We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to stay here again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3030 Holiday Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #19 of 136 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Would love to stay here again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We've stayed at this property once before (two years ago) and we really love the resort. You should know going in that this is a resort, hence everything is kind of expensive. We stayed the week immediately after Easter (for six nights) and half of the time the resort was CRAZY full and the other half of the week was moderately busy.

PROS: (1) Beautiful, can't be beat location right on the ocean. All the other resorts in town are across the street from the ocean...not far at all...but if you want RIGHT on the ocean...this is the place.
(2) The staff is simply superb! Everyone is happy and helpful. They really go out of their way to help you. One morning, Frankie was in the lobby and she was going around asking guests who were in the lobby if they needed anything. I had a question about when the renovation for the guest laundry would be completed and she took our info down and called us as soon as the renovation had been completed. I think her whole job is just to make sure that every little thing is just right for their guests. The staff is friendly with the guests and with one another. I don't know what the management is doing to find such great staff and what they're doing to retain their staff...but they should bottle it and sell it!
(3) Beautiful pool. This is really a great pool for people with older kids who can (and like to) swim in deeper water. There is no gradual entry to the pool which may not be great for folks with toddlers.
(4) Lots of activities at the resort. Guests have the opportunity to play basketball and ping pong, work out in the fitness center, go parasailing, jet-skiing, boogie boarding, etc.

CONS: (1) During the busy part of our stay, the garbage cans around the pool and beach were full to over-flowing with garbage...really no excuse for that to happen when management knows that the resort is full.
(2) Self-parking was full to capacity (actually beyond capacity) most of the time. Whenever we left the resort we knew that we would spend 15-20 minutes upon our return driving around and around the underground lot trying to find a parking space. Some of the spaces were being utilized by resort vehicles which was annoying when guests can't find a spot to park.

If you've looked around Trip Advisor much, you know that it's really unusual to find a resort that is consistently rated as high as this one. They really are doing things right at this Marriott. In a nutshell: The location is fantastic and the staff is superb. Stay here and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,111
    629
    216
    94
    55
See reviews for
615
617
50
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here years ago and had a great time esp at the Spa. This time not so much. The rooms are okay nothing special. The balconies are weird - half fencing and half concrete wall. Ask for a room in the 01-37 range - that is truly Ocean FRONT whereas the others are set back from the beach. Try for a high floor - don't take anything below the 5th floor. The elevators are a NIGHTMARE - they are so slow and often you have to ride up because they are jammed ont he way down. (Easter week). In addition, one elevator was constantly out of service. Avoid Wi Fi charges if you are a Marriott Rewards Member - simple to do. The whole pool area being reserved is obnoxious but so many places are these days in "high" season. The beach is a great alternative and this Marriott is one of the few in Ft Lauderdale ON the beach! I loathe Starbucks so I just chuckled at the 30 deep line in the morning. Service at all the restaurants is top notch. great meal at 3060 - phenomenal service there too.

Room Tip: Nothing below the 5th floor. really try for the higher floors that are directly on the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I met my BF at this resort while he had business there for a 3 night visit. The hotel is worthy of a Marriot Resorts reputation. The grounds boasted a tropical setting especially poolside and of course it was right on the beach a major plus! The rooms were ok., nothing spectacular and although we did have an ocean front room, the room was tiny and our balcony had a solid wall blocking the awesome view. Other rooms had a railing that you can see through which would encourage you to want to sit on it. I'll also note, our room wasn't ready that Sunday afternoon (late Feb.) after my 4 pm arrival. This made me have to go down to restaurant adjacent to the pool and wait, which was ok since I was starved and on CA time. But, if you are a Verizon customer, beware, there is ZERO cell phone coverage at this hotel unless you are at the pool or beach or front driveway. Nothing inside the rooms, lobby or restaurants. So, when the hotel tried to call me to say the room was ready, I never got the message.

