We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly Positive, with a Few Flaws” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Winterset Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Winterset Hotel to your Saves list
Winterset Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2801 Terramar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
northeast US
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mostly Positive, with a Few Flaws”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We chose this hotel based on the reviews on Tripadvisor. For the most part they were accurate. We stayed at The Winterset for 3 nights in a one bedroom apartment. We were happily surprised to have a full kitchen - did not expect that! The accommodations were very comfortable and spacious, the location good and the two pools very nice and kept in good order (we did only use the heated one). We did notice a couple of things that convinced us to post "average". The apartment we were given was kept extremely clean except for one thing we noticed after the second night; the floors never seemed to be cleaned. We had only tile floors, which was fine, but we all noticed our feet and/or socks were black after the second night. We then checked the socks from the first night and found the same thing; lots of dirt. Secondly, though we stayed in February and this was not an issue for us, there was no air conditioner in the bedroom. The only unit was located in the living room and I don't think that in the hot, humid Florida summer this would have helped in the bedroom. There was a ceiling fan that was great for us, but in the summer probably not enough. Finally, when we were packing to leave, we noticed that all our clothes (in the closet and drawers in the bedroom) were all damp. We have stayed in other hotels in Ft. Lauderdale and never had this happen. Everything had to be washed as soon as we returned home. Not sure if this is a ventilation issue, but again not comfortable.
Again, for the most part this was a good hotel; staff was excellent and made us feel very welcome. I actually hesitated writing this review as all others seemed very good, but finally decided that these were issues I would want to know about if I were the staff, and also if I were planning to stay, particularly in the summer months.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
northeasttravel,
It's reviews like yours that we appreciate the most. The only way for us to improve is to hear from our guests. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will immediately look into the items you mentioned. Thanks again, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    70
    28
    16
    8
See reviews for
41
87
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I traveled to Fort Lauderdale for a March break cruise with my husband and another couple. We stayed at the Winterset pre and post cruise. We loved the location being only a few blocks (a short walking distance) from the beach. It is an older hotel that has been updated a little bit but it is value for your money. The staff there work very hard and are helpful. There are no phones in the room and the office isn not open 24 hours so if you need to confirm shuttle ect you need to do it while the office is open. This isn't much of a problem is you have a cell phone but I am from Canada and roaming charges would kill me. There is free internet which is wonderful. The staff put on coffee in the morning for guests but there is no breakfast. For the price you can't complain about that. The suites are equiped with kitchenetts. The airport and cruise terminal are close by. All and all this is a great find and I would go back.

Room Tip: We had the two bedroom suite and that had a nice living / dining / kitchen area seperate from the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
grayz,
Thanks so much for your review. We work very hard to make sure our guests are happy and we are very pleased that you noticed! We're always making changes and thinking of ways to improve so your feedback it greatly appreciated. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

My hubby and I stayed for 2 weeks. We originally booked for one and liked it so much we made it our launch pad to Miami, Naples and Palm Beach. I appreciated the cleanliness and comtempory furniture and excellent bedding. No ick facture here. Maggie and the team were great. Our friend also stayed at a 'sister' hotel and prepared Maggie for our arriva l and they made us feel right at home. It is a cozy friendly place and they work hard to make you happy. We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2. The first was on second floor, middle in front . Loved the view from the bed palm, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
MariaOttawa,
Nothing makes us happier than hearing a guest say they will be back! Thanks for mentioning our 'sister' hotel. With over 25 properties, North Beach Village has something for everyone from hotels to vacation rentals to tenants rentals. We love to help guests find the perfect place for their vacation. Like you said, we work hard to make you happy. After all, our mission statement is 'to create and are where locals and visitors can experience love and happiness'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed at The Winterset for 2 nights and really enjoyed the location, pool and people. The staff was more than helpful, especially Maggie. Our room was big and clean and the pools were great since it was so windy at the beach. I would def. recommend this hotel/motel to others - great place/location for the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
jamiecolvard,
Thanks so much for your review. You're right, the rooms are nice and spacious which helps if the weather isn't cooperating. The one bedroom suites with full kitchens are also great for families and long term stays. We hope you can stay for more than 2 days next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at The Winterset. It's a 5 minute walk from Fort Lauderdale Beach - and also walking distance between the two strips of restaurants, bars, and souvenir shops. A lot of the independent motels and hotels in this neighborhood look old, worn, and about 30 years past their prime. The Winterset is not among them. Hardwood floors, chrome finished mirrors, lamps, etc, and two nice, clean pools. We grilled out by the pool one of our two nights. The hotel was quiet - we might have been the two youngest people there -- lots of families and mature adult types. The AC's were a little loud and the bed was just 'ok' - but the room was clean, we were beyond comfortable, and treated very well. All for $109/night! We will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
MichaelJ,
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your time at The Winterset. North Beach Village is working hard to improve the entire area, and we are renovating a lot of those older hotels you mentioned. Thanks so much for noticing the improvements we have made to The Winterset. We are looking forward to your next visit. You are always welcome in North Beach Village! Thanks again, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Stayed only for one night but it was an ideal base. Just far enough from main road to be very quiet, but only a minute walk from the beautiful beach, and a few minutes walk to lots of restaurants. Try the cafes at either the Hilton or Atlantic for breakfast, just a couple of minutes walk.
Rooms were decorated well, beds were very soft though. Bathroom had nice touches like toothpaste, although mirror cabinet had seen much better days. A blind on the bathroom window and door would have been preferred.
Pool was lovely and warm.
Took a while to find anyone when wanting to check out though, as office was locked at 10am, checking out time!
Only had a studio, which I still thought was very pricey, but location made up for it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back section, away from the road as these are very peaceful. Go for 1st floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Itchyfeet042,
You're right, The Winterset is an ideal base. It's so close to the beach, restaurants and social scene but far enough away to allow guests that peace and quiet they want while on vacation. We're always trying to improve, and we appreciate your feedback. Thanks so much, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I had been coming to Winterset for several years but things have changed for the better. There were new beds and furniture in the rooms and certain other changes to the facilities. The people involved in the service were very friendly and helpful. I had a good relationship with Maggie the Manager and her office staff were always very helpful and friendly. The people who took care of cleaning the rooms also did a great job. This is why I am looking forward to returning next year.
Robert Jovanovic

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winterset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winterset Hotel

Address: 2801 Terramar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winterset Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O.K. - Everyone knows that Fort Lauderdale Beach is one of the best places in Florida for an unforgettable family beach getaway, but where's the very best place on our tropical barrier island and miles of golden beaches? North Beach Village is Fort Lauderdale's legendary borough, offering an ideal locale from which to explore but also unmatched boutique hotel value. With the Intracoastal Waterway and sandy beaches just a few minutes' walk away - it's easy to spark uncommon happiness and feel deeply reconnected and refreshed. And Winterset's spacious 36-rooms and three sparkling heated pools is perfect for soothing minds or mindless fun! Our updated rooms have state-of-the-art kitchens, flat screens and cozy furnishings. Rooms have a cool, Caribbean decor plus Wi-Fi, coffee and sunshine is included. We never charge resort fees. Ultimately, guests rave about Winterset and return because our above and beyond concierge-like services inspire recuperation and relaxation. Whether you dream away in our steamy hot-tub under twinkling stars, take your family on a water taxi ride to beachy restaurants or bedazzle with watersport adventures - everybody will love Winterset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Winterset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winterset Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Winterset Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winterset Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.