We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropi Rock Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tropi Rock Resort to your Saves list
Tropi Rock Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   2900 Belmar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

This is not the Ritzs but it's a great low key place for the price. It has a nice little pool with pretty landscaping. It's in a great location; walking distance to just about everywhere. The staff was kind and friendly. Will seat there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Jleewaterqueen,
Thanks very much for your review. You pretty much summer it up; with the friendly staff, prime location and rates that are some of the lowest in the area, Tropirock Resort can't be beat! Thanks so much for staying with us. We hope you can come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    90
    46
    26
    15
See reviews for
59
111
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The room was old but clean, and it was a reasonable size too. We were there on a Saturday night and there were girls on a hens night staying, so it was a bit noisy the walls are not very thick so we were woken a couple of times. The pool area was fine, we cooled off in the pool upon arrival and the outdoor restaurant next doors food was good. We stayed here for 1 night before our cruise and it was fine for that and very cheap.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Tania A,
Thanks very much for your review. We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you noticed the great things about Tropirock, like the clean rooms, affordable rates and convenient bistro next door. We are going to be renovating this month and hope that you will come back to see the improvements. Thanks again, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I enjoyed our stay we had 2 adults one 17 and a 2 year old we came a day before a cruise and stayed a day after when we first arrived we got here at 2 pm it was raining we got a room. Right away when we got back from a cruise we arrived very early around 10 am there wasn't anything available yet and it was pouring rain outside mick And patti were very helpful they got us a room earlier sunrise blvd was close by they had a lot of stores and food places we took the trolley and the bus to several places to we hot up galleria mall swap shop and sawgrass mall which were good . I can't say enough about mick and patti and there employees everyone was very nice and the rooms were very good clean and enough room for 4 of us.we had a microwave coffie pot toaster and ect if u needed I would definantely stay there again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dcwstyles,
We are happy that you found sunshine at the Tropirock, despite the rainy weather! Thanks so much for your nice review. We are imlementing a shuttle service and would love to pick you up after your next cruise. Give us a call anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, MI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We just spent a week at Tropi Rock. We come to Ft. Lauderdale frequently and like these type of boutique hotels. We've stayed at 2 others in the area. PROS: Close to beach and restaurants, large rooms (we were in 305 with King bed and kitchen), nice staff, good parking, comfortable beds, low price since we were off-season, chairs around pool are nice. CONS: Place is old and needs a good makeover, pool area is slimy (had to wear flip-flops), kitchen and bathroom need to be updated, small TV, no clock, air conditioner that just kept up with the 85 degree heat outside. The room was cleaned everyday, but the tile floor was filthy and we had to wear shoes in the room. Would we stay again? Probably not. There are too many other places in the area that have been updated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Milo01,
Thanks very much for your review. The good news is we are planning a makeover in the next month or two, and we know you'll enjoy the changes the next time you visit, including upgrades to the tv's, air conditioners and pool area. One thing that won't change is the great rate and awesome staff. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselberry, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Had such high hopes this motel would be quaint and cozy.....Boy, was I wrong!!! Read several good reviews and was hoping to find a delightful place to stay by the ocean. When we first arrived to check in my boyfriend and I were greeted by Mick. He was extremely overbearing. We were in a hurry to unpack and explore the city. Mick kept talking and talking and talking. we could not get a word in edgewise. He seemed superficial and gave us a very unpleasant first impression. Odd is an understatement! When we finally checked into our room A/C unit was leaking outside front door & a huge puddle was forming. The TV was tiny and only had one working channel. The remote control did not work. No wake up calls were provided, (huhhh??????/)so we asked for an alarm clock. Mick gave us a cheap one that barely worked. No shampoo or conditioner were provided either. We had to ask for a bottle. YUCK! The bathroom door jammed and would not close properly. Overall I am VERY, VERY disappointed and have no clue why this place got good reviews.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
KissableKate,
Our number one priority is guest satisfaction and although we are sad to hear about your experience, your review is very much appreciated. We are always trying to improve. We are actually gearing up to renovate the Tropirock and hope that you will come back for another try. North Beach Village has a variety of hotels for every taste and budget and we know that we could find the perfect one for you. Thanks again, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

To start off each person who said the hospitality was great is 100% right. They are very nice at Tropi Rock. The hotel is dated however. I would not really consider this a resort although I did have a comfortable stay. Beach towels are mix matched I think mine was from a different hotel. The room we were in was very hot even when we had the air all the way to the max. It took quite a while for it to cool down. The shower was in need of a good lime disolver, it sprayed in all directions. I was very happy there was a mini fridge. The code was easy to remember and the hotel was very quiet up until our last night when we had a family with a baby next door. I would suggest this hotel for anyone traveling on a budget that wants a clean environment and a short walk to the beach. Parking was great very easy to find a space. Also there are cats that walk around the hotel and inside the check in area. Im allergic to cats but didnt have any issues. I guess they are the owners.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Ashley N,
Thanks for noticing the awesome staff at the Tropirock. We always appreciate it, and we are working to improve this property so the amenities match the hospitality! We hope you can come back again soon. Thanks again, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

On our way to a cruise, my daughters and I spent a day/night in Fort Lauderdale. Based on the reviews I read here I was expecting a bit nicer place. I'm a business traveler and used to staying at Hilton properties. So consider that with my review.

There is a security gate to get in which is closed at 9pm (although we found it closed just after 8pm) so be sure you write down the code. When I checked in the woman working there was very nice and we got checked in quickly.

We got to the room and opened the room. It wasn't bad, but wasn't anything special. The window air conditioner (installed over the door) was a bit underpowered to cool the room even after running several hours. Also, the bathroom could use a bit of cleaning beyond just the daily wipe down.

There was an issue with outlets. Her hair dryer (standard 1200w walmart brand) tripped the circuit and cut the power to the fridge and bathroom. I called the front desk twice in a row with no answer. When I walked down there I rang the bell and the woman showed up immediately so not sure what the delay was but she came down and had the people in the next room reset the breaker. So - unplug the fridge first before using a hair dryer.

The pool and area around it was okay. We spent about 1 hour in the pool area. They also have a shower just outside the pool if you care to use it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
indyglassman,
Sorry that you had some issues with the outlets and will make sure to look into that, since that is not typical. We are always looking for ways to improve, and we appreciate your feedback. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again in North Beach Village!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropi Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropi Rock Resort

Address: 2900 Belmar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4003
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropi Rock Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For centuries, Fort Lauderdale Beach has traditionally been among America’s top tropical destinations. We’re warm year-round. We offer endless world-famous beaches and world-class venues. In this spirit, we spared no expense updating the quintessential Tropirock Hotel – evoking memories of the golden age of travel when rooms were stylish and attentive service made you feel exceptional. Tropirock’s now one of North Beach Village’s most popular boutique hotels – where seascapes, watersports and heated pools arouse family fun but at an extraordinary value. Walk just 3-minutes to sunny beaches and unforgettable dining or 10,000 family entertainment options! And when you return, you’ll find our Village Hosts with their concierge-like services attentive to your family’s needs. We’ll help everyone feel uniquely comfortable and delighted. Our motto, “Under promise and over deliver,” speaks of Tropirock’s value. After all, our attention to detail is evident in our use of custom tiled floors, fine woods and creative décor. Our spacious rooms have state-of-the-art flat screens, microwaves and coffeemakers. Wi-Fi is complimentary and there are never resort fees. Book Tropirock today and today your beach holiday begins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Tropi Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropi Rock Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Tropi Rock Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropi Rock Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.