We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 STAR BEACHFRONT LAUDERDALE HOTEL” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   801 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Central Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $169
Ranked #62 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“3 STAR BEACHFRONT LAUDERDALE HOTEL”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Having not been to Luderdale for many years we chose to spend New Year there on a more budget conscious holiday.
The Hotel we were told had been upgraded by Hilton and to be fair it did look like a "tired hotel " had been given a face lift.
The rooms are of a good size , large double bed and in our case a great ocean view. During our stay i had the impression the Hotel was run on a budget , too few staff , particularly maids etc. The room was very poorly cleaned ( if at all ) some days just beds made and a quick tidy. We were not happy with the cleanliness of the rooms.
Generally the Hotel staff were very pleasant particularly breakfast and bar staff.
The location of the Hotel is ok for Marina and beach , however this end of Lauderdale on the beach is a little old and scruffy.

For a budget type trip it was fine but not a luxury oceanfront Hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same only the views differ
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahiamar, General Manager at Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear 750Davep,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for the New Year. I would hate for any guest to think we do anything half-way. I'm working with our teams including housekeeping to ensure our rooms are being serviced according to our strict protocols and all other areas of service are met. Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention so we can be more vigilant in our daily operations. We hope that you will consider staying with us again. We'd love to get your impression of how we're doing.

Warm regards,

Marcos Borras
marcos.borras@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    825
    398
    216
    151
See reviews for
581
780
126
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, MI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Nice place! Got there early and they took good care of us letting us check in early and go out and explore Ft. Lauderdale! Friendly Staff. Clean. I hope we can come back and spend more time. Bridge over the busy road was very convienent and made crossing so much easier. Very close to cruise piers and a short walk to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantville, KS
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We chose the Bahia Mar for its beachfront location for an overnight stay prior to a cruise. We had stayed here several years before, in the marina building, and were not really impressed with the property, but still liked the location. This time we booked a partial ocean view room in the tower building, and the view was excellent! The property is older, and is showing its age a bit, but was clean and in good repair. We could see both the beach/ocean and also the cruise port from our 16th story room. The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is within walking distance of stores, restaurants, the intercoastal water taxi, and of course, Ft. Lauderdale beach! We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: The partial ocean view room, particularly on the higher floors, was quiet and comfortable with an ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batlimore, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed at the Bahia Mar in October 2012 for 4 days. The hotel is situated with a marina surrounding the entire property with no adjacent buildings. There is a walkway over the road in front of the hotel that goes directly to the beach. The hotel pool is small, but a nice place to lay around if that is what you like to do. There is a small store on the property that sells beer and wine if you need a room supply. Our room was what was expected, nothing too fancy but nice. This is very good hotel for a beach vacation away from the noise. The hotel seemed family friendly and has a nice morning breakfast buffet. Clean, safe, convenient, and walkable to shops and restaurants. Service was responsive to requests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HUNTLEY
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel has been on the beachfront for many years and obviously doing something right. We saw price online but was even lower at front desk, given room across from hotel but still oceanview, clean and roomy. Did I forget to mention the warm choc chip cookies at checkin? Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahiamar, General Manager at Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Susan F,

We are glad you had a very pleasant stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience with others through Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back; we will keep a few extra cookies for you!

Warm regards,

Marcos Borras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethesda, md
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel's location is great- about 5 minutes from the airport, across the street (via a walkway) from the beach and walking distance to shopping, restaurants, marina and the water taxi stop. My room in the low rise building was clean, but sparse. That was ok because I was there for work meetings and rarely had an opportunity to spend time in my room. Apparently rooms in the main building (tower) were nicer all around.
I would not recommend this hotel for business meetings. Service was lackluster until we complained and then they stepped it up. The concierge basically can only answer questions and is not allowed to leave her desk for tasks that concierges in other hotels have easily done for our group (dropping dry cleaning off, picking up tickets, etc)- for whatever reason these were deemed "not within her job description", and at other Hilton properties they are easily accommodated. The "business center" is limited to a few computers in the lobby and doesn't really provide a quiet space to conduct business- so bring your laptop and plan on working in your room.
Also, the hotel does not have room service. There is a restaurant in the main building and a dinner in the low rise building, but neither one offers late night dining, and the bar closes at 10pm.
If I were simply looking for a room to get to the beach and got a good rate, I might stay again, but cost would be the driving factor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahiamar, General Manager at Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Tikidream,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your business travels. I'm sorry that some of our staff seemed less accommodating. We never want that to be the case. I'm reviewing your experience with our concierge to see what efforts we can make to improve protocols and offerings more suited to the business traveler. We're also looking into your other suggestions regarding room service and business center conveniences. As we constantly look for ways to enhance the guest experience we truly appreciate your feedback and hope you come back and let us know how we're doing.

Warm regards,

Marcos Borras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Not luxurious. Not up to Hilton standards. Clean and well located . Room was not ready at checkin . Staff at front desk referred us to a pleasant lunch restaurant a five minute walk away ( not the hotel restaurant), and the restaurant , Onions, was pleasant with great view of waterway and live feeding of Tarpons at dockside . Good fresh food and great service there.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahiamar, General Manager at Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear NJcruiserMom,

We're glad you chose to stay with us while visiting the area. I'm sorry you were disappointed with your room view and the delays at check-in. I'm reviewing current procedures with our staff so this doesn't continue. I'm glad you enjoyed the local restaurant and we'll keep that in mind for future guest inquiries. We hope you consider giving us another chance to see how we've progressed.

Warm regards,

Marcos Borras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 801 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning surroundings and 44 breathtaking acres along the Intracoastal Waterway at the Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel- a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel. Located near the International Swimming Hall of Fame, the Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel is a water taxi ride away from the shops, restaurants and nightlife of Las Olas Boulevard. Stay active with water sports, indulge the option to sail away on a cruise or simply relax on the white sandy beach. Bahia Mar is only a short drive from the Fort Lauderdale International Airport and Port Everglades Cruise Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Mar Beach Hotel
Bahia Mar Beach Resort
Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Bahia Mar Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.