We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina to your Saves list
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1881 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel & Yacht Club)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Rates From $169
Ranked #70 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Indianapolis, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This Hilton was a definitely not up to Hilton standards. The lobby was crowded with hoards of people heading to/from a cruise. Our room was not servied until after 5 PM. The mini fridge was strangely located next to the bed and the Jr. Suite lacked a microwave. We frequently stay at Hiltons and Hilton Garden Inns and this location definaitely isn't up to Hilton standards.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Donald J. F,
Thank you for sharing your candid feedback. As the closest hotel to Port Everglades, we are a first choice for pre- and post-cruise guests; some week end days there are eight ships leaving Port Everglades. We work very hard to facilitate this in/out challenge. Housekeeping services are provided until 5 pm daily, which means that some rooms are not cleaned until late afternoon. Guests are welcome to request service at a desired time. A microwave is available upon request. We hope you will give us another try to earn your loyalty.
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    774
    524
    299
    227
See reviews for
503
903
152
555
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Very nice marina bar and pool area. Villa side rooms were tired and in need of a deep clean, very dirty and stained carpets in the hallways. The view from my room would have been nice, aprt from the 250ft yacht looking the view. Breakfast buffet was average.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear HJFHJS,
We’re pleased you enjoyed our G Bar, poolside, and our fabulous pool area. We are just finishing installing new corridor carpet in our West Villa, along with deep cleaning and preventive maintenance in all guest rooms; next week we start the same projects in our East Villa building. We are a marina hotel and our berths on the Intracoastal Waterway are popular with mega yachts this time of year, with the deeper water; the boat owners and crews are also our guests. When occupancy allows, we offer to move guests who don’t enjoy looking at the yachts. Let us know if there is anything specific you would like to have seen on the breakfast buffet; it is a fairly new undertaking for us and we keep making improvements. New additions are an omelet station, cook-to-order waffles, a rotating hot dish of the day, plus bottomless mimosas and Bloody Marys.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We booked into this hotel for a post cruise stay. We had a bit of a problem checking in as i was abruptly advised that my credit card was invalid. I asked the receptionist to recheck and she told me she already had keyed it in and that was it. This was crazy because an hour later I used it at another location and the card worked fine. The incident had me rattled until I knew it was ok.. Fortunately I travel with 2 credit cards from different banks. Otherwise I dont know what I would have done..We arrived about 11.00 am and we checked into our room immediately.
We requested a canal view room and the room was quite spacious and clean, however the hotel hallways are showing signs of age. We opened the patio doors and there was a 300ft yacht blocking the view! We went down to the pool area and if was lovely around there. Very peaceful and relaxing. There is a nice pool bar which serves food as well. Prices were a little high which is normal for hotel restaurants.
For dinner, we walked north and found many different restaurants to choose from.
This was a very convenient location as it is very close to the cruise port.
They provide a shuttle service every 30 mins to Ft. Lauderdale Beach which was nice as well. We did use it one day and it was very reliable in timing.
Overall we had a nice stay.
Overall, we had a lovely stay and wished we

Room Tip: I prefer to stay on a ground floor room if possible and avoid elevators and found our ground floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear gayle054,
We’re pleased to hear that we could give you an early check in, and apologize for the challenge with your credit card. We are a marina hotel and our berths on the Intracoastal Waterway are popular with mega yachts this time of year, with the deeper water; the boat owners and crews are also our guests. Our pool area and G Bar poolside are among the most popular in Fort Lauderdale. There are around 20 restaurants along 17th Street within a 5 to 15 minute walk, and many more you can get to by Water Taxi, which stops right here. We do provide a complimentary shuttle to and from the beach, although it is every two hours. Please come back soon!
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The Hotel is typically Hilton and is a good solid hotel. The location is nice, being right on the waterway and close to the water taxi. The pool are is really good and moored up by the pool were three seventy metre superyachts which is kinda depressing and cool at the same time.

Breakfast was a little underwhelming and a big buffet of tepid food. The staff were excellent throughout. Room was a little dated and certainly the bathroom could do with some work.

Room Tip: Get a waterview
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear jake b,
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for telling TripAdvisor readers about it. The Water Taxi is a great way to see Fort Lauderdale, the Venice of America, best seen from the water – and it stops right here. Thanks for letting us know that breakfast needs to be hotter. We appreciate your acknowledging our excellent team. We hope you will come back soon!
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We checked into the HILTON MARINA at 11:30 at night and for reasons still in the mystery column it took 15 minutes to check in even though I was standing in front of the clerk with my reservation confirmation number in my hand. He explained the reason he couldn't find it is because my name wasn't the same as the name on the confirmation page. Yeah, you are right sir but if you had looked at the paperwork that I offered you would have seen that the name on the paperwork was my travel agent and the name in the computer was mine plus you never entered the CONFIRMATION NUMBER in the system.
Finally got into our water front view room at midnight, flopped into bed and the next morning found our waterfront view room was a view of the parking lot, a major roadway, a bridge, and then if you really looked, WATER. That was all they had left, they claimed and that was $255.00 a night. The other side of the room wasn't much better, elevator lobby and ice machine that was working overtime because a few rooms away were being used for purposes OTHER than sleeping.
We were there exactly 12 hours and it was the worst experience we have ever had in a major chain hotel and nobody cared. Goodbye Hilton, I'll take my chances at the Motel 6, at least they'll leave the light on for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear OLDFirefighter,
We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the misunderstanding at check-in regarding your reservation information. We have shared your concerns with our front office and also apologize that we could not honor your room view request. We do our best to ensure guests get the room type desired with all of the comfortable amenities we strive to offer. We hope we'll have another opportunity to serve you for a much better stay.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

There are only two tower elevators at either end. One did not work at all and the other made distressingly strange sounds and worked erratically. UNSAFE! The breakfast was not free and in a tiny area. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Lizisnice,
We're sorry to hear about the unfortunate experience you had. We take all guest feedback very seriously, as comfort and safety are our top concern. The elevators in our West Villa are being modernized and will provide a fast, safe ride.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

An excellent Hilton property located on the Intercostal Waterway with great views,service and hospitality. The rooms are excellent with more than sufficient space to meet one needs. The best part of the hotel is the poolside bar. Excellent service in a quiet relaxing atmosphere that brings you down and helps get into the relax mode almost immediately. Highly recommend as a pre-cruise hotel experience - close to Port Everglades with lots of local restaurants to serve as a night before heading out to sea.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Marc K,
We’re so pleased to learn that you enjoyed our great views, service and hospitality! Our G Bar and Grill, poolside, is a favorite of guests and locals alike, an oasis of escape, surrounded by yachts and water. As the closest hotel to Port Everglades, we are a choice for pre- and post-cruise stays, and as you noted, there are about 20 restaurants along 17th Street within a 5 to 15 minute walk, and more that are accessible by the Water Taxi that stops right here and takes you up the Intracoastal Waterway and along the New River into the Las Olas Boulevard area. We hope to see you again soon.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina

Address: 1881 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel & Yacht Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hilton Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel Yacht Club
Grande Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.