We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great location, not so great hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1140 Seabreeze Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #56 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Really great location, not so great hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is right on a sandy beach. It is at the edge of the strip, so you can walk along a paved path that runs along the beach to many bars and restaurants. (In the evening we passed some homeless people near the hotel, but they didn't ask us for money.) It is about a block walk to the water taxi (which is really cool). We stayed 2 nights, and would have liked to stay another because the location was good, but decided it was a bit to pricey.

As for the hotel, it is mostly run down. It is also very large and spread out, so you might have to walk quite a ways to get to the pool or bar area. I believe there are three large buildings.
There are some areas on the property that are really very fancy and nice, such as their infinity pool and the Wreck bar. About 20 percent of the hotel is really fancy like the picture on their website, the other 80 percent looks pertty run down like the pictures you will see submitted on this site by people who stayed there. The beds were very comforable and clean, but the rest of the room was outdated and old. Much of the property though, is quite old and run down looking. The pictures online made it look like we would have a balcony, but I didn't see any rooms with balconys. Also, there are other buildings in front of this hotel, so even with a beach view you will not have that great of a view.

Self park is $20 and Valet is $25 per day. Internet is $10 per day, per device.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear SunshineSeeker71: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel. Your suggestions are very important to us, as we are always looking for ways to improve the quality of our products. Thank you again for your feedback and for also sharing the positives about your stay and what you enjoyed most.

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    366
    479
    317
    130
    82
See reviews for
378
487
67
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
basom, new york
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We booked through Priceline in 2011 and was happy to get this hotel, being close to the cruise ship terminal and right on the beach, got a good price and was happy with our stay. So this year we again booked through Priceline and got this hotel again. We were off the ship and within 5 minutes were at the hotel by 10 a.m. Knowing check in is at 3 we were looking to store our bags and be on our way till later, only to find that we were able to check into our room. Great surprise. Upon finding our way to our room, this time in the main building, third floor, down the outside corridor, having our door open onto the walkway was quite concerning, noticeing scaffolding and ladders and a huge sign that said it was a construction site, worried us. The room was quite nice, large, overlooking the street. Being a saturday, there was no construction going on, but having a reservation for five days became a situation. While unpacking, the street noise was quite noticeable, for early morning. Upon the need to use the restroom, we were looking for the door, only to find a pocket door with a tiny latch to slide the door closed, which did not close entirely, with a sink set upon a makeshift stand. Getting a fuller picture of this, I could close my eyes and see myself in a cheap roadside motel. Nothing doing, we tried the night, through the road noise and the next morning we asked for the room we had last year, in the Marina tower. We were accommodated, but had to wait the entire day to be moved, which ment packing up our belongings, taking them down to the lobby, storing them for the day, comming back late in the evening to get our new room keys and send for our luggage to again unpack. I never did understand the Green program, I had to ask at the desk twice to the certificate. Did not get one the fourth day, Checked out on the fifth. While I was waiting at the desk for my certificate, a guest was checking in and got the whole spiel on the green program, coupons for the property, and other information, which we had not gotten. I was thinking if it was because we booked through Priceline (Hmmm). At this point we had a nice room, even though I can't understand the concept of the "dresser". This hotel claims to have undergone renovations recently, other than the bed (which are really nice), the flat screen TV, the rest of the room looks cheap. But the view lessens the cheapness. If this hotel had as nice room amenities as some of the other properties(microwave, fridge,), this place would be 6 star, but it is what it is.

Room Tip: read other reviews and make your own choice, everyone has different needs, Great beach, close to a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear cruizins4me: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel. Your suggestions are very important to us, as we are always looking for ways to improve the quality of our products. Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I needed to schedule a one night stay with very short notice and unfortunately, the W requires a two night minimum stay (total aside - that is a great hotel). I was also unable to get in at the Westin, so truth be told, the Sheraton was not high on my list - but I was in a bind and I generally have good experiences at starwoods properties.

When I checked in I was told I had been upgraded to a full ocean view room in the beach tower - so I was hopeful! Okay- literally, my view (no balcony) is of the building across the way, but if i press my forehead up to the glass and look left - yes, I can see a small piece of ocean (room 270). Does this really qualify as a full ocean view?

Also - the building is just super dated. Low, popcorn ceilings, long dark hallways, And the fixtures in the bathroom are strangely low to the ground - the sink and counter only come up to my mid-thigh. It is just weird.

