We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great for 4* Sheraton” 3 of 5 stars
Review of B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1140 Seabreeze Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel) (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
New River Gorge, WV
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not great for 4* Sheraton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Bid on a 4* in Ft. Lauderdale beach section of Ft. Lauderdale and got this for $75 per night. We were given a room in the older Yankee Clipper part of the hotel and that was definitely not a 4* room - bathroom tiny, bathroom electrical outlet not working, no refrigerator, very basic room, toiletries were not refilled & had to get at front desk, and not sure what the sheets were made up but they made noise when you moved! Also encountered a problem at gift shop, food market & outside buying beach umbrella with no one having change and asking us for change - no, we are travelers, you need to provide change! Had to walk out of our building to outside, into beach building and back outside to get to the pool & then the beach. They provided 2 chairs & towels per room and umbrella rental was $15.90 per day. Also brought food & drinks to you at the beach. Wi-fi was free ONLY in the lobby; to use in the room, they charged $9.95 per day, which is ridiculous! Never been charged for wi-fi at hotel. Convenient location, walk out the door and walk on boardwalk right from the hotel. Great restaurants within a mile walk. Also recommend taking the water taxi - great commentary about the area and homes & great way to see Ft. Lauderdale and go eat/shop in other areas.

Room Tip: Beach tower is closest to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinceresfbh, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear Jo W: On behalf of the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel, please accept our sincere apology for not providing you with the experience you deserved and expected. We do take all comments seriously and have informed our housekeeping and engineering department of the issues described in your review about your guestroom. We do take pride in our service and any information that will help us to improve is appreciated and acted upon immediately. Thank you for also acknowledging what you enjoyed most about the hotel along with the areas that need improvement. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    543
    340
    144
    92
See reviews for
427
559
77
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

The Sheraton Fort Lauderdale isn’t worth the value. The check-in lobby area is very nice and sophisticated which is very misleading to what you will receive in the guest living areas. Check-in was long and the office manager provided no details of the hotel amenities or services other than where your room was located. Once we entered the guest rooms’ tower the mood drastically changed. It smelled of all the old food trays all over the floor with a combination of mildew. Our room was advertised as an ocean view however it was more of a street view with the ocean view price. There are no balcony’s therefore you can’t enjoy the Florida beach weather from the comforts of your own room. The location is a plus because our tower was on the beach. The service was very average our housekeeper didn’t speak English therefore we had a hard time communicating. The hotel is outdated and is in need of a renovation. Please stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinceresfbh, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear ALICIA S: Thank you for your comments about the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel; they are very much appreciated as this will help us to improve the quality of service and the product we provide to our customers. We understand that providing our guests with a clean and well maintained guestroom is number one priority and we sincerely regret that we failed to deliver such a room to you during your stay. Rest assured your feedback will be shared with both our housekeeping and engineering teams. Again, thank you for your comments and review about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I usually LOVE Sheraton! They have great beds, great service, and nice rooms. This was no excepttion. The service at this hotel is OUTSTANDING. Yes you have to pay for parking, but for those who are outraged by that fact have never been to NY(parking hell). Every hotel I have ever been to had paid parking. Anywho, yes the hotel is old and you have stucco on your ceiling, but they try to maintain it as much as they can. The rooms are big, clean, and comfortable. When we went down for breakfast our waiter was lovely, the breakfast was delicious and coffee all you can drink. When it was time to go down to the beautiful pool, the staff brought us towels immediatly and the best part - beer was only 5$! And it wasn't even happy hour! The perk with this hotel is that it is straight on the beach (if you have ocean view or beach tower). Most hotels in Florida are across the street. Also you have chairs and more staff on the beach in case you get thirsty or your towel gets too wet.

Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms are great as they have balconies for that nice evening cigar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We are locals in Fort Lauderdale, and stayed for one night as a "staycation" for our anniversary. I had heard that this was now a Starwood property, had undergone renovations, and was excited to see what had transpired as I have the SPG program. I was very disappointed.
In all fairness, the reno is ongoing, so who knows if it may get a bit better.
Granted this is an old property, and the ceiling height, room size, etc are not easily changed.
To start, when you walk in the "aromatherapy" is overwhelming, way too strong and cloying. This may be difficult to control with the constant influx of air from outdoors, but regardless needs to be dialed back quite a few notches. We actually avoided the lobby for this reason.
The pocket door for the bathroom in our room did not fit properly. There was garbage on our balcony. Speaking of not fitting, the bed linens were entirely too small for the bed and completely came off while we were trying to sleep, although the sheets kept waking us up so sleep was minimal. Items like this there is absolutely no excuse for, regardless of the age of the building.
As we walked out to the beach pool, we walked down a hallway with rooms which had obviously been flooded, with the smell of mildew, the squishy carpet, and the fans blowing to prove it.
The upsides? Every employee we encountered was very friendly and helpful. The outside beach pool area was quite nice when screaming children were not there. The gym was one of the most well equipped hotel gyms I've ever seen, although it was unclear if some of the equipment was broken or simply turned off. And it was right across the street from Bahia Cabana, where you can get inexpensive food with a lot of South Florida character.
Overall, we will never return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

