We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Security” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina

Save Saved
You added Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1881 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel & Yacht Club)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Rates From $89
Ranked #71 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Washington, DC, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“No Security”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Book a room here only if you want a door that won't lock and staff who are completely disinterested in your plight. I couldn't even get them to swap rooms for me, so I booked out at midnight to find a room somewhere else. They promised a refund but the charges never got reversed from my credit card.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear William N,
We deeply apologize for the non-working lock and especially for staff who seemed disinterested in this basic security tool. We were sold out at the time which prevented a room move. We researched your folio and learned that you paid through a third party; we contacted that company to ask that they refund your charges. Thank you for sharing your candid feedback.
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    606
    687
    456
    264
    207
See reviews for
439
797
144
469
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, Kentucky
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed 2 nights prior to cruise and 2 nights after. Had rooms in the tower. Rooms were clean. Pool was nice. Took free shuttle down to beach. Had dinner at the pool side bar one night. It was expensive. Ordered 4 hamburger plates, one chicken plate and 5 beers for $150.00. Hotel is right across from the port but you still need a ride to get to your ship. Took shuttle from hotel for $6.00 per person. Shuttle from hotel to airport is $7.00 per person. there is a drug store and places to eat about two blocks from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear AnnitaM,
We’re delighted you stayed with us before and after your cruise out of Port Everglades. We are the closest hotel to the port, although not a realistic walk especially with luggage. Our G Bar and Grill has lovely by-the-water ambiance. There are many restaurants and shops along 17th Street in the range of a half mile to a mile from us. Please stay with us again when your travels bring you back to Fort Lauderdale.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Excellent hotel with beautiful views and great Asian Fusion restaurant. Close to wonderful seafood restaurants and shopping centers. I have stayed here on business several times and never have been disappointed with anything about the hotel. Great for individuals or families.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Kathryn F,
We are delighted you enjoyed our views of the surrounding waters of Fort Lauderdale, the Venice of America. Nanking is new to our hotel, thank you for sharing your feedback. There is a lot to enjoy nearby on 17th Street, and the nearby Water Taxi can take you up and down the Intracoastal or to Las Olas Boulevard. We look forward to your next visit.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a poor hotel at best.
Vintage 1970 with updating
Spraying bugs in my room when I walked in.
Location near marina is nice but hotel is not.
Ran out of toilet paper after they cleaned room and had to call for paper.
Much better choices than this.

Room Tip: Try and get the $25 upgrade on Hilton honors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear RSTT3959,
Thank you taking time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy and we appreciate your feedback. While the hotel was built in the 80s, it was fully renovated in 2008 inspired by a “Havana chic” theme. We apologize for the pest issue; as in any tropical climate, insects will make themselves known, and we employ a professional pest control company that visits weekly for prevention and treatment as well as on demand. We also apologize that your room was not supplied with extra toilet paper, which is our standard; we will follow up with our housekeeping team. We hope you will give us another opportunity to offer a better experience.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in the East Villa the first time, very nice, but the view was obscured by the palms. Had a tower room this time which had a great view from the balcony, but be sure you ask for the intracoastal view as opposed to the flat roof and 17th street bridge view. All the rooms seem to be very clean and well decorated.
Had a couple of drinks at the pool side bar (try the Lime in the Coconut) but the service was a bit scattered.
This is a very, very busy hotel, airline crews and cruise ship guests, regular guests. However, there is a seperate line for Hilton Honors guests and airline crews which eases the crush.
We planned to take the water taxi to dinner so bought our tickets, no extra charge, from the concierge which was a blessing. After 5 o'clock the fare goes down so the water taxis seem to run at capacity, at least on a Saturday. The stop at the Hilton is about half a block away. When the taxi came it was almost full and only those with tickets got on. People at the next several stops were also left to wait. Glad we took the concierge's advice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Although website claims they have "Heated Pool for year-round enjoyment" this is NOT true. Also much to be desired of cleanliness of hallways. Beds are low and linens flat/cold. Hotel receptionist instead of understanding our disappointments tried to defend the false advertisement and although she and manager said we could leave without our card being charged, it was charged 4 days later.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Draft Management Response to appear
Dear Ana M,
Rest assured, our pool is indeed heated year round. This time of year, when the outside temperatures are in the high 80s, the heaters do not need to turn on. They are controlled by a thermostat to turn on if the pool temperature drops to 85 degrees; at present the water in the pool is 87 degrees. Thank you for sharing your observation about the hallways; your comments were provided to our Executive Housekeeper. Our platform beds will be replaced with a more traditional frame next year. We have investigated the charges to your credit card and they were refunded to your card on 10/23; you will see the refund in five to seven business days, depending upon your bank. We sincerely apologize that you were disappointed.
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina in FL for one night before a cruise. We had an appetizer and drink at the bar, the bartender was very nice but once a few more people showed up he had trouble handling everyone himself and it took quite some time to get our bill. We went to the sushi restaurant later and got a great deal on a sushi plate during happy hour - would highly recommend this! Checking in and out was easy, the breakfast choices in the cafe they have are slim at best so I would recommend either buying a real breakfast in their restaurant or just skipping it and going someplace else. Overall the stay was very good and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina

Address: 1881 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel & Yacht Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#71 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hilton Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel Yacht Club
Grande Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.