We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TROPICAL Kitsch home away from home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropi Rock Resort

Save Saved
You added Tropi Rock Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropi Rock Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   2900 Belmar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“TROPICAL Kitsch home away from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012 via mobile

Welcoming colorful little hotel resort with everything you need. Mick very helpful and hospitable. Our room included a little fridge and a breakfast table for two which is very convenient, which also describes the location. The beach is two blocks away and there are tons of restaurants within a five mile radius. The only down side is the bathrooms could some upgrading.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    69
    36
    21
    10
See reviews for
47
83
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Clean spacious shabby room.
Doors to the room are very unpleasant, as mentioned by a previous reviewer - definitely make you think they've been broken into a few times, and that methods had to be employed to prevent a repeat.
Public areas very worn out and not clean.
Pool area and furniture very worn, no cushions for loungers.
Very bizarre - full size "shop window" into each room, only a pane of glass separating you from people on the walkways - impossible to have the curtains pulled back at most times.
"Only families with well-behaved children"......hmmmm, who would admit their children aren't well-behaved - very noisy ones on our landing!
Staff pleasant.
Overall, I'd advise people to look back a few pages at all the reviews, and all the promises by the management that measures are being taken to make improvements. We forfeited a night's rent to leave early - no surprise shown by desk staff, and no questioning as to why we made this decision, so I'm guessing it's not a rare event.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Fromoutpointofview,
Thanks for your review. We rely on guest feedback in order to improve our hotels and will look into the items you mentioned. We are working hard every day to make the area better and hope you can come back again soon to check out our progress. Thanks again, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

A couple of weeks ago we went to Ft Lauderdale for a little winter vacation and to run their half marathon. We picked the Tropi Rocks because it sounded like a novel place. It surpassed our expectations. If you want a gym or a marble lobby or the Hilton around the corner this is not that. But if you want a nice room with an equiped kitchen and a great value for the money - this is a wonderful place. Mick and Patty were great & I would say that we became "friends" with Mick by the 2nd day. Its 1 1/2 blocks off the beach. They give you beach towels and beach chairs to take to the beach. They cared and had lots of personal suggestions of unique places to eat and see. We happen to rent a scooter from a place just down the street and Mick let us keep it inside their gated tropical gardens ( small but nice) over night. It just made us feel more comfortable. We did not find anything wrong with the room we were in. It wasn't new but it was clean and comfortable. We had a good time on our trip and a lot of it had to do with the atmosphere of the Tropi Rocks.

Room Tip: Don't know
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
A0d138,
Thanks so much for staying with us. You're right, it's a great place with great rates, and Mick & Patty really do think of the guests as friends. Congratulations on your half marathon. Next time you'll be able to power up with some great food right next door at the Plaza Bistro - a beautiful outdoor cafe with delicious food and a relaxing atmosphere. We hope you can come check it out soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We would have loved to have seen the Tropi Rock in its "hay day"...sincerely.The decorating/ design is very unique and the grounds lovely. Unfortunately the room we stayed in was very tired with no hot water in the shower. We were there for six nights.There was quite a bit of mold around the shower door but other than that the room was clean. The room was a kitchenette but there was no toaster,coffee maker or fry pan.I value the reviews on tripadvisor. This property had good ratings however this experience will get me to dig a little further next time.The manager Mick was a terrific person. He was extremely helpful before our booking as well as during our stay.You could not ask for a better "host".

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
AnneHarland,
We're sorry you had some problems with the hot water. We'll make sure to get that fixed asap. We are pleased to hear that Mick took good care of you. Anyone who has ever stayed at this resort understands just how special Mick is. We hope you can come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Meadow Lake, New Jersey, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

nice owners. but has no gym. no tennis. needs lot of up dating. very good coffee

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
DominickA,
Thanks for staying at The Tropirock. We're doing a lot of improvements throughout the entire area, and we hope you can come back again soon to check them out. Thanks again, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Having stayed at a number of resort hotels in South Florida in the past few years, this is the one to which I would most gladly return.

I add my voice to the chorus of many reviewers who have praised the resort's manager Mick, who does his utmost to make each guest feel welcome. At first glance the place, elaborately decorated in a unique Mexican-inspired style, may seem rather eccentric. But at a closer look the charm of the whole setting, coupled with a courtyard filled with exotic varieties of palm trees and other plants, will become more and more apparent. As one visitor, a florist from British Columbia,told me upon arrival: compared to this place, other budget hotels look like blocks of concrete.

Don't be intimidated by dull-looking room doors and a few other old-fashioned details - this is not meant to be a Ritz-Carlton. Yes, the elevator with an iron gate may seem outdated, but when a button is pressed, it does its job without any sign of stubbornness.
Each room looks different, with plenty of artistic touch. The bedding is comfortable, and the quality Brentwood towels sparkling white. The cleaning staff is friendly, discreet and efficient.

In the mornings we always enjoyed a complimentary cup of good coffee (with just a hint of hazelnut flavour to add smoothness) brewed by the manager Mick.

The location is excellent for a beach lover, and towels can be borrowed from the office without charge.

A memorable experience after returning to freezing Toronto.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
myscreenToronto,
Just because the rates are below average doesn't mean that the service has to be! We're so pleased that you saw this for yourself during your stay at the Tropirock. You're right the staff is very friendly and does their very best to accommodate the guests. Thanks so much for staying with us. The Tropirock will always be here to warm you up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We had to go to Fort Lauderdale on business and needed to find a place to stay on short notice. We were guided to the Tropi Rock and the Tropi Rock rocks. A very sweet, funky (and I mean funky in a good way) plant engulfed hideaway in the midst of corporate hotels and motels. This is not your luxury five star hotel - but you won't find the homey, relaxed, and unique experience of the Tropi Rock at that luxury five star hotel either. Only a few blocks from the beach you feel miles away from the stress of today. Mick and Patti took wonderful care of us - sitting in the gardens and palm trees with a glass of wine you might forget you're not in the tropics. Yes, a few age wrinkles show, but the heart and generosity of this place will make you want to stay.
Meg - NYC

Room Tip: some rooms have kitchenettes - book early to get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Meg,
Just because business brings you to Ft. Lauderdale doesn't mean your whole trip has to be all business! We're so pleasead you found the Tropirock to be a relaxing, stress relieving hideaway. Call us anytime, even if it is short notice. If Mick & Patty don't have room, there are a lot of other great choices in North Beach Village. We'll find you something for sure. Thanks so much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropi Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropi Rock Resort

Address: 2900 Belmar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4003
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropi Rock Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For centuries, Fort Lauderdale Beach has traditionally been among America’s top tropical destinations. We’re warm year-round. We offer endless world-famous beaches and world-class venues. In this spirit, we spared no expense updating the quintessential Tropirock Hotel – evoking memories of the golden age of travel when rooms were stylish and attentive service made you feel exceptional. Tropirock’s now one of North Beach Village’s most popular boutique hotels – where seascapes, watersports and heated pools arouse family fun but at an extraordinary value. Walk just 3-minutes to sunny beaches and unforgettable dining or 10,000 family entertainment options! And when you return, you’ll find our Village Hosts with their concierge-like services attentive to your family’s needs. We’ll help everyone feel uniquely comfortable and delighted. Our motto, “Under promise and over deliver,” speaks of Tropirock’s value. After all, our attention to detail is evident in our use of custom tiled floors, fine woods and creative décor. Our spacious rooms have state-of-the-art flat screens, microwaves and coffeemakers. Wi-Fi is complimentary and there are never resort fees. Book Tropirock today and today your beach holiday begins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tropi Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropi Rock Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Tropi Rock Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropi Rock Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.