We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lago Mar Resort and Club

Save Saved
You added Lago Mar Resort and Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lago Mar Resort and Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1700 South Ocean Lane, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Special
Ranked #12 of 134 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We only stayed in this hotel for one night, right before a cruise but it was great! The grounds and beach were beautiful. The room we stayed in was a huge suite. I'm not sure if all the rooms are like that but it was the size of a 1 bedroom apartment. It had a large balcony, large bathroom with a shower and tub and in the living room there was a pull out couch and a table for 4. Everything was very clean and well kept too. The pool area was very cute, it has a bar outside, beach chairs, a life size chess set and a playground for the kids. The beach was right on the other side of the pool and is huge! A couple min walk from the edge of the beach to the water and very nice sand! There are also chairs and umbrellas out and I believe available for rent.

The restaurant's food was delicious for dinner and had a nice buffet for breakfast in the morning. There was also a nice gift shop/cafe.

We did get a good deal on this through a group/travel agent but I don't know if we could afford it otherwise. If we could, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    802
    356
    88
    36
    22
See reviews for
641
320
20
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Super clean, pretty grounds, right on the beach. But for the money, it's so not worth it and there are other options. Next time we'll stay next door at a condo for rent via trip advisor, that has its own beach too, and pay $150 a night: there'snotenough value added to warrent the cost. The meals are awkward and over priced. You are charged fir everthing, to an awkward degree: a bottle of water is $5. The restaurant and service are particularly awkward: Bad service, expensive. Our waiter didn't know the menu. If you have nothing but money to burn and don't mind spending it on something that is not first tier (our room's fire alarm chirped all night, there was construction above us all the next day), go for it. Oh: we got seated at the kitchen doors in an empty dining room at breakfast. Huh. Then froze aoutside at dinner, then watched a patio heater we had asked for be set up for the table next to us. Hmmm? When you are paying this kind of money, it does matter. Won't be coming back.

Room Tip: Get on the 3rd floor or higher to get air views and less noise from the courtyard. Book early toge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham, ct
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

For me the rating is actually between averge and very good. Staff was ALL very friendly and helpful, which makes for a pleasant overall experience. Very much a family resort, so too many kids for me. If the smaller pool was designated adults only, it would be easier on vacationing adults. Don't mind the kids so much, but the screaming is out of control.......parents mostly oblivious. Food was okay, but without much imagination. The soda shop prices were truly robbery..... $4.99 for a single sleeve of saltine crackers! Only bought them because husband was quite sick, and was trying to get a little in his stomach. I can accept an up charge, but that was ridiculous. Only people shopping in there, are those who are already paying a fair price to stay at the hotel. Beach was nice. Plenty of chairs and shade, both free and upgrades available. Parking was plentiful, and easy. Overall, a nice hotel, but for couples there may be more suitable choices.

Room Tip: Rooms along pool are very noisy during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This place was fantastic! Top to bottom. Room, maid service, front desk, concierge, room service. Restaurants had great food. Beach was very clean as well as the pool. There are charges for an upgraded chair and umbrella at the beach. The beach was meticulously clean. I wish there were shelves under the mirrors in our suite had to store things on top of the toilet. The suite we were in had a great kitchenette very comfy bed and furniture. Sundries and store was pricey. Food was at a good price. Overall a wonderful experience.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great location, tucked away in residential area yet short drive to shopping, dining, etc.. Very nicely maintained, great wide beach, top notch service (& friendly). Only downsides...a bit too many children running around for my liking and the food...nothing to write home about. Good value and I will return.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms overlooking pool are preferred over exterior rooms overlooking parking/adjoining pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I searched a lot for a hotel I could stay alone with my three children (11,9 and 2). Lago Mar was for me the perfect 9 days gateway in south Florida. I booked an appartment (side pool apartment) with a full kitchen and I was able to enjoy the perfect mix between complete independence (self cooking, laundry room, swiming pool with playground, nearly private beach, mini golf, etc...) and the support from hotel services whenever I needed (casual restaurants, daily room cleaning and towels renewals, beach towels, tennis courts, etc..). My two older kids slept in the twin sofa bed in the living room and I had the little one with me in the king size bed.
I would reccomend this resort to any family that wants to balance apartment convinience with ready to order hotel services, including a spa if needed.
I particulary valued the fact that their were not additional fees or charges: guest parking, mini golf, beach towels, tennis, laundry room, etc are all truly free. If you want night action, music and kids scheduled activities, this is NOT the place. But if you want to enjoy your kids in a quiet and safe place, this place is perfect. Good base for daily trips with children (Billie swamps, snorkeling, butterfly park and the fort lauderdale science museum can each one easely fill up a whole afternoon.

Room Tip: A full kitchen is highly reccomended if you are going to stay over 3 days. Supermarkets at 5 min dri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here for a family event. It was perfect. I really can't say enought about it. Wonderful private beach, pool, room. Wonderfully decorated. People are very friendly and helpful. Parking is included. Located in a quiet area of Ft. Lauderdale. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lago Mar Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lago Mar Resort and Club

Address: 1700 South Ocean Lane, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach , Downtown Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#2 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lago Mar Resort and Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Fort Lauderdale beachfront resort that is decidedly, and purposefully, different. Understated, not loud. Gracious, not pretentious. Deferential, not presumptuous. In short, a sophisticated retreat where you can appreciate the enduring traditions of genuine hospitality. With its spectacular 500 foot private beach and secluded location emcompassing 10 acres in the exclusive Harbor Beach neighborhood of Fort Lauderdale, Lago Mar Resort and Club invites you to discover one of the best vacation resorts to stay in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lago Mar Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lago Mar Resort And Club Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Lago Mar Hotel
Ft Lauderdale Lago Mar
Mar Lago Hotel
Lago Mar Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lago Mar Resort and Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.