We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina

Save Saved
You added Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1881 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel & Yacht Club)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy Rates From $89
Ranked #71 of 134 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Stunning Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

In November we were looking for a downtown hotel for a few nights at the end of our 3 wk trip in south west Florida. We booked this on an unpublished rate deal & when we learned which hotel we were going to & read the reviews we were dismayed to say the least & not looking forward to one bit! However we couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised - the location was great - several good eateries within walking distance...can recommend Chuck's, opposite Embassy Suites, stunning river, marina & cruise port views. The rooms were very clean, bedding changed every day throughout our 4 night stay & decent sixed balconies with table & chairs. My only negative, in comparision to other hotels in Florida was the room size...on the small side but well equipped. Wifi charged outwith public areas & even in the business centre but if you have your own device then not a problem as the all the public areas are extremely pleasant with lots of seating, tables & even day beds! Would be very happy to stay here again on our next trip

Room Tip: Higher floors in the tower have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    589
    671
    452
    260
    203
See reviews for
444
804
145
478
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Cumbrae
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is in a very good location if your arriving or departing on a cruise ship and is minutes from the Port Everglades terminal. Initial hiccup with room on a lower floor and a view of a palm tree quickly sorted out and moved to another room on a $20 dollar a night upgrade. Cruise companies only book guests into the first 7 floors of the hotel and your view can be very hit and miss and as usual you don't know this until you turn up. Hotel also allowed us into our room earlier than they had too and porters were excellent and very helpful. Food and drink pricier than you would normally expect to pay in the U.S. and the service was a bit of a hit and miss at the pool bar and also in the main restaurant at breakfast time.Rooms very comfortable and clean and maids were excellent throughout our 3 day stay.Taxis from the hotel run off the meter and are reasonable enough,we never had an American Taxi driver throughout our stay and half a dozen journeys later still none to be seen.Have they all moved back to N.Y.???
Overall stay at the Hilton was very good and all staff very pleasant and helpful from the front door and throughout and we will return.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade or a room facing the port and enjoy all the Cruise Liners coming and going and wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I spent just one night at this hotel; it has a great location, within walking distance of various shops and close to the cruise ships. They have a bar located right in the marina which serves good drinks and great food.

The service was very good and the view to the marina and proximity to all these boats made me feel like and millionaire. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the marina and thus I recommend this view. However, the front rooms overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here a year ago for a cruise, but this year was even better. Last year we had to wait until 4 pm check in time. This year we were ushered right up to our room upon arrival at about 1:30. Staff was super courteous and friendly, and they upgraded us to the tower with a balcony. This was all greatly appreciated. Our friends got a corner balcony room.

Rooms were very clean. Bedding was luxurious. Mattress was comfy. Pool is beautiful. For the price and location to the terminal and airport, this place can hardly be beat.

One thing, they could add a coffee maker to the room.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

After driving to Ft Lauderdale from Melbourne this today, we were road weary and ready to get to our hotel. We lived in FLL several years ago so we knew where this property was. The website said it had been renovated so we were looking forward to spending several days here. Well, our room is on the far end of the west wing and on the 2nd floor. We do have a balcony, it has a view of the parking lot, a major road is right out side. The sound of the traffic is loud on a Sunday night. Can't wait for rush hour. The halls are really dirty as are the elevators. You pay to self park and it is an extra charge for WIFI in the room. There is free WIFI in the lobby and on the nice deck right off the lobby. It is in a nice central location. The staff is "SE Florida friendly" meaning they act as though they are going out of their way to help. I hope not to stay here again. This hotel is listed on some sites as 4 stars.....trust me it is not!

Room Tip: The rooms on the north side of the west wing will have a view of the marina, the upper floors of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed here with my family before going on a cruise. The hotel is a $15 cab ride from the airport. It's within walking distance of some places to eat. If you're looking for fast food, you'll need to walk 1+ miles. Denny's is also a mile away if you are looking for cheap breakfast food.

We did not eat at the Hilton. The prices are substantially higher than most local places to eat, and I don't think the food quality was worth the high price. It isn't bad by any means, but it wasn't that good to justify spending $6 plus 18% gratuity on fries.

Check-in took about 10 minutes, as it was busy when we got there. The lobby is spacious but in the morning and evening, it's packed shoulder to shoulder like a concert. Everyone congregates there for some reason and it makes it difficult to move around the hotel.

There's several different areas with rooms. If you get the rooms in the main part of the hotel - the tower I think it's called - you have a nice view of the marina. We had rooms with a view of the bridge and the street, but I wasn't looking for a view.

Prices were moderate. We opted not to stay on the weekend because staying on a Saturday doubled the price of the rooms for the trip.

You are within walking distance of the Royal Caribbean cruise terminal entrance but I suggest taking a cab because it's a long walk once you get past the main gate.

The hotel was very quiet. I had no trouble sleeping.

The rooms are ok, nothing to write home about. My room was fine. My brother's room was supposedly ready, but all of the towels and garbage from the previous occupant were left in the room. He was given a new room. The sheets were stained, and there was no iron in the room (it had an ironing board). They ended up refunding his money for that room.

I have a lot of electronics to plug in, and finding adequate outlets was a challenge. None are located in convenient locations and I had to move the desk (not an easy task) to use 2 outlets.

They have an outdoor bar, deck, and pool. This is a very large area and is a nice place to relax if you want to kill time. You can walk the docks and see yachts. You will also have convenient access to the water taxi.

Wifi costs extra.

Room Tip: If you want a good view, make sure you ask for this
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel was a very pleasant surprise based on the costs of the room. We had a marina view and the room was large, clean and quite lovely. It is starting to look a little worn but I suspect because of the high volume of clients they do not have time to keep the painting up etc. The location for any cruisers is perfect. There is always a concierge available and cabs available to you immediately. The only downside is the food and bar costs are way too expensive and I would highly recommend walking a block or two off the property to find a variety of restaurants with much more reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Marina Side would be perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina

Address: 1881 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel & Yacht Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hilton Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel Yacht Club
Grande Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.