We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch your credit card” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Tropic Cay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tropic Cay Beach Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   529 North Fort Lauderdale Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Watch your credit card”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Pre-paid for stay at this hotel post cozumel cruise. Location is great but hotel is EH...Very old rooms when given room floors still wet and damp. Maid finally brought towels 4 hours later. tub was cracked badly, 1 bed had only top sheets, gap under front door that looked as if it was broken into. Value for dollar is ok if you just want a flop. Pool area nice with bar and gameroom attached. When checking in clerk verified pre-payment and asked for CC then put hold of 57.50 without telling me. Took 5 days post checkout to lift. All in all it was an old hotel best suited for spring break groups with great beach access and low rates.

Room Tip: Don't believe the pics...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    33
    43
    35
    178
See reviews for
75
93
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Myself and a friend stayed here for a week. The location was fabulous! Could not fault it. You cross a road and your on the beach!
The rooms are very old and have not been updated. There was a rusty hole where the bath plug should have been. The maid did nothing except changed the towels for 3 of the days. The microwave did not work on out first night. But in their defence they changed it the next day. The rooms are a good size though.
Our room was very close to the pool and so on a night it could be loud as the bar is open late. This didn't affect me, but it did bother my friend.
There was only one friendly guy on reception! His name was Todd and he was a very sweet man. The others were not great! But when I left and booked a taxi the guy at reception was very nice and helpful - maybe Jonathon? But not 100% sure.
We never saw this take place, but did here that some 'dodgy' stuff was going on in some of the other rooms and police were called...
In honesty if you have children or are a honeymooning couple I wouldn't stay here. If you just want a bed to crash the night for a very cheap price this place is what you want. It's better than a hostel, not as good as a hotel .
The pool was nice though and was clean!

P.s- don't ask for a wake up call as you won't get one (good job my alarm did go off!)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Me and a friend stayed here for a week and were weary of doing so because of the reviews, however we needed somewhere cheap and central to crash.

Upon check in we were greeted by Todd who was very friendly and made us feel really welcome. When went to the room it had just been freshly cleaned and there was a wax substance on the floor which nearly ended with my friend breaking her neck. The bathtub had a huge hole in it where the plug should have been. It actually looked like a spy hole and for the whole week I was on edge about showering. The water was hot (we were on the bottom floor) but it was practically a trickle. The door to the room didn't feel particularly safe especially as when it was locked you could still see bits of lights peeking in and there was a piece of paper wedged in between the door and the fram. The curtain in the room smelt and felt really moist, as of it had never been washed. We also went 3 days at the end of our trip without a maid coming and emptying our trash or replacing towels/toilet paper.

The saving grace about the hotel was the location and the friendliness of the bar staff. We were literally on the beach and just able to pop back to our room whenever we wanted. The bar was great value for money (ask about the daily offers) and all of the bartenders were very friendly. It does get really loud on an evening though so if you're a light sleeper expect to be kept awake.

It wasn't the worst place I have ever stayed but I wouldbe hard pushed to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicCay, General Manager at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm so happy Todd and the Bar staff were friendly and helpful. You're right our location is amazing and we offer very competitive rates. We are currently in the process of reviewing plans and plan on giving our Hotel a major renovation to improve both the exterior and interior. I do hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is a run down property which migh get demolished sooner than later. The rooms are basic and the building is old and almost run down. The rooms are basic and the service is almost non existent.

However, the property is located right across the beach and is perhaps the only reason why it is popular with travellers like myself.

WIll probably do better research to find a better property in the city if I do visit Fort Lauderdale next time. This time I got fooled looking at the picture of the big multi-storey building in the picture of the hotel. Actaully the hotel is the single storey building in the foreground... Mind you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicCay, General Manager at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your review, we take every guest comment very seriously. We are currently in the process of reviewing plans and plan on giving our Hotel a major renovation to improve both the exterior and interior. Our Hotel is a smaller building in comparison to the large chained hotels in the area but we offer three stories that include 43 rooms. We offer the budget minded guest a standard rooms located across the beach and central to all major attractions. I do hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

1st Night - electricity goes out n room
Moved 2 sister hotel: Tropic Cay Beach Resort
Wake 2 water & plaster leak n bedroom
Moved again – room flooded with 3 in of water!
Moved again: FILTHY!
Lesson: you get what you pay 4!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicCay, General Manager at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your review, we take every guest comment very seriously. We are currently in the process of reviewing plans and plan on giving our Hotel a major renovation to improve both the exterior and interior. We offer the budget minded guest a standard rooms located across the beach and central to all major attractions. I do hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My wife, son and I came up for a weekend away from Miami. We were looking for something relaxing, affordable and centrally located-this place was perfect. It's not the W or Ritz Carlton which are located next door at a cost 10 times as much. But the rooms are clean, the hotel staff is friendly and knowledgeable, and we were able to jump in the pool or walk to the beach whenever we felt like it. We also loved the patio bar with the best views on the beach. We walked to a few neighboring hotels for some dinners and lunches that were good but definitely happy we saved the money and stayed here. THIS PLACE HAS THE SAME VIEWS for 1/10th the cost, it doesn't make sense to stay anywhere else. I definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Rooms 100, 200 and 300 all face the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicCay, General Manager at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you felt that although we are not as luxurious as other properties in the area with higher rates we strive to offer budget minded guests standard rooms with all the necessary Hotel accommodations and offer a great location located across the beach and central to all major attractions. Please come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baxley, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We went expecting a cheap place to crash and got a diamond in the rough. The rooms are very large, clean and inviting. The atmosphere is one of a good time and party but we had no problem sleeping. Parking is abundant and no problem. The hotel does not have an elevator.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you want valet parking or an elevator. Do stay here if you want a great valu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicCay, General Manager at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your review we do strive for 100% guest satisfaction. I am extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay here and hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropic Cay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Address: 529 North Fort Lauderdale Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropic Cay Beach Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Tropic Cay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Cay Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Tropic Cay Beach
Tropic Cay Beach Resort Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropic Cay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.