We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run away !!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Save Saved
You added The Westin Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Corporate Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33334   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #69 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
North Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Run away !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel is just awful...
People are not smiling, room is so small you think it's for a smurf, wonderful view on the... Highway ! 12 hours to wait minimum and of course 3 calls before to get new towels because they don't give new one when they clean the room...
Don't ask a top floor room, you must ask when you arrive because they refuse to take your request, and of course they don't give you one even if you arrive at 3 PM, they say the hotel is close ! It's not a joke, they think you are stupid and will believe the hotel is full just at 3 PM !
So you must take what they give to you, best you can get is 6th floor on 15...
If you're not a Gold or Platinium WestIn member, don't expect respect, smile, help and consideration, you just a piece of s..t for them ; but it's this awful hotel who is just a big piece of s..t !
Hotel in the ghetto in the middle of nowhere, far away from downtown between the highway and a very busy road...
All is fake and superficial, they want to play high level but it's s..t level !
Ugly modern fountain in the middle of the hall, just ridiculous.
My fiancee booked a room for 2 nights, it was my birthday week-end and they ruined all, they didn't care it was for a special occasion, they did nothing to help and to try to find a better room, when we said it wasn't what we booked, the woman at the front desk ( who said she was the manager Lol It's serious ! ) said it wasn't her fault but the website where we booked the room who lied : nice attitude isn't it ?
You just feel like an idiot and a stupid number when you are here, also they make you feel you are nobody and you are not important for them as you're not a Gold or Platinium WestIn member, all for them, nothing for you !
If you want to waste your time and your money, you can go, also if you're a BDSM addict...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug H, General Manager at The Westin Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Champagnac
Thank you very much for visiting with us and posting your feedback. We are very apologetic that we failed to meet your expectations and will use your comments in our ongoing efforts to provide the best possible Westin guest experience. The comments that you have provided to us are important and we sincerely appreciate the opportunity to receive them.

Thank you again and we wish you safe travels.

Doug Hope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    193
    139
    87
    52
See reviews for
110
156
60
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Excellent service. Clean rooms. Good food. Well kept. Easily accessible (to I95) but not much around. Great place to stay when visiting granny or if you plan to do sightseeing as you can hop on and off the highway easily. Parking isn't too expensive either.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the elevators and even the rooms facing the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug H, General Manager at The Westin Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hi jig1600
Thank you very much for this great review of our Westin Fort Lauderdale. We work very hard at providing the best Westin guest experience possible and we sincerely appreciate your acknowledgement.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

all the best.
Doug Hope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel before boarding our cruise in January. We chose it because of a good group rate, its location close to main roads, and the parking facilities.
You are basically next to the canal system when staying here.
The courtyard in the back was very nice for relaxing by the pool and tanning.
The hotel starts to be quite dated, but beds were comfortable, airco good and rooms clean.
Also there were quite a wait for elevators each times coming or going.

We found the gym to be very small and poorly equipped !

Would stay again if the price is right :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug H, General Manager at The Westin Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear kratama
Thank you very much for staying with us and posting this feedback. We are very happy that you selected us as your pre-cruise hotel and trust that you had a wonderful cruise.
Thank you again and we wish you safe travels.
all the best
Doug Hope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My greeting at the front desk by a gentleman from British Guyana was incredible. I took his name and left it in the room. I was greeted with questions regarding room preference, floor etc. and he seemed to genuinely care. Was then offered a glass of wine and an apple. Super!! Room as as expected, except for an extremely loud water hammer when showering.
5 of us had dinner and were disappointed in the service and quality of the food. The food they did for our events was however spectacular, so they have the ability. Thought that ten dollars for a small pour of house wine was a bit pricy and the lack of meat and cheese on the salad brought this review down. Would definitely stay here again, but not use the restaurant facilities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug H, General Manager at The Westin Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Casaarcoiris
Thank you very much for posting this review of our Westin Fort Lauderdale. We genuinely appreciate the positive comments on your arrival experience and are glad that you felt so "welcomed". We also appreciate the feedback on our Food & Beverage services and will certainly put it to good use.
Thank you again and we wish you safe travels.

Doug Hope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed 4 nights here and the room was very nice. The area is very commercial, close to I-95 and busy. The only reason we stayed here was the Conference I was attending. The Conference was held at a hotel on the beach four years ago, which was much nicer. Overall, this is not a bad place to stay. My husband enjoyed the outdoor pool. The "jogging path" is only 1/2 mile long so we ran in the neighborhood across the street. The gym looked to be very well equipped. The meeting room in which my course was held had a very dirty floor: there was hair and crumbs on the floor. As this was a yoga conference, this was an issue. The restaurant had good food but our waiter was so inattentive that the other waiter on duty for the night served us our meals.

Room Tip: Our room on the 6th floor overlooked I-95 but there was minimal noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug H, General Manager at The Westin Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Gwenag
Thank you very much for visiting with us and for posting this feedback. We appreciate your comments and will utilize them in our efforts to provide the best possible Westin guest experience.
We enjoyed having the recent Yoga group with us and are sincerely appreciative that our hotel was selected as the host.
Thank you again for your comments.

all the best
Doug Hope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Room was ver roomy, clean and wonderful bedding! Starbucks in room and lobby. Pool area was wonderful. Nice larges fenced in pool area, great for kids to keep them in site. If ur high enough it's a nice view.

Restaurant overpriced below avg food. 18$ for breakfast buffet!!! Ouch.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug H, General Manager at The Westin Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Skelley53
Thank you very much for posting your feedback and rating our property as "excellent". We are very appreciative of your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon at the Westin Fort Lauderdale.

all the best.
Doug Hope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I travel to South Florida every two weeks for business and this was my first stay at the Westin, Ft. Lauderdale.

The Hotel is in a Business Park so it is shielded from traffic. The hotel also offered Free Parking although there are signs and gates that indicate there might be a charge for parking during events or certain times of the year.

The Hotel lobby was upscale looking and quiet. I had booked an Executive Suite which was large, clean and quiet.

My room was right next to the Presidential Suite and while it was a large room it wasn't really conducive for relaxation. I got the impression that this Hotel was used more for business than leisure. The bed and bath were located behind the living room wall but there wasn't a door separating the two rooms. In the living room area there was a hard chaise lounge and two chairs. There was a large bar top that had a sink and cooler (small refrigerator) that didn't work. There was also a large desk, business chair and charging station.

I was surprised that there wasn't a couch in this room. There was no way to sit in the living room area, and be comfortable while watching tv.

The air conditioning wasn't adjustable and I would have liked the chance to lower the temperature.

This Hotel is conveniently located right off I-95 which gives you access to both North and South Florida.

I will definitely book a stay again at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug H, General Manager at The Westin Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Mj W
Thank you very much for visiting with us and posting your feedback. We are very grateful that you selected our hotel to visit and are looking forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Just for clarification, the parking equipment is on site because we charged for self-parking in the past but stopped charging this past April. Listening to our customer feedback led us to the decision to stop this charge and we now offer complimentary self parking.
Thank you again for the feedback.

Sincerely
Doug Hope
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Address: 400 Corporate Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33334
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#69 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Fort Lauderdale 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Fort Lauderdale Hotel offers a renewing experience. Our Fort Lauderdale Hotel is only a few minutes from attractions such as golf, beaches, shopping, restaurants and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Westin Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.