We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pool ambassadoe Demetrious is the best!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina to your Saves list
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1881 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel & Yacht Club)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Rates From $169
Ranked #70 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
cincinnati
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“pool ambassadoe Demetrious is the best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Still a lovely building with a great pool. But right hand doesn't know what left hand is doing. Front desk people didn't know there was a printed calendar showing the week's activities. I had to bring mine from the room for them to see it.
Pool barman had :too much to do: to provide frozen fruit as the calendar offered. Then Demetrious introduced himself. He had frozen fruit, cooling towels, toys for kids, gave assistance with umbrellas. He had just started abd what a wonderful addition.

Room Tip: I like the ones that view the drawbridge.Stay away from North Tower if you want regular elevator ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear travelmomCincinnati,
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback about the activities calendar so that we can improve our communication among departments. We’re delighted that Demetrius took great care of you and your family; he is a joy to guests and team members alike.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    774
    524
    299
    227
See reviews for
503
903
152
555
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My experience at the hotel was an excellent one! I was very impressed with my room and the service that was provided. I was able to enjoy my vacation fully at take in the ambience. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone as it was a great jump start to my vacation in South Florida!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Angel D,
We’re happy you stayed with us and thanks for taking the time share your great experiences. Please visit us again when your travels bring you back to Fort Lauderdale.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

First off let me say I'm Diamond level with Hilton, have been for years, in general I have few complaints with the brand. This location is one that let me down. The hotel is in a great location for the airport, marina, convention center, and the beach. It has a modern feel with nice public spaces. Can't comment on the pool as I didn't try it....looked nice. Did go to the lobby bar it was ok but service was slow, it took 15-20 minutes to get a piece of cake to bring to the room. Speaking of the room, it's where I was most disappointed. The room was small and more importantly felt dirty and worn. The paint was scratched and chipped and had handprints on the doors. The plumbing fixtures had mineral buildup and even some mold around them. The bottom of the shower was tile but the grout was stained and dirty. Toilet ran all night and with a one night stay I really didn't want to deal with a maintenance guy for an hour. I asked if this was an upgrade and was told yes. I asked to switch rooms and was told they were booked up. All in all I don't think this hotel lives up to the Hilton standard and with other options in the immediate vicinity I can't say I'd visit again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear AmericanNomad70,
We appreciate your loyalty as a Diamond member. Thanks for staying with us and we’re happy to hear you enjoyed the location and our public spaces. But we’re sorry to hear that our guest room was so disappointing. We identified your room number so that we paint and deep clean the bathroom. We hope you will consider giving us another chance.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Book a room here only if you want a door that won't lock and staff who are completely disinterested in your plight. I couldn't even get them to swap rooms for me, so I booked out at midnight to find a room somewhere else. They promised a refund but the charges never got reversed from my credit card.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear William N,
We deeply apologize for the non-working lock and especially for staff who seemed disinterested in this basic security tool. We were sold out at the time which prevented a room move. We researched your folio and learned that you paid through a third party; we contacted that company to ask that they refund your charges. Thank you for sharing your candid feedback.
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Kentucky
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed 2 nights prior to cruise and 2 nights after. Had rooms in the tower. Rooms were clean. Pool was nice. Took free shuttle down to beach. Had dinner at the pool side bar one night. It was expensive. Ordered 4 hamburger plates, one chicken plate and 5 beers for $150.00. Hotel is right across from the port but you still need a ride to get to your ship. Took shuttle from hotel for $6.00 per person. Shuttle from hotel to airport is $7.00 per person. there is a drug store and places to eat about two blocks from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear AnnitaM,
We’re delighted you stayed with us before and after your cruise out of Port Everglades. We are the closest hotel to the port, although not a realistic walk especially with luggage. Our G Bar and Grill has lovely by-the-water ambiance. There are many restaurants and shops along 17th Street in the range of a half mile to a mile from us. Please stay with us again when your travels bring you back to Fort Lauderdale.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Excellent hotel with beautiful views and great Asian Fusion restaurant. Close to wonderful seafood restaurants and shopping centers. I have stayed here on business several times and never have been disappointed with anything about the hotel. Great for individuals or families.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Kathryn F,
We are delighted you enjoyed our views of the surrounding waters of Fort Lauderdale, the Venice of America. Nanking is new to our hotel, thank you for sharing your feedback. There is a lot to enjoy nearby on 17th Street, and the nearby Water Taxi can take you up and down the Intracoastal or to Las Olas Boulevard. We look forward to your next visit.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a poor hotel at best.
Vintage 1970 with updating
Spraying bugs in my room when I walked in.
Location near marina is nice but hotel is not.
Ran out of toilet paper after they cleaned room and had to call for paper.
Much better choices than this.

Room Tip: Try and get the $25 upgrade on Hilton honors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear RSTT3959,
Thank you taking time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy and we appreciate your feedback. While the hotel was built in the 80s, it was fully renovated in 2008 inspired by a “Havana chic” theme. We apologize for the pest issue; as in any tropical climate, insects will make themselves known, and we employ a professional pest control company that visits weekly for prevention and treatment as well as on demand. We also apologize that your room was not supplied with extra toilet paper, which is our standard; we will follow up with our housekeeping team. We hope you will give us another opportunity to offer a better experience.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina

Address: 1881 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel & Yacht Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hilton Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel Yacht Club
Grande Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.