Lunch was pretty good, but had I known about the happy hour prices, I would have sat in the bar and paid a third for the same amount of food and drinks I consumed. That said, happy hour the next two days at the pool side bar was excellent.

It was also very close to the ports for cruising, and was fun to watch the cruise ships depart. The beach is very long and makes for a nice walk as well.

We also used the gym each morning and it had nice views of the beach and pool from inside. The gym is also fairly large for a hotel gym with plenty of treadmills, ellipticals and stair climbing machines as well as free weights and weight machines. There is also a classroom for group exercise.

We mostly ate our meals offsite, Texas de Brasil and Sea Watch for dinners. I'll review those too.

Even though I sound a bit disgruntled, I really enjoyed the stay at this hotel. It was just the first few hours there, tired from travel and wanting to get settled that made me grumpy.

I would totally stay here again. The beach was great (they have a drink cart that comes to your chair and will blend a drink, in my case a pina colada, right there on the spot. The pool was also nice with the tropical feeling w/ palm trees and a waterfall nearby. And as other reviewers have mentioned, they serve chocolate cookies in abundance and lemonade every afternoon. Very yummy!

Room Tip: Make sure your ocean front room has railings instead of a solid wall to you can enjoy the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Ft. Lauderdale area in general: mostly very dated structures and decor, but with an Old Florida ambience. Some areas appear a little run-down, but others are very nice (Las Olas Blvd).

Harbor Beach Marriott Hotel: While not quite as dated some hotels we saw, still not quite current in design or feel. Rooms were nice and the hotel overall very clean. We had a view of pool and ocean after paying a $40 per night upgrade...smallish bathroom, but a decent room and no complaints.

Three restaurants on hotel grounds. Riva, which is mostly breakfast/casual dining...decent buffet, but very pricey at $27 per person, so wake up hungry. As an alternative, just patronize the Starbuck’s off the lobby for a lighter breakfast and eat a better, less expensive lunch somewhere else. Sea Level is a poolside bar/restaurant with decent food; again overpriced, but convenient from your sun chair. Drinks are over $16 with gratuity, so see my tips at the end of this review. 3030 is the more upscale restaurant. We ate there late one night and the food was decent and there was some kind of half-price deal on bottles of wine (it was Monday night). Overall, eating on site is ok, but you can find better food and pay a lot less many other places in the area.

The pool area was nice, lounge chairs are reasonably easy to get, but would recommend going down by 8-9am or even earlier on busy days to reserve the primo spots, depending on what type poolside experience you are looking for. If you have (or really like to be among) kids, there are plenty of frolicking youngsters on the east end (shallowest) and very few non-adults on the west end (deepest). My only real criticism is that the only place you can hear any music is on the kid’s end...and that is overwhelmed by the kids’ playful noises. The pool is scenic, with waterfalls, palms and fairly expansive grounds.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

We like to bar-hop and try different places that reflect the local culture. If your taste runs to the upscale, Las Olas Boulevard is your best bet, with numerous restaurants, bars and shops. We ate at Chima, a Brazillian place on Las Olas, one night and, although pricey, the food and service are awesome (better be hungry for this place). For a burger, try the QuarterDeck, near the ocean end of Las Olas. Lots of other places that looked good.

If you are more a fan of the local dives and Jimmy Buffet-type spots, take the Water Taxi and get off to eat at Le Tub (not even close to fancy, but good and you can sit right on the Intracoastal Waterway). Joe’s Tiki Bar is just north of Le Tub and you can catch some music on the water there and more of a party atmosphere.

Nearer the hotel and close to Water Taxi stop #7 is Bahia Cabana. On the Intracoastal, about a 10 minute walk from hotel, great bar food and drinks and about half the price of the hotel fare.

Note: the Water Taxi itself is a worthwhile experience to see some of the waterfront mansions, yachts, and hear who owns what (it costs Steven Spielberg over $300K to fill up the gas tank on his huge $200 million boat). The water taxis are not always on schedule exactly, the routes/stops are a little obtuse to figure out as a first-timer, but the staff is very helpful and accommodating. And you can get to a lot of good spots, get on and off all you want for your $20 daily fee (hotel concierge will give you a $1 discount card).

