We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A work in progress, but I'm going back.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winterset Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Winterset Hotel to your Saves list
Winterset Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2801 Terramar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A work in progress, but I'm going back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I stayed from the 20th to the 25th of December 2011 after being absent since last season, and my experience generally agreed with the positive reviews here, but the Winterset is a work in progress. The new owners have refurnished the suites, as the images on the website show, and the colorful character of the old decor has been replaced by a bland but relaxing modern color scheme. The carpet is gone too, and there is now some noise from chairs hitting and sliding over the bare floors.

They are aware of the problem and also of one of the inexpensive solutions I have used myself: "Fuzzy" chair glides, like giant thumbtacks with a bit of carpet surface on the flat part, let chairs slide quietly across a bare floor. (Footsteps weren't the problem here this time that they were when I stayed in another nearby motel with bare floors .)

Two little problems with my kitchen were promptly fixed. In general the staff seem determined to make The Winterset a nice place again.

New windows and blinds are welcome improvements. The Wi-Fi worked fine except when I tried to download some large files. But it's free.

And the place is as beautifully landscaped as ever, just like the web site shows. While The Winterset is not so quiet, which was one of the reasons I preferred it in the neighborhood, I'm going back again.

Room Tip: Discuss what you like with the staff! They'll help!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Jack R,
Thanks so much for staying with us. We always welcome feedback from our guests. Thanks for mentioning the website and it's accurate portrayal of the hotel, with it's modern decor and beautiful landscaping. We want our guests to get exactly what they see, with no surprises. The chair glides are an easy fix to that noise problem, and we will make sure to resolve it right away. Hope to see you soon! NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    70
    28
    17
    8
See reviews for
41
89
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Staying at the Winterset was the best decision I made. The warm feeling upon my late arrival and making sure my room was perfect was great. The hotel was located to all my destination. I met new nice friendly people I could talk to. The staff are friendly and hard working, Especially the day there was no water in the area, there was a pleasant lady working on Christmas Eve making sure all her guest was aware of the situation and water supplies were available for everyone. Watching her get the task done and talking to everyone shows how much the staff cares about their guest. I came late every night and to see the office is always open is very a secure feeling. The rooms are clean and the view I had was amazing by the pool. The hotel has a tropical feeling of Florida. My housekeeper Erica did a great job cleaning. I will stay here again when I come see another opera.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Jck22,
What a wonderful review, thank you so much. We appreciate you recognizing how much we care about our guests. Our guests are the number one priorty! On Christmas Eve, most of the county was without water. As you mentioned, what could have become a nightmare was handled very well, thanks so such an accomodating staff. We hope you visit us again soon. You are always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

You can not beat this value. It does not matter what you request or need, Maggie and her girls will deliver it. They are amazing and it feels like you are part of the family ... Location of the hotel is perfect and my 12year old daughter loved the proximity of the Galleria Mall (unfortunately for me!). Free WiFi also a great plus.

Room Tip: Don't pick Suite 110 ;) ... I loved it and want it to always be available for ME It is a very w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
A R,
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Winterset. We try very hard at North Beach Village to accomodate the guests. We love what we do and are so happy that we were able to make your vacation a great one. We are looking forward to your next visit....suite 110 is waiting for you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

My partner and I recently spent 8 days (6-14dec 2011) at the winterset suite following a sixteen day trans atlantic cruise.
We planned the stay to ensure we got some warm sunshine before returning to the UK and a cold winter. What we were not expecting was the warmth of the welcome we got from Maggie (manager) and her wonderful staff. We cannot praise them enough, nothing was too much trouble for them.
We stayed at the Winterset five years ago and enjoyed the central, yet quiet location. However, now the roomy accomodation has been modernised and redecorated, we cannot think of a better and more reasonable priced hotel.
Everything we experienced was so very good, that we do not hesitate to recomend the Winterset.
Thankyou again Maggie and your wonderfull staff, Erica,Amanda,Nicoll and Yvana for the excellent service you provide. We miss you all. Regards Michael and Svend, London, UK.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Michael & Svend,
We hope that you don't wait another 5 years before you come back to visit us at the Winterset! Thank you so much for your review. We're very pleased that you noticed all of the renovations. We've worked very hard renovating not just this hotel but many others in the North Beach Area. You're right, the staff does a wonderful job of making guests feel welcome and they go above and beyond to accomodate the guests. This is the goal of North Beach Village Group. That Florida sunshine isn't just from the sun!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying two days with Winterset on Nov 3 to Nov 5 2011. The location is perfect!! The Galleria mall is in walking distance and the beach is two blocks down the street. In the mornings they have continental breakfast with Kashi, cheerios, and cinnamon toast crunch creals. There is orange juice, and coffee along with breads, and milks. There are two pools and more than enough palm trees. The staff is extremely nice. Maggie was so helpful, I can not thank her enough. Our plane got in late from PHL and I was worried about getting a room and making sure everything was ok. She assured me it was fine and it was!! The rooms have huge windows (I love natural light), large comfortable beds (we had a king size) and new down comforters. Plenty fluffy pillows and a plasma TV. It has to be about 46inches. Felt like home. The bathroom was clean and housekeeping folded our washclothes really cute LOL. I will def recommend this hotel I will surely visit again.
Oh yea they have free wi-fi too.

