We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil place in the sun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lago Mar Resort and Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lago Mar Resort and Club to your Saves list
Lago Mar Resort and Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1700 South Ocean Lane, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Special
Ranked #11 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A tranquil place in the sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the Lago Mar hotel at 05.00 hrs after a long flight from South America we we welcomed and whisked to our room, perfect location overlooking the Ocean with Balcony. This family run hotel for over 50 years by the Banks family has everything you require, for every age with two swimming pools, Tennis Court, Spa , two poolside restaurants and Deck Chair facilities on the Beach.
The Restaurant is excellent and the staff throughout the hotel fantastic. Definitely a hotel to stay for a few weeks during an English winter!
I feel the hotel should include Breakfast in the Room Rate and for Residents the Beach Deck Chairs cost should be incorporated in the room rate

Room Tip: Always ensure you have a room in the Main Building with an Ocean View on the 4th or 5th floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    397
    93
    36
    23
See reviews for
711
355
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

As Owner of a Travel Agency, I was eager to visit the Lago Mar. First, our suite on the beach was lovely and comfortable. The view was outstanding and made the accomodation lovely. However, what brought me to the hotel was the pool and beach which was really a mess. First, we decided to try out the beach. They give you old, chairs to use for free. If you want a nice chair or umbrella - it will cost you! The man who runs the beach is very unfriendly. We decided then to sit by the pool. While the area was a nice pool area, the people who work the outdoor food and bar area have to be the worst I have ever encountered. They were rude and it was an ordeal to get anyone to wait on you. My husband and I finally were able to order lunch and it was very tasty, but my Sons had lunch in the Soda Shoppe and that was a disaster. The older lady there, was so unfriendly and the food served there was not as good as McDonalds. Would we try it again? Maybe ... if the price was right, but probably not anytime soon. Going to the Marriott Harbor Beach this weekend - hoping for a better time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was my third annual getaway for business and pleasure at the Lago mar Resort. As always, the staff members are courteous, helpful, and provide great service. The grounds are well-kept, the food is delicious, the beach is super clean, and the rooms are very tidy. I literally have no complaints about the Lago Mar. Although you won't find super modern "amenities" such as granite this and stainless that, the suites and very well-equipped and very clean. The showers are great - my room had a fantastic rainfall shower head and lovely water pressure. The beds are very comfortable and the sheets feel luxurious, the bath towels are thick and plush. Nice touch that the bathroom in my room had a scale, a plush robe, an illuminated vanity mirror, and plenty of counter space. The Lago Mar takes amazing care of me every year and I know the company I'm a part of looks forward to coming back every January! Go and say hi to Fran from Brooklyn in the Soda Shop for me!

Room Tip: 1st floor beach front rooms can't be beat, but the 5th floor beach-facing rooms have unforgettab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville TN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Thank you Lago Mar Resort for a wonderful end to our cruise vacation. Although we only stayed one night, Erich was gracious enough to accommodate our need for early check in and late check out due to cruise and airline departure scheduling. The room was very spacious and inviting with very comfortable beds, the private beach was beautiful, and the grounds and swimming pools were lovely.
Although service was lacking, slow, and I felt we were intruding on our servers time, our meal was beautifully presented and delicious.
Thank you Michael for the limo ride and thank you Manny for excellent service, and I'm sorry I can't remember your name, but thank you The Floridian is the place to eat!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My company held it's Sales Kickoff meeting at this location in the middle of January. What a great place! The restaurant is not great (breakdown in kitchen operations, not the wait staff - my waiter "Guy" was great), but all the meals prepared for our meetings, buffet lunches, dinners, etc. were superb. In fact, one person on the wait staff casually heard me remark to a colleague that I had a food allergy, and while watching me pick through the meal offered, went back in the kitchen an prepared my own custom plated meal, sans the offending item (onions)! She did this about four times that week just to ensure I had plenty to eat. Amazing - Ritz Carlton service on a Lago Mar budget! I'm recommending this place to all my family and friends, voting "yes" for our company meetings when in Florida, and will be taking my family here at least once a year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We used to stay at the Lago Mar a couple of times a year and then started going to other places for a little variety. Lago Mar was always a beautiful, immaculately kept resort with great service and a beautiful beach. We revisited the Lago Mar at the end of September for 3 nights after probably about a 10 year absence, and found it to be almost identical to the way I remembered it. The front desk staff even remembered us, and the cabana and poolside service was excellent, especially considering the very oppressive heat, after what I understand was an unbearably hot summer. All in all, it was a perfect weekend getaway, and I wouldn't hesitate to do it again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI area
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This resort is a fabulous place to stay, especially if you have children! The pools are warm, inviting and spacious. The food is reasonably priced and the service was beyond excellent. The fitness center was nice. The maintenance of the grounds was immaculate, and the private beach was beautiful. This was our second trip to the Lago Mar and I hope we can visit again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lago Mar Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lago Mar Resort and Club

Address: 1700 South Ocean Lane, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lago Mar Resort and Club 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Fort Lauderdale beachfront resort that is decidedly, and purposefully, different. Understated, not loud. Gracious, not pretentious. Deferential, not presumptuous. In short, a sophisticated retreat where you can appreciate the enduring traditions of genuine hospitality. With its spectacular 500 foot private beach and secluded location emcompassing 10 acres in the exclusive Harbor Beach neighborhood of Fort Lauderdale, Lago Mar Resort and Club invites you to discover one of the best vacation resorts to stay in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lago Mar Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lago Mar Resort And Club Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Lago Mar Hotel
Ft Lauderdale Lago Mar
Mar Lago Hotel
Lago Mar Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lago Mar Resort and Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.