We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down and dated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina to your Saves list
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1881 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel & Yacht Club)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$99 Summer Rates
Ranked #68 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Let down and dated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Pre cruise overnight stay. What a let down. Very dated and in need of a makeover. To me the Hilton should be stylish and luxurious, but not here. Best way to say how disappointed I was, was when I went for a shower, felt like I was in a communal school shower room (I am going back to when I was in school in the 80,s ). Oh and how do you know what is hot and cold on the shower, the red and blue, badly cut stickers, tell you, very poor! The staff when we checked in were not very helpful either, obviously at the end of the day they forget to be civil and smile, because the morning staff the next day were far more helpful.

Would really like to thank Robert, from front of house. There is a waiting area when you are waiting for your hotel to pier transfer and when our transfer bus driver failed to announce he was here and left without us and another couple, Robert made sure we got transport to the pier, thank you, it was appreciated.

As a footnote if you haven't cruised before and thinking of booking, go western Carribean first, this trip was for eastern and we were disappointed, western is far better.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    889
    613
    338
    250
See reviews for
575
1,048
163
634
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I called ahead to make sure they would be able to charge the company card that I reserved the room with, even though I wouldn't have it in person. They said I was fine and did not need to fill out any authorizations. Of course, when I get there it's another story and a total hassle. Didn't get the sense they care a ton.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our family stayed here for one night prior to a cruise. Thanks to the reviews on TripAdvisor, we were able to avoid some pitfalls: overpriced parking, food, and drinks.

That said, we were unexpectedly upgraded (via Gold membership) to one of the towers and had a fantastic room with a view straight into the cruise port. The beds, balcony, shower, etc in our room were all in top condition. Despite the crowds, check-in was simple and efficient with three friendly people working registration.

We arrived by taxi so had no parking fee to pay. We enjoyed the pool area (up to Hilton standards), but walked west along the sidewalk for ten minutes or so to a number of restaurants there for dinner. For those interested in buying wine, it is about a mile each way to Total Wine (a bit south of 17th Street in the Harbor Shops).

For breakfast we had two free coupons via Gold membership for their continental breakfast. This was ok. However, for the $10 value ($16 for a full breakfast buffet), if we hadn't had the coupons, we would certainly have just walked up the street to something like a Starbucks instead.

Taxis: The taxi fees from here to even just the closest cruise port can still be $15 if there's much traffic (often the case when cruise ships are being boarded). To/from the airport can be $20 with tip with heavy traffic as well.

All things considered, if arriving by taxi and eating in the nearby establishments -- and having a chance of a tower room -- we would consider staying here again prior to a cruise.

Room Tip: From what we heard about the conditions of other rooms, trying to get an upgrade to a room in one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Room was very clean & comfortable, could probably do with some renovation. Food by pool expensive & the service there was slow. Also we think the $21 per day for parking is steep. Thought the concierge was very helpful when we asked her about things to doin & around area.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This facility is aged and needs some tender loving care,but you are paying top dollar. It will cost you $21 a day to self park (crazy),drinks at the pool bar are $11 for a mixed drink, $18 for a burger, $3.75 for a coffee in a paper cup. Lot of cruise and airline crew business. No shuttle to the airport you have to take a cab. Upon getting a cab, the hilton valet managed to shove my bag into the trunk over the latch causing a 6 in. gash in the luggage. Kind of hard to prove once your at the airport. Great location if you like boats. River taxi rides available. This place needs a cleaning. Rug's are stained, bath area needs work.

Room Tip: In the tower roadside room if you enjoy watching the cruise ships arrive and depart. Nice balcony fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I was worried about staying here because of all of the negative reviews I had read and i am very hard to please. I soon realised I had no need to worry. We asked for a room in the tower which turned out to be lovely, the room was very clean and the view from it was terrific and it had a great balcony. Ok the carpet was a bit dated but hey that's not a big deal.
The staff were lovely. If your cruising go ahead and book it, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the tower overlooking the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel we were booked into for the night before a Celebrity Cruise. The rooms weren't huge but big enough and clean, with a balcony that overlooked the flyover - a little noisy. They handled the cruise passengers very well though and it was a smooth job getting the correct bus to the ship. Not bad!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina

Address: 1881 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel & Yacht Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Hilton Hotels, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hilton Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel Yacht Club
Grande Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.