We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March Break Madness” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Tropic Cay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Tropic Cay Beach Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   529 North Fort Lauderdale Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Ontario Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“March Break Madness”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

When i first reviewed this hotel i like the fact it was so close to the beach. That and the person at the front desk was very nice. But that is the only good things i can say about this hotel. I almost felt that the people who owned this place doesn't want to have anyone stay here. They are so badly need of repairs that you would take off a Sunday just to help them out. The washroom was so out dated that i think in 1960 it was used for a bomb shelter. I am so sorry. I am not trying to be funny. My husband booked this place for our family and i then reviewed the comments of everyone. Everyone has the same issue. They need to put money in to the place in order for people to enjoy it. If you are a college kid not caring about it being clean and this is all you can afford. I would stay out all night until you have to go to sleep at this hole in the ground. We will never be coming back to this place EVER AGAIN! I will pay the extra next time just to have peace of mind.

Room Tip: Try Red Carpet Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    34
    48
    40
    197
See reviews for
87
98
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Two nights at the Tropic Cay Beach Resort did not leave a good feeling at all. The rooms are not clean, below any standard, any place that had contact with humidity is rotting or has mold. The staff does not seem to care, house-keeping may or may not come, 'repairs' around the pool deck are done by a ruined beach chair wrapped in yellow 'caution' tape.
It seems obvious that the owners are just milking it as long as they can and wait for a high priced offer from a developer. Too bad - with some TLC, ideas, design, and investment it could turn into such a cool boutique place.

Room Tip: go somewhere else - sorry to say so but we moved to another place even tough we had paid for more ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Frist off, all I can say this is by far the worst hotel I have every stay at. The rooms are nothing like the picture’s show. It is a rundown motel. Also, if you are a light sleeper this is not the hotel for you. The hotel has a bar in the middle that has music playing till 2:00am. When you are in your room you can hear everything the walls are paper thin. In addition, if you are looking for customer service this is not the place. Jonathan the front desk agent has the worst people skills I have ever seen. When I called in to discuss my reservation as I had to leave one day early due to my father having a heart attack he hung up on me. TWICE. This man clearly does not value the customer’s that are paying his hourly wage. All I can say is STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Book a room at the Hilton next door it is am AMAZING hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne, nj
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

on our way home from key west stood at this dump.....OMG, we had found it in one of the books you get on the hwy... and the price was good for a hotel on the beach...now i know why ....what a dump.....mind you before we checked in we had to give an additonal $100 deposit because we were paying cash.....horrible horrible place...so skeevey i wouldn't even take a shower there......the pictures are a joke...no way did we have a room anywhere near what the pix's show...the bathroom was awful....hunks of wood chipped out ....no drain in the tub..pipes exposed...and they wanted a deposit in case we caused damage....they should have paid us to stay there....the place is a rat hole...avoid at all costs....and down the road we saw such nice motels also opposite the beach....this dump was $120 for a nite....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in February while waiting for my wife as she was seeing a friend in Port Saint Lucie. When I checked in and went to my room, I immediately noticed that the door had been kicked in before as the door jam was hastily repaired with a couple of bolts and caulk. There was no furniture besides a bed, non-working small fridge and an outdated chest that the TV sat in. It looked like a room that should have not been rented out. I went back to the front desk and asked for another room. I was put into a better room with a fridge, microwave and hot plate, but the door jam was repaired like the other room. After looking through the motel, it seemed as though 70% of the door jams had been repaired. It looks like the motel used to use card entry, but reverted back to using keys. I sleep fitfully the first night. The next day as I got things out of my car and brought them to my room, I noticed a couple sitting by the pool (turned out to be the owners). I finished and texted my friend on the balcony. I was laughing quite openly as he was sending some funny things to me. I do not know if the owner thought I was laughing at her, but a few minutes later after I had gone back into my room, she came up to my window and peered in using her hands as a sun shield. Then she was gone before I could even get to the door. If she had a problem or was curious about something, she could have knocked. I found this to be very rude.

The "resort" is a run-down motel. It could be a nice place if management would renovate the place as it is right on the ocean. But for now, having rude owners and being in such disrepair, I would recommend that travelers search for nicer accommocations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

By FAR one of the worst hotels I've stayed at .. Cleaning lady's must have cleaned the room with a blind fold on .. No hot water , very rude service etc.. Spend the extra money and stay 2 hotels down at the Hilton .. It'll be worth the money .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed there in Nov 2010. We book by internet and was to get a free night, When we got to the hotel we where told we were a day late but they would try to fine us a room. We needed a place to stay that night so...after seeind 2 other very run down dirty rooms we took one. The pictures posted DO NOT look anything like any room there. I got a peak at the re modeled room and it was also a mess. We had to shut the drapes in the door and used hair bands to hold the other shut. Sheets and towels were so thin you could see thur them as well as diry and stains. The next am we asked for refund. Told none where ever given. $200 plus dollars for one night we could have and should have stayed at a chain hotel. I contacted Hotel assosation and BBB the room was passed by both. We shou
ld get together and go to Judge Judy!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropic Cay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Address: 529 North Fort Lauderdale Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropic Cay Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Tropic Cay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Cay Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Tropic Cay Beach
Tropic Cay Beach Resort Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropic Cay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.