This hotel is a joke. It is supposed to be a resort hotel, and a 4 star hotel at that. It is neither of these things. I have been to multiple resort locations, but I will never stay at this hotel again, or stay at a Sheraton. I booked this trip last minute, as I had to go to Fort Lauderdale for medical school entrance interviews. When I arrived at the hotel, I first learned that I, as a guest, had to pay $20 per day to park my car in their garage, but people using the beach only had to pay $10 per day. So, in effect, they take advantage of their guests. Never has a 4 or 5 star resort hotel charged me to park at the hotel when I was a guest.

Then, once I checked into my first room, they stuck me in an awkward wing that was outside, like a Motel 6 or worse. The door was about 2 inches away from the frame, so you could see outside. The bathroom was tiny and dirty, and the room was extremely humid. I requested to be moved and was moved to the beach tower, and by tower I mean 4 floors.

This room was better, but completely outdated and run down. The bed was clean. After getting into my second room, I walked down to the beach. Literally, you walk down there and get your towels from a guy at a stand. He then asks you if you want an umbrella, and then explains that the chairs are complimentary, but an umbrella is $15. Now, the umbrellas are already up next to the chairs, so if you don't want to pay $15 extra bucks to use the resort facilities you have already paid for, they walk out and take your umbrella down. Every resort that I have ever been to does not charge you to use a chair and umbrella.

Next, when I was sitting on the beach, I ordered a frozen margarita. It was $7, which is not a huge problem. But then, happy hour started and half price drinks was the promotion. So I ordered a couple, and then got the bill. Now, half of 7 is $3.50. But I was actually charged $4.50 for the "half price drinks."

The Hotel is outdated. It is not a resort. The pool is tiny. The facilities are tiny. It is overpriced, and they nickle and dime you after you have paid to stay there. And, they hide all their fees and try to trick you. So be aware, if you chose this hotel, especially for a vacation, double the room price at least, plus realize you are staying at an outdated hotel that is nowhere near a 4 star resort.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinceresfbh, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear Jake G: Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us about your recent hotel experience at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel. We appreciate your thoughts and opinions on our parking and beach rental prices. Although we must ensure our prices are competitive amongst other hotels on Fort Lauderdale Beach, your feedback is important to us and always taken into consideration. Again, we apologize that we were unable to provide the Sheraton experience that you had hoped and should have received. Rest assured, your review has been forwarded to our management team to ensure the areas you addressed are reviewed and action is taken to meet the expectations of future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

This hotel was quite diss pinging and not up to the usual Sheraton standard. The room was old and tired and while the view was OK builders scaffolding was an obstruction. The common areas were also poor due in part to the builders mess. The hotel is right on the beach but a mile from the restaurant strip we were going to book another night but decided one was quite enough. Maybe when the repairs are completed it will be a better place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinceresfbh, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear OskarandSunny: Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your Sheraton experience, even after the recent renovations. We apologize for the disruption that the construction may have caused you; however we are making updates to the exterior balconies to ensure safety amongst other guests and our associates. Thank you again for sharing your comments, and we do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed there with my wife and a 3-year old son for a few days, used SPG points to book. At first we were given a room right near the pool, which is of course not ideal for a small kid. Requested a different room, were moved to South Tower, which was an upgrade, as far as I understand. The hotel seats right at the beach, the chairs and towels are free, umbrellas cost $15.90 a day. Self-parking was ~$20 a day; you can get to the hotel from the parking via closed walkway. The hotel looks dated, although recent renovation is evident. Will probably stay there again if we have any SPG award points left; otherwise, may explore further.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinceresfbh, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Dear Kozm: Thank you for sharing your review with us and the rest of our Trip Advisor Community. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, especially with the upgraded view in the South Tower. Most of our guestrooms offer spectacular views of the ocean, city of downtown Fort Lauderdale, or the Intracoastal Waterway. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale

Address: 1140 Seabreeze Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the ultimate oceanfront experience in South Florida, look no further than B Ocean Resort in Fort Lauderdale. Located directly on the pristine white sand beach, B Ocean Resort is where you'll want to B for the ultimate beach vacation. With 486 bright and airy guest rooms and suites, B Ocean Resort features the most desirable amenities, including FreeB™ WiFi, 2 outdoor pools, a private beach, the B Active Fitness Center, and delectable dining at Dos Caminos, the famed Wreck Bar and Beach Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Hotel Florida
Yankee Clipper Motel
Sheraton Yankee Clipper Fort Lauderdale
Sheraton Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.