and mature foliage. In fact, we have an Old Man Palm Tree, which is a very rare palm that is found mostly in collector's gardens. We have worked hard to preserve the native plants and mid-century modern architecture that is Winterset, and we are so happy that you noticed! Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winterset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winterset Hotel

Address: 2801 Terramar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winterset Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O.K. - Everyone knows that Fort Lauderdale Beach is one of the best places in Florida for an unforgettable family beach getaway, but where's the very best place on our tropical barrier island and miles of golden beaches? North Beach Village is Fort Lauderdale's legendary borough, offering an ideal locale from which to explore but also unmatched boutique hotel value. With the Intracoastal Waterway and sandy beaches just a few minutes' walk away - it's easy to spark uncommon happiness and feel deeply reconnected and refreshed. And Winterset's spacious 36-rooms and three sparkling heated pools is perfect for soothing minds or mindless fun! Our updated rooms have state-of-the-art kitchens, flat screens and cozy furnishings. Rooms have a cool, Caribbean decor plus Wi-Fi, coffee and sunshine is included. We never charge resort fees. Ultimately, guests rave about Winterset and return because our above and beyond concierge-like services inspire recuperation and relaxation. Whether you dream away in our steamy hot-tub under twinkling stars, take your family on a water taxi ride to beachy restaurants or bedazzle with watersport adventures - everybody will love Winterset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Winterset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winterset Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Winterset Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winterset Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.