We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winterset Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Winterset Hotel to your Saves list
Winterset Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2801 Terramar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Sidney, Nebraska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

we stayed at the winterset late january. the hotel is an older property, but re made well. the place was clean and quiet and comfortable. liked the fridge and microwave. the office staff was friendly and accomodating. the beach was a short walk from the hotel; about 2 or 3 blocks depending on how big your blocks are. the outside was well maintained.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
bill s,
Thanks so much for staying with us. You're right, the Winterset is a great deal. Our boutique hotels offer a variety of styles and price points so guests can always find the perfect fit in North Beach Village. We really appreciate your review and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    85
    38
    18
    11
See reviews for
52
104
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Hotel is an extremely generous word for this 1960s open-air motel. It’s amazing how tropical landscaping and a wide angled camera lens can make this place look like a spacious oasis in the pictures. We arrived at 8pm after traveling all day. We were tired, hungry, and my cell phone had just lost power. On locating the hotel office, and knocking on the closed door for ten minutes, I spotted a small sign stating that the hotel office closes everyday at 7pm! Anyone arriving after that time has to walk to (street address was given.) No directions, no map to the new address. After 20 minutes of driving around, and not finding anyone to ask (did I mention that it was pouring with rain?) we went back to knock on hotel room doors to see if any residents knew where it was.

Arriving back, the office door was open. The clerk informed us how lucky we were to have caught her, she would do us the favor of checking us in. She then informed me that they had almost cancelled my pre-paid reservation, as I booked an additional night stay (made no sense to me either.)

We finally got the key to room. The room had no remote to the TV, no hangers in the closet, no soap or shampoo in the bathroom, no cups / glasses / mugs. I could see around 5 mosquitoes. We were so tired that we just settled down for the night. We awoke at 7am to masses of water into the room that had come in through the cracks in the wall, plus the sounds of every resident getting up in – the place has no sound proofing.

The staff did try and help - they gave us another room - but at this point, our short trip was tainted by this hotel nightmare.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel, either spend a bit more for a nicer hotel, or go cheaper for a nicer h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
manhattanspace,
We were very sad when we read your review. We really care about our guest happiness and have already made steps to improve our check in policies, including more detailed information on the guest confirmations. We know we can do better and hope that you will give us another chance to prove that to you. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon. Thanks, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

They are getting so popular that it's getting difficult to book. Still clean, affordable and very accommodating. Next time you repaint make it pink again! I needed extra service and Amanda was extremely kind to comply. We always feel comfortable here.

Room Tip: Room 3's air conditioner is too loud but the fan was enough to keep room cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
MariaOttowa,
We'll always have a place for you, no matter how popular we get. With over 12 boutique hotels and 500 rooms, there's always room in North Beach Village! Just give us a call and we'll take care of the rest. Thanks so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I booked through Expedia, and was not notified that the hotel office is closed after 7:00 p.m...I didn't see this posted anywhere on the Winterset's site either :(

After arriving at 7:15 on December 18th via Taxi, I found a printed letter on the office door instructing guests to call another hotel, the Aqua, for all needs. I called, and was notified that I could pick up my keys there. I had to lug 2 heavy bags approximately 1/4 mile away to pick up the keys...had to lug them back as well! Office attendant at the Aqua was apologetic, but didn't offer me a water or a drive back :(

It would be helpful if the MGMT of the Winterset would post their check in policies somewhere so this doesn't keep happening...I see from reading various reviews on the internet that I'm not the first.

Also...employee at the Aqua Hotel was not familiar with the different rooms at the Winterset, and could not answer questions I had at check in.

Bottom line...I felt that there was nobody to help me after 7:00 p.m. :(

Room Tip: First room I was placed in, 111 was very small, and in a back corner. Felt like a converted garage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Imbooradly,
We're pleased to announce that we have already made changes to our check in policy. Next time you visit, you'll notice that detailed check-in procedures have been added to the guest confirmations. Also, we are just steps away from our own shuttle service. We are always trying to improve and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We just stayed at The Winterset and loved it. It was such a convenience to be within walking distance from the beach and to have a fridge and microwave. The room was immaculate. I loved the simple Ikea furnishings. The only complaint would be our loud neighbors that let their children run by our first floor room screaming loudly as we were trying to rest. Fortunately they were in their room by 10 PM every night. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
sunchaser22,
Thanks so much for your review. We are looking forward to your next visit. We know that there are a lot of choices of hotels in Fort Lauderdale, and we're so happy that you chose us! See you soon, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this mid-century 2 story motel for three nights and we very pleased by the rooms and the staff. The rooms were imaculate and the bed comfortable. The IKEA furniture is simple but stylish and appropiate to the location. We did not use the pools as the beach is so close but we did barbeque on the well maintaimed deck amid the pleasant palm trees. The kitchen was well equiped with utensils and pots and pans but there are no condiments. Ask for extra salt, pepper and sugar packets at every fast food stop before coming. My reservation through Bookings.com was botched up, but I was given the originaly requested room at the Bookings rate which was very low indeed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
ned2384,
Thanks for the descriptive review. We're are so happy that you were pleased with the Winterset and hope that you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We were supposed to be at the Tropirocks but were moved due to renovation work. We were upgraded to a one bed appartment suite. It looked really great but was let down by cheap tacky white IKEA furniture throughout. The floors have been made quite unlevel by subsidance over the years so it was downhill from the bedroom to the bathroom and uphill from the kitchen to the living room! Bit like a funhouse!
The appartment was spotlessly clean and the main officestaff (Amanda & Stephanie) were very charming, polite and helpful ladies. They couldn't do enough for us and it was nice to chat to then each day. Great work, guys.
The location is fantastic - an easy walk to the seafront beaches and bars.

Room Tip: The floors are all marble so being in a room on the ground floor picks up lots of noise from people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
hotbeare15,
Thanks for staying with us. You'll be happy to hear that the newly refreshed Tropirock is now open and ready for your next visit. We hope that you can come back again soon to see it. Thanks you for your review, we really appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Winterset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winterset Hotel

Address: 2801 Terramar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winterset Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O.K. - Everyone knows that Fort Lauderdale Beach is one of the best places in Florida for an unforgettable family beach getaway, but where's the very best place on our tropical barrier island and miles of golden beaches? North Beach Village is Fort Lauderdale's legendary borough, offering an ideal locale from which to explore but also unmatched boutique hotel value. With the Intracoastal Waterway and sandy beaches just a few minutes' walk away - it's easy to spark uncommon happiness and feel deeply reconnected and refreshed. And Winterset's spacious 36-rooms and three sparkling heated pools is perfect for soothing minds or mindless fun! Our updated rooms have state-of-the-art kitchens, flat screens and cozy furnishings. Rooms have a cool, Caribbean decor plus Wi-Fi, coffee and sunshine is included. We never charge resort fees. Ultimately, guests rave about Winterset and return because our above and beyond concierge-like services inspire recuperation and relaxation. Whether you dream away in our steamy hot-tub under twinkling stars, take your family on a water taxi ride to beachy restaurants or bedazzle with watersport adventures - everybody will love Winterset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Winterset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winterset Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Winterset Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winterset Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.