Natacha & Justin from Delaware.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower level are right near the pool. Just keep blinds closed when you are dressing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Natacha & Justin,
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Winterset. You're right, the location is awesome. Guests can enjoy the close proximity to the beach, shopping and restaurants and yet the hotel is tucked far enough away that you can have peace and quiet! The Winterset provides the best of both worlds! We really appreciate your comments and hope you come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klarup, Nordjylland, Denmark
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

When we started our vacation in Florida at a hotel in Orlando we had a very surprising experience for all 8 days we were there. In a bad way! The hotel was overbooked, and after beeing awake for 33 hours is the last you wanna get told 1.30 at the night when you get there directly from the airport.

After 8 days in Orlando we went down to Ft. Lauderdale with a big fear for having the same bad experience once again. But at the Winterset Maggie and her team was turning the vacation into a very unforgettable stay in Florida.

First of all everyone at the Winterset was very kind and helpfull all times a day. The place was in the middle of everything with only a short drive till what else you wanna see in Florida.

The stay in Ft. Lauderdale was planned from the begginning to the end allready before we came there, but 4 days of very bad weather turned it into what we thought would be a nightmare but became a memorable stay thanks to the Winterset.
Maggie (the hotel manager) was always helpfull with ideas and places she wanted us to visit. She gave us some ideas everytime we asked for help about where to go.
The most touching memory from the stay was Maggie and the time she took of every morning to say hello to people while sitting outside enjoying their breakfast, which btw. was very great.

Maggie is one of the managers we would love to have in Denmark where we come from. She always takes her time to come around and help people in the best way to make them feel welcome in Ft. Lauderdale and at the Winterset. She even cried when we left the hotel by giving her a present with memories (she loves Swedish fish vinegums).

We can for sure say that it is defniantly not the last time we visit Maggie and The Winterset. Through the week we felt absolutely like being at home very safe. Everyone took care of us and did their best to give us a wonderfull stay which they did for sure !

The best Wishes
Dorthe and Sascha
Denmark

Room Tip: All rooms are very great and if you doubt - ask Maggie !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Dorthe & Sascha,
What a nice review, thank you so much! We're sorry that you hard so much trouble in Orlando but are so pleased that you found so much happiness at the Winterset. Maggie and the rest of the staff do a wonderful job. They are great ambassadors of North Beach Village and really live by our mission which is "to create an area where locals and visitors can experience love & happines" We hope you come back again soon, Maggie will be waiting for you with open arms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Hey Maggie, this is to you:
The Winterset has changed ownership and management some 6 months or so, and since has noticably improved. Out with the stuffiness of old carpets and furniture, in with modern style and a trendy new look of the rooms. Most bedrooms have been renovated, and in the kitchens the china and cutlery has been exchanged. They now offer breakfast, which is very convenient, and plans for a spa and car rental are on the way. The new staff is extremely cheerful, friendly and helpful - loved them all! The Winterset had been my preferred get-away for the past 20 years - now it's home away from home. They made a good place a perfect place! Thanks, folks!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Cathy E,
Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate it. To say that we made a good place perfect is an amazing compliment! That is exactly what we are hoping to acheive. Although we are a company, we are all very close and all share the same vision. We want the entire North Beach Area to be a place where locals and guests can experience love & happiness. We love Maggie too and are so lucky to have her! We're looking forward to your next trip, see you soon.
Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winterset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winterset Hotel

Address: 2801 Terramar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winterset Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O.K. - Everyone knows that Fort Lauderdale Beach is one of the best places in Florida for an unforgettable family beach getaway, but where's the very best place on our tropical barrier island and miles of golden beaches? North Beach Village is Fort Lauderdale's legendary borough, offering an ideal locale from which to explore but also unmatched boutique hotel value. With the Intracoastal Waterway and sandy beaches just a few minutes' walk away - it's easy to spark uncommon happiness and feel deeply reconnected and refreshed. And Winterset's spacious 36-rooms and three sparkling heated pools is perfect for soothing minds or mindless fun! Our updated rooms have state-of-the-art kitchens, flat screens and cozy furnishings. Rooms have a cool, Caribbean decor plus Wi-Fi, coffee and sunshine is included. We never charge resort fees. Ultimately, guests rave about Winterset and return because our above and beyond concierge-like services inspire recuperation and relaxation. Whether you dream away in our steamy hot-tub under twinkling stars, take your family on a water taxi ride to beachy restaurants or bedazzle with watersport adventures - everybody will love Winterset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Winterset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winterset Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Winterset Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winterset Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.