Hints:

If you like to drink poolside, go to the gift shop next to Starbuck’s off the main lobby and buy a bunch of mini-bottles (50ml) for $2.60 apiece, grab a mixer or get the free lemonade (2:30 every day) and soft drinks (serve yourself poolside fountain). That approach will cost you about 15% of what you’ll pay at the bar. But, if you want fancy, expensive drinks, the bar makes good ones.

If you don’t have kids, send your mate down at 8am to reserve a couple chairs on the west end of the pool. Depending on your desire for sun, pay attention to the angle it will traverse over the day (east to west, for those non-physicists out there) and pick your chairs accordingly.

Be sure to hit places like Le Tub and Bahia Cabana (and others), be friendly, and the locals will be very friendly and conversational.

One last comment: We made the unforced error of picking Spirit Airlines as part of a hotel/flight package. Yikes. Without listing all of my thoughts about Spirit after an awful experience, I can tell you any airline who charges you $50 per carryon EACH WAY (and for some carryons, $100 each way) must be run by an evil genius. We specifically decided to only bring a carryon apiece and check no bags to avoid both cost and hassle. Surprise! Good luck and have fun!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Which may also be minus- not for us- this Hotel is away from crowds but walk mile north & u r in middle of it! A short few hundred yards to the Bahia Mar Water Taxi stop. Grounds are fabulous - count on a convention or 2 going on, always kids @ pool, but beach is huge & entire property is well serviced- Thumbs Up for Marriott Harbor Beach!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
467 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I came here for a business conference. The service at the evening dinner reception was excellent and the food was quite tasty, The breakfast buffet set up for our group was a great smorgasbord, with offerings for every appetite. The meeting room was well arranged, with comfortable seating and good views of the presenters and screens. THe fitness center is very well equipped with trainers available for a reasonable fee. Check in was a bit slow, though the front desk staff are quite pleasant and accommodating. The common areas are well appointed. The one disappointment was the room. The view of the ocean was nice; but the room itself was typical banal Marriott. Soundproofing is non-existent. The fixtures in the bathroom are woefully outdated. Wireless internet, which was comped by my group rate, was good, so I didn't need to hang out in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We spent a long Easter weekend here. It was our first visit to Fort Lauderdale. Our room was not ready until 6 (check in is @ 4). The room was small, the baseboards were dusty in places, otherwise the room was tidy. I had read in other reviews that they nickel and dime you at this resort and they do. This was the first time I have ever paid to use wi-fi. They charge for water and daily newspapers. The rooms have mini bars, which we used (very pricey). I'd rather have a small frig in the room. While we were able to get beach chairs, the pool was a nightmare. Every chair was claimed by a towel,(there were not enough people in the pool to account for the towels on the chair). They need to have a better system. We were told you have to arrive poolside early to get a chair. There are signs you can't leave your chair empty for more than an hour, but it's obviously not enforced. Certain members of the staff made our stay wonderful. Elvin from security went out of his way to help us. John from the spa was very rude to us, something we won't forget. The meals we had at the resort were awesome. We had 2 servers from the bar side of the restaurant that were wonderful. I didn't get their names, but they went way beyond to make our experience superb. I do like that this resort is on the beach, one of the few in Fort Lauderdale that is. I wish the rooms were bigger. There's no room for a room service table (we ordered breakfast every morning), and since we had 2 double beds, we only had 1 desk chair to sit on. Will we stay again? Not sure, I'd like more room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Laude...
#40 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,126 reviews
Central Beach
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#61 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 2,056 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#14 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#16 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 2,908 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#15 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,469 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale
#39 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 3030 Holiday Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 637
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, HRS, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Harbor Beach Marriott Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Marriott Harbor Beach
Marriott Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Marriott
Marriott Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Marriott Ft Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.