We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bahia Mar pre cruise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   801 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Central Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Hot Rates from $89
Ranked #56 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bahia Mar pre cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was an easy to stay at hotel onn the beach in Fort Lauderdale. We enjoyed the pool and walkway to the beach. The rooms could have been cleaner ( last guest's water bottle stil on floor) but the front desk staff were very kind.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,054 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    627
    741
    348
    199
    139
See reviews for
523
703
112
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartville, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Positive: Helpful staff, esp. Ulises Estevez, who provided a great attitude in a stressful situation for us. "Thank you!" Beautiful views and easy access for transportation and recreational activities.The friendly conscierge offered accurate information and willingness to assist in reservations. Lovely gift shop. Nice breakfast. Very nice pool and exercise room.
Negative: The room was clean; however, it had no Bible. The elevators were quite noisey, but they had up-to-date quality checked paper work insight.
We felt very safe and comfortable during our too short stay.

Room Tip: "Higher south side rooms offer a gorgeous view."
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

1. The hotel seemed dated and in need of major renovations. Honestly my grandparents used to have the fixtures in the bathroom. They were difficult to open.

2. The bathroom water was a light yellow, such that we thought that the toilet was dirty when we first arrived. The toilet also made an incredibly loud flushing noise like a public restroom.

3. The marina building was very far from the parking lot. I think the parking was very much overpriced and the lot seemed lonely and insecure.

4. The hotel property was in need of better maintenance and remodeling. When I looked at the hotel online, it was ALOT nicer in the photos. They misled me to think the hotel was much more upscale.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahiamar, General Manager at Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Nashirm,

We appreciate your honest feedback about your stay and regret your disappointment. New perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. We're taking all your suggestions into review and working with our housekeeping and maintenance departments on service improvements. I can assure you we're working to resolve the discolored water and apologize for the concern. The health and safety of our guests will always be a top priority for us and we will work to ensure that you and all other guests feel comfortable and carefree while staying with us. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we welcome any additional comments that may help us become your number one hotel choice in Ft. Lauderdale.

Warm regards,

Marcos Borras
General Manager
marcos.borras@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Positives: On the beachfront; Free wi-fi; clean, comfortable rooms; restaurant and good deli on the premises; Sun Trolley stops in front of the hotel; free movies on tv; friendly, helpful staff; microwave, fridge and iron in room.
Negatives: Unpleasant smell in hallway and passages; walls a bit thin so could be noise from rooms next door

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Springs, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I travel extensively for work and primarily stay in Hilton properties. Typically, the DoubleTree is modern and comfortable. Not on the high end of hotels, but suitable for when you are in the room minimally. I was very disappointed in the room quality of this property.

The good:
1) great location just a couple of blocks from the main beach/bar area
2) ample parking
3) postings in several places listing daily activities (paid of course)

The bad:
1) 2 elevators for a large building and they are SLOW
2) the room was extremely minimalist (and not in a good way). think Miami Vice on a shoestring budget. -- plastic furniture, blackout shades with no drapes, no artwork, etc
3) Tiny beds (we upgraded from a King room to 2 beds for the ocean view) not even sure if it would qualify as a Double. Also, the mattresses were lumpy and not very comfortable.
4) Ocean View was limited due to a tiny window in the far corner behind the plastic table/chairs and the drapery pulled into the room instead of into the corner
5) bathroom was very outdated

Room Tip: stay on a lower floor so that you don't have to wait on the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahiamar, General Manager at Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear ShawnH,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us We are very sorry you were disappointed with our guestroom decor and that your room view wasn't all that you expected. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We will be sure to inspect our mattresses to ensure they're providing guests will quality comfort and our maintenance team is working with our vendors to inspect and repair the slow elevators and apologize for the inconvenience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.

Kind regards,

Marcos Borras
General Manager
marcos.borras@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I have celebrated our September wedding anniversary at the Bahia Mar for the past three years. As west coast Naples residents it's an easy commute and a very relaxing weekend away. We love the laid back atmosphere of the hotel and the convenient location to the beach and restaurants. In October I will be back to celebrate the "Big 50" with my best friend for a girly weekend away. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and look forward to my next stay.

PD Naples, Florida

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahiamar, General Manager at Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear P D,

Thank you staying with us year after year!

At Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach, a DoubleTree by Hilton we are looking forward to having fun during your 50's celebration!

Kind regards,

Marcos Borras
General Manager
marcos.borras@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed here over a long weekend in January, 2013. They seem to cater primarily to the cruise crowd with proximity to the Ft. Lauderdale cruise terminal. Also within walking distance of the beach and restaurants. Stayed in the main tower. It was noisy with doors slamming well into the early morning. Upon check-in, the bathroom toilet clearly hadn't been cleaned as evidence by the seat. I would have called to complain but needed to use the toilet so wound up cleaning it myself. Not a good first impression. In general, the bathroom was in need of a refresh. The tub needed to be refinished or replaced. The shower and toilet area is very cramped. The breakfast buffet was average, but busy with those eating before the cruise.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 801 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#42 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#56 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning surroundings and 44 breathtaking acres along the Intracoastal Waterway at the Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel- a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel. Located near the International Swimming Hall of Fame, the Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel is a water taxi ride away from the shops, restaurants and nightlife of Las Olas Boulevard. Stay active with water sports, indulge the option to sail away on a cruise or simply relax on the white sandy beach. Bahia Mar is only a short drive from the Fort Lauderdale International Airport and Port Everglades Cruise Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Mar Beach Hotel
Bahia Mar Beach Resort
Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Bahia Mar Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.