We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good size room, clean and great pillows and bed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
The Westin Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Corporate Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33334   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #63 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Good size room, clean and great pillows and bed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Great room size, nice pool area and breakfast setting. Good quality bed and pillows, plus the room feels clean at all time, with a very plesant citrus scent in my room. My room was clean and cold, low light and it was calling my name... I always like this Westin since is next to I95, near restaurant and away of the crazy traffic lights from east side.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMirambell, Manager at The Westin Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Alberto M,

Thank you for this excellent review. We are excited to hear that you found the hotel to beautiful and your room to fit your needs perfectly. We hope to see you back at the Westin Fort Lauderdale again soon.

Warm Regards,
Harold
Mirambell
Director of Operations
The Westin Fort Lauderdale
400 Corporate Drive, Fort Lauderdale, Florida, 33334
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    220
    151
    89
    53
See reviews for
123
177
64
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I recently had the chance To spend 9 days in this hotel and have to admit that it strikes home with excellent rooms, nice atmosphere and a more than average location, although a car is needed to get around.

I had a workout room and what a treat that was. Huge space with a treadmill and workout and Pilates equipment. A great desk to work and a nice area to relax.

Main workout room is a bit small but brand new and pool area is nice but when I was there weather was on off.

My only complaint is that staff are moderately pleasant at best...not rude or anything like that but way too not interested and really trying hard in a robotic way.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMirambell, Manager at The Westin Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Thaneco,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We just reopened Westin Workout in May after it underwent a complete renovation, including new equipment. We hope to welcome you and your wife back to the Westin soon.

Warm Regards,

Harold
Mirambell
Director of Operations
The Westin Fort Lauderdale
400 Corporate Drive, Fort Lauderdale, Florida, 33334
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at this Westin a few times - usually just for one-nighters. The location is really the only negative although its pretty convenient there isn't much around it.
It's clean, rooms are very nice and they are extra-recognizing of the Starwood status.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMirambell, Manager at The Westin Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Kenneth P,

It is wonderful to see that you had an amazing experience with us at the Westin Fort Lauderdale. We truly appreciate your compliments on our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and hopefully you can stay with us a little bit longer next time.

Warm Regards,

Harold
Mirambell
Director of Operations
The Westin Fort Lauderdale
400 Corporate Drive, Fort Lauderdale, Florida, 33334
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Friendly staff.
Amazingly comfortable bed - feather toppers, great linen etc.
Everything worked. Just a bit sad and tired really (the room, not me).
Didn't use restaurant.
Easy to get to.
Much cheaper than beach side hotels and as only passing through, was ideal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMirambell, Manager at The Westin Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear JJEnglandUK,

We are delighted to hear that our team members helped to make you feel at home during your stay and that you found the Heavenly Bed to be comfortable. We hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Regards,
Harold
Mirambell
Director of Operations
The Westin Fort Lauderdale
400 Corporate Drive, Fort Lauderdale, Florida, 33334
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This might come out as nit picking, but come on, when was the last year it was acceptable for a hotel not to have convenient electricity outlets on the desk to charge a laptop or over the bed side chest to charge a phone. Yes, they provide white power strips behind this and under that (with a giant Westin label on it so that you don't steal them, I suppose), but why should the customers crawl around on the floor to get to them? This, in addition to providing only one luggage rack in a room for two people. Meh...

Anyways, here are my other impressions: We stayed here during the memorial day weekend. It is fairly far from popular beach locations, so it was not crowded and the prices were reasonable. The room had a stuffy air that did not go away by running the AC, maybe the filter needed replacing. We managed to open the window, but the freeway noise became fairly loud. Rooms were very clean with modern and good looking furniture, but the public areas were in need of renovations. Carpets had many stains, elevator buttons were peeling off and woodwork were noticeably scratched up at some places. (I guess the wood expanded in humid Florida air and they started scratching up against each other.) Pool area gets a lot of freeway noise, but it was still very popular. Parking was free, but we had to walk back to the lobby along hotel's private road without sidewalks.

Overall, it is pretty good, but not at the Westin quality I would expect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMirambell, Manager at The Westin Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear TatilSeverUS,

Thank you for your comments and you are right, convenient outlets are important in this digital age. We will work on the items you mentioned.

Regards,
Harold
Mirambell
Director of Operations
The Westin Fort Lauderdale
400 Corporate Drive, Fort Lauderdale, Florida, 33334
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flint, michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here only one day our last day of vacation. We stayed the other 3 nights at the Sheraton Beach Hotel. The Sheraton was nice and the location was good on the beach. The Westin, however is fabulous!! It is a little way from the beach but the staff was incredible! It was my birthday and they left a wonderful gift in our room while we were out to dinner. They also gave us a huge room (Jr. suite). The bar drinks were great. The hotel is elegant. On our way back in from dinner the staff was serving (free) wine and cheese near the bar. The pool was amazing but it was raining so we did not use. Next, time we will stay here instead. Also, self parking is free.

Room Tip: Jr. suites are very roomy. Four chair sitting area, Chaise lounger, office chair and desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMirambell, Manager at The Westin Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear wheatie21,

I am always excited to hear about a guest's stay being made better by our wonderful staff. We try to make our guests special occasions, a little more special whenever we can. I am happy to hear you were able to get a fabulous room. Come back and stay with us soon.

Warm regards,
Harold
Mirambell
Director of Operations
The Westin Fort Lauderdale
400 Corporate Drive, Fort Lauderdale, Florida, 33334
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed here on business before a cruise and found the hotel staff to be less than welcoming, and in fact, the many older guests I witnessed were charged exorbitant rates for bellhop service when they were clearly physically incapable of trucking their luggage all over the hotel as needed. I had an interminable wait for a drink at the bar (a drink I never got) and I generally found the hotel only barely so-so.

I understand this hotel is a popular spot for cruise groups, but I'd avoid it if possible.

It was clean and serviceable, but DEFINITELY not worth the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMirambell, Manager at The Westin Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear TravelingProducer,

Thank you very much for staying with us. It’s good to hear the hotel was clean and serviceable. I don’t know if your tour group charged you for luggage but the hotel certainly did not. The bellmen are available to assist all of our guests, with or without a group affiliation.I sincerely apologize about the wait at the bar, we will get that fixed. We look forward to your next stay.

Be well,
Harold
Mirambell
Director of Operations
The Westin Fort Lauderdale
400 Corporate Drive, Fort Lauderdale, Florida, 33334
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Address: 400 Corporate Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33334
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Fort Lauderdale Hotel offers a renewing experience. Our Fort Lauderdale Hotel is only a few minutes from attractions such as golf, beaches, shopping, restaurants and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Westin Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.