We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-style Near-the-beach Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Sheraton.com
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1140 Seabreeze Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #56 of 132 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“Old-style Near-the-beach Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed at this property for 5 days in the South tower. Rooms are comfortable, however the washroom is a bit small. The best views are from the 'beach' tower. There's a decent pub on the ground floor, close to the lobby and a starbucks as well. Hotel is about a 10 min drive from the airport. Beach is walking distance from the South tower. Galleria mall is a 15 minute drive, with good options to eat and shop. Hotel property is a bit on the older side, but is sufficiently maintained. Would recommend this to all. Sheraton also has another property in Ft. Lauderdale near the airport. I had a couple of colleagues staying there who liked the hotel. Dont miss out the views from the airplane window when you land in Ft. Lauderdale :)

Room Tip: Stay in the beach tower for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear FindingNeverland: We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time with us at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel. We hope to see you again soon for your next stay on beautiful Fort Lauderdale Beach.

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    329
    444
    292
    127
    81
See reviews for
346
454
61
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tiffin, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our experience was excellent and we will be back! We requested a room close to the pool and beach when we arrived. The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. We ended up with a first floor room that was no more than fifty feet from the pool! Our room was very clean and comfortable. The beach and pools were great, but the service tops all. Each and every staff member had a smile for us. Our biggest thanks go out to the pool & beach crew, especially Devin Whitmite. What great service! We are planning a return trip with our two kids.

Room Tip: If you plan on spending most of your time at the pool or on the beach, ask for the beach tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Lisa J: Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about your stay at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel. We look forward to your next visit to beautiful Fort Lauderdale Beach!

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Yes, this hotel is on the older side. I gather it's a fairly historic hotels and you can find pictures of Marilyn Monroe and other famous people who have stayed here. But, the service makes up for the older rooms and dated decor. When I arrived, I was checked in by friendly desk staff, who upgraded my room (without my asking), gave me a 2-for-1 coupon for a cocktail (without my asking) and gave me 2 days of free wifi (without my asking). That made the stay worthwhile!

The rooms are nice, but nothing outstanding. The soundproofing is actually pretty bad, as I could hear the cars on the street outside, despite being 11 floors up! The furnishings were comfortable, as with any Sheraton. The gym was actually exceptional, with lots of machines and weights. The pools were ok, but nothing great. The hotel is actually spread over 3 buildings, with 2 pools, 2 restaurants, a Starbucks and other facilities.

Overall, although not the most modern or new of facilities, I was very happy with my 2-day stay for business!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City/Cambridge
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Easy walking distance to Los Olas Blvd and shops/restaurants on A1A. Stayed one building back from beach but beach access is very easy. While room size was great, bathroom was too small and lacked counter space, towel bars.
Parking is $20/night to self-park & $25 for valet. Skywalk from one building to garage made it extremely convenient.
Would stay here again. All hotel staff friendly and very helpful down to great recommendation for dinner -Coconuts right down A1A.
We had a vacation 'deal' so don"t know real rate of room.

Room Tip: $5 credit in hotel restaurants for each day you don't require housekeeping. Starbucks on site so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Nancy_M007: Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about your recent stay at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our private beach and hotel location. Thank you again for your comments, they are much appreciated!

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Amazing view. Great private beach! Not far from the main beach area but just far enough to enjoy peace and tranquility. I would most definitely stay here again and planned my second trip here next month already.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Rainier V: Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about your stay at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel. We look forward to your next visit to beautiful Fort Lauderdale Beach!

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a Hotel that the second building of this Hotel is located on the beach. it is an older Hotel but not in bad shape at all. it could use remodeling but for the right price whihc can be obtained you cant beat it. The staff will go out of their way to help out and the restaurant food as well as the pool bar food is above average, but get ready to spend higher than average prices. I had a problem with the room and within minutes maintenance arrived and the problem was resolved. the only draw back is if you drive Valet is $25 and regular parking is $20 which i find to be steep. Traveling on vacation why pay more, this will definetly do the job without having to get a second on your mortgage. This hotel is near great restaurants and walking distance from commercial deep see fishing boats and our boats. All the activity you need with the right weather. ENJOY......I did.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

After staying at dozens of Sheraton properties over the years I have come to find that they run a wide spectrum of quality. This hotel is definately on the low end of that spectrum. Self parking is $20 a night which is to be expected. First impressions are un-impressive. The exterior looks run down and dirty. The lobby is standard for a Sheraton. The front desk staff were very nice and helpful. The two restaurants are nice but overpriced. There are many other options nearby so I suggest you explore on foot. Once you leave the lobby, the reality of the prosperity really shows. It is very run down and dirty looking. The room was clean with a nice flat screen TV. The pool area was also run down and not impressive.

While the hotel is "on" the beach, you have to navigate a maze through the hotel to find the rear enterence out to the sand. The "beach bar" is run down and dirty. The pool deck by the beach is shared with some kind of maintenance area as well. The pool area was messy and disorganized with no apparent staff tending to the area or helping guests.

For the price: 140-190 a night, I would stay elsewhere. This is really only a Sheraton in name. I'm sure the property was nice 20 years ago, but it has definately fallen into disrepair from neglect.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Sheraton Yankee Clipper
Yankee Clipper Hotel Florida
Yankee Clipper Motel
Sheraton Yankee Clipper Fort Lauderdale
Sheraton Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Sheraton
Address: 1140 Seabreeze Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel, a landmark destination. This stylish Fort Lauderdale resort is a haven of hospitality and is located directly on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, getaroom.com, Expedia, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.