We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful blast from the past” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lago Mar Resort and Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lago Mar Resort and Club to your Saves list
Lago Mar Resort and Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1700 South Ocean Lane, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Special
Ranked #11 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Greenville, SC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful blast from the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I surprised my husband with a birthday trip to Fort Lauderdale, where we first met and were married. I actually lived in an apartment up the street in the early 1970's. I could not have chosen a more appropriate place to take a walk down memory lane. The staff is outstanding, and the resort is beautiful. Although we only spent two nights, I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a 5-star experience. Coconuts down on the beach is an excellent place to unwind after a day on the beautiful beach.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    396
    93
    36
    23
See reviews for
708
354
20
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coastal Ct
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have been coming to this resort for something like 25 years and it just keeps getting better. This visit was to celebrate a Birthday and our upcoming Anniversary. We reserved our Executive Suite as usual and the view couldn't have been better. Eric at the front desk was helpful as always and made our stay so enjoyable. It was a nice surprise to see that the hotel no longer adds an 18% gratuity to everything as I believe that should be left up to the guests and we usually tip at least that much anyway. It was also nice to hear some music out at the pool which I know we have wanted for years.
We really appreciate everything that was done to help us celebrate our Anniversary and birthday. Looking forward to our next visit to this beautiful resort.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieburg
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

After looking through the big choice of hotels in Fort Lauderdale on the internet, I decided to go with the Lago Mar Resort. It had the best reviews and now I know why!!
The hotel ist just wonderful! Rooms are spacious and nice, the pool area with all the lovely plants is great and there are a lot of facilities to keep the whole family entertained. The best thing is that you can just walk through the garden onto the vast amazing beach!! The restaurant is also very good. If you want shops or go to other restaurants you need a car. Then again most people rent a car in Florida anyway and the hotel offers plenty of free parking places. Port Everglades is just a short drive away. Ideal if you want to spend a few relaxing days on the beach before cruising off.
As the hotel is very family friendly, there might be a lot of children in the pool area! I prefer it nice and quiet but all in all I absolutely loved it! Ask for a room that overlooks the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the beautiful pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great location right by the water and just a short drive from restaurants and shops.

Staff is excellent and always willing to help. They really make you feel at home and to me this is the highlight of this hotel.

Food is ok and reasonably priced.

It feels like a true family ran hotel (as opposed to a big chain hotel) and they make you feel like you have been coming for years.

Highly recommended.

I does not feel like a big chain hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved this hotel and the Fort Lauderdale area. We knew when booking that the hotel was a little off the beaten track but preferred the fact that the beach was one side and the intercoastal waterway the other, with no main road in sight. We hired a car to go a little further afield but the Galleria shopping centre, and Las Olas Blvd were easily accessible by bus from the main road which is a few minutes walk away. Even the walk to the Jungle Queen boat trip only takes about 20 minutes. As we were travelling from the UK and the holiday was quite expensive we booked a standard room. We were given one on the 5th floor with views of the pool and the beach. The room was very clean and I couldn't fault it at all. It was a special holiday for us to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary so I doubt if we'll get the chance to return but I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing trip to south Florida.

Room Tip: Nice views fromthe 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here as a family with two adults and two teenagers. The amazing experience started with our arrival. We were treated as special guests even though it was only our first visit to the hotel. I often find that you are treated as a number in many of the large hotel chains. It was lovely to be treated as a person. The rooms are great. We were in a one bedroom suite which was ample in size for the four of us. The refrigerator and microwave were useful for storing and warming up snacks for our stay. The resort is right on the beach. There isn't even a road to cross. We enjoyed using the resorts many facilities. We played tennis. The resort supplied rackets and balls at no charge. We played table tennis. We swam in the heated pool. Thank you to everyone at Lago Mar for a wonderful stay. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and myself spent a long weekend at Lago Mar. We had not been there in several years and we were hoping it would not disappoint. We had a fabulous time. The lady at check in was very polite. The ground and our room were very clean and comfortable. Our suite was cleaned before lunch time every day. This will always be our go to hotel while visiting Ft. Lauderdale!!!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lago Mar Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lago Mar Resort and Club

Address: 1700 South Ocean Lane, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lago Mar Resort and Club 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Fort Lauderdale beachfront resort that is decidedly, and purposefully, different. Understated, not loud. Gracious, not pretentious. Deferential, not presumptuous. In short, a sophisticated retreat where you can appreciate the enduring traditions of genuine hospitality. With its spectacular 500 foot private beach and secluded location emcompassing 10 acres in the exclusive Harbor Beach neighborhood of Fort Lauderdale, Lago Mar Resort and Club invites you to discover one of the best vacation resorts to stay in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lago Mar Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lago Mar Resort And Club Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Lago Mar Hotel
Ft Lauderdale Lago Mar
Mar Lago Hotel
Lago Mar Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lago Mar Resort and Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.