I frequently travel solo for business and I have to say - I felt a little uncomfortable. Like the building and hallway are so far from the front desk and sort of feel remote and walking down the hallway I did feel a bit vulnerable.

Now - for the pros... it should be noted that each person I encountered was helpful. And it is possible that some of the furniture in the room is newer - so they may have done a bit of an "update" to the rooms. The property does have beach access. I suppose it just depends what you are looking for...

Room Tip: If you ask for a full ocean view room - make sure you confirm that it is indeed a FULL ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear keepthelighton4me: Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointment with our hotel, as this is certainly not the Sheraton experience we aim to provide our guests. We truly value your feedback have notified Hotel Management ensure action is taken on the areas you described that need improvement. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review, as we are always looking for ways to improve our product and service.

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here for three nights expecting to have a beach view at least. We got a parking lot view, as Hotels.com didn't tell us the main part is in renovation. The rooms were not cleaned properly and terribly dusty. I called to have them come back and they ever did. The historic bar is closed, the bathrooms had no exhast fans. We asked for a quiet room and were put by the elevator twice. We walked to the Marriot for breakfast in the morning next door and were so annoyed we didn't stay at that fabulous facility. However Mike the valet manager was the best employee we worked with. TOP NOTCH SERVICE FROM HIM, AT ALL TIMES!

Room Tip: Go to the Marriot next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Gail K: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel. Your suggestions are very important to us, as we are always looking for ways to improve the quality of our products. Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Service is awful. Glorified motel that thinks very highly of itself. Can't handle the volume of guests. Haven't met a friendly person on the staff yet. Slowest elevators on creation. Confusing floor plan. Just, do yourself the favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear MaiaDawn: Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointment with our hotel, as this is certainly not the Sheraton experience we aim to provide our guests. We truly value your feedback have notified Hotel Management ensure action is taken on the areas you described that need improvement. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review, as we are always looking for ways to improve our product and service.

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort-de-France, Martinique
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

PRICE HIGH AND POOR SERVICE, a total mess from check in to check out:

1) We arrived from a long flight at 2 AM and registration could not let us in because they did not received our confirmation. Even when we show the registration papers, they make us wait 45 mn with the kids sleeping on a chair.

2) We left one day before, because of the noise. (We could ear every word said by the guest next door).

3) The Wi-Fi rate was billed 9.95$ per Device and not per Day. NO FREE WI-FI IN THE LOBBY

4) Bad oil smell in elevators

5) Amount Billed at check out was higher than the amount booked, 30 mn again of argument and wasted time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Christelle L: Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback from your recent stay at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel. We apologize for the challenges and difficulties you encountered during your stay, as this is certainly not the experience we aim to provide our guests. Your comments are very much appreciated, as this will help us to improve the quality of the products we offer. We do take all reviews very seriously and have notified our Management Team, so we can work on resolving the issue you experienced. Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Ontario
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had 2 occasions to stay @ this hotel before & after our cruise. Our 1st room was ok, it overlooked the pool that is used for the Mermaid show which takes place on Friday pm. Rooms on the other side & within our view looked like they were undergoing renovations. It was fine for the short while we were there. This room was a very short walk to the beach through another Sheraton building (that one was directly on the beach) however I found the hallway of that building on the main level was filled with the smells from the kitchen. I wondered if that smell filtered through the rooms on the upper levels
On our return we had been upgraded to a ocean view, larger room in the building across the street from reception and it was very enjoyable. Again the walk was longer to get to the water but not a problem. There is street access directly to this building & an enclosed walkway to the main building. The pool is quite pleasant directly viewing the lovely beach, there is a beachside bar for food and drinks. This hotel is across the street from a fun bar called the Bahia Cabana, the water taxi. The Sun Trolley stop is in front of the hotel. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurants but the snack shops at the pool and indoors serving light breakfast was good. Would definately select this hotel again & reccomend it others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear RosieRed19: Greetings from Sunny Fort Lauderdale Beach! Thank you for posting your review about your recent stay at the oceanfront Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our beautiful location and hope that your travels will bring you back to our property again very soon!

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel

Address: 1140 Seabreeze Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#56 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel, a landmark destination. This stylish Fort Lauderdale resort is a haven of hospitality and is located directly on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Hotel Florida
Yankee Clipper Motel
Sheraton Yankee Clipper Fort Lauderdale
Sheraton Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.