We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
The Westin Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Corporate Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33334   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #63 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Check in/out was a breeze. No delays or hassles. We had great customer service during our brief stay. The room was clean and very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel, mainly because of the excellent customer service both from the front desk employees and the valet attendant.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Dxwcarty,

I would like to say thank you for choosing The Westin Ft. Lauderdale as you lodging needs. It was a pleasure to have you and your family we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    220
    151
    89
    53
See reviews for
123
177
64
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stay frequently at Westins -- this one is really run down. I've stayed multiple times in the past month -- once had food poisoning, twice had to switch rooms b/c of strong mold smell, rooms are pretty mediocre and feel dark and dingy. My card kept failing to get me into the gym. The restaurant is really weak, although breakfast is OK. Front desk staff is nice, but overall service is just awful.

Westin management does a disservice with this hotel -- I've been considering switching from Starwood since I need to travel to the area frequently and I need something convenient -- it's just such an awful experience.

Room Tip: Top floors seem to have a mold problem. Could be my own experience, but I'd avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

I would like to extend a personal apology for your experience with us. The Westin believes in building a strong foundation so that we can give our guest an exceptional experience. Starwood has one of the best loyalty programs around we would love to keep you on our team.

If you find yourself in the area please contact me directly at the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here for my birthday weekend. Upon checking in, the front desk noticed it was my birthday, right away she upgraded my room to the lagoon view, and it came with the BIGGEST balcony.

She also hooked me up with 4 drink vouchers. On top of that, since I'm a SPG Gold member, I also got free wifi. Since we went out partied really late, we were able to have a 4 o'clock check out the next day, so we could sleep in. No hassle, no annoying knocks from the housekeeping. We had a great time, because I got everything that I wanted from Westin.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Sammy F.

It's our pleasure to know what's important to our guests so that we can make every experience memorable. We are very pleased to hear that you were able to utilize all your benefits of being an SPG-Gold member.

We wish you well and see you next year on your birthday Sammy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I stay at Starwood hotels a lot and was disappointed with this Westin. It's a convenient location for business or quick trips, but they seemed unorganized. No one greeted us when we arrived or was friendly at the front desk, the valet was rarely available, easily accessible, and the elevators were broken, to the point of unsafe. The amenities were all very nice and the housekeeping

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Lyndsay H,

It's a little dissapointing to hear that your stay was anything other than exceptional. With that said I sincerly apologize for all the inconvenience that you endured during your stay. Here at The Westin we take pride in our service and making sure each guest experience is special. I will be sure to pass on the kind words to our Housekeeping Department.

Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I arrived in Ft Lauderdale via a 5 hour road trip. After grabbing a late night bite we checked in to the hotel around midnight.
On entering the room my wife noticed the bathroom did not appear in order. We called the desk and asked for housekeeping which arrived in minutes. After a little more looking about I re-called the front desk and asked to be moved to another room.
It wasn't the bellman that showed up almost immediately, it was Jason. He was apologetic in the most professional manner, helped us with our luggage, empathized with my grumpiness( We were road weary) and upgraded us to a full ocean view! He checked on us throughout our stay and showed he sincerely cared. Jason Seldin is the consummate professional!

Room Tip: Full Ocean View was stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I stayed in this hotel almost the whole September
Staffs are friendly, breakfast is good, location is good.
The problem is
1. Sound insulation is poor
2. You need to login internet everyday!! Very annoyed.
Overall a good business hotel

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick B, General Manager at The Westin Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Bruce H,

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us for the month of September. I apologize for your couple of issues that prevented you from having an even better stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The room was very nice for relaxing and working on the computer, the TV had good channel selections (including NFL Network). I ate at the bar, which serves the same food as the restaurant, the service and drink selection was very good (no beer on draft, that was a little annoying). The beds were nice, it was a good overall experience. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick B, General Manager at The Westin Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Erickbrown,

As a General Manager, I enjoy reading reviews like the one you shared. I will be sure to let our team know that their efforts are not going unnoticed. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fort Lauderdale soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Address: 400 Corporate Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33334
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Fort Lauderdale Hotel offers a renewing experience. Our Fort Lauderdale Hotel is only a few minutes from attractions such as golf, beaches, shopping, restaurants and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Westin Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.