We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Place. Nice to ypu wallet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Universal Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Universal Palms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33390   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
San Diego, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Place. Nice to ypu wallet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

3rd time we have stayed. We love it
Clean and friendly, 20 mins to beach

Daniela at the front desk is great and a shining example of great customer service. Simply awesome

Will stay again
Thx Daniela !!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    223
    94
    66
    70
See reviews for
196
144
51
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torinto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I got the room rate of $60.00/night via Travel Pony.
Staff-friendly.
Lobby-nice.
Room-clean & looked like it was recently renovated (partially)
Noisy bed
Bathroom was not. Tub with rusty crack at drain.
Water pressure sucked
Pool-6/10
Train-LOUD...VERY LOUD
No breakfast served. We were told it was because they were not busy enough !!!!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We spent 10 days at the hotel and it was a very good experience. The room was very comfortable and clean. The staff amazing. Ms. Maritza, Mr. Eddy and Ms.Pamela were really friendly and gave us very good advices about the place to visit.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

I initially only was only going to stay for 3 nights because I thought I might not like the place. I spoke to Maritza on the phone prior to coming to the hotel and she assured me that she had a nice room waiting for me. I stayed in one of their suites and I was pleasantly surprised how spacious it was. 2 flat screen televisions nice kitchen and living room areas. I was very pleased. Going downstairs right now to reserve the next 4 days of my stay! Best bang for my buck!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Universal Palms very much. The staff here were truly remarkable. They were so at tentative and made sure my mother and i were always happy. Especially Marxtiza, she worked at the front desk monday through friday and no matter what my request was or any issues I had, she went above and beyond to get it done. I had a parking lot view but because I was vacationing with my mother she moved us to the poolside which was truly beautiful to see night or day. I would definitely stay in this hotel and recommend it to everyone else.

Room Tip: choose a room viewing the pool, its truly beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I've been going to hotels for the last 25 years and this is the first one I have been to where it is an extra to have a microwave and a refrigerator in your room well it's actually not an extra because they do not have them

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Assistant General Manager Joel Niedle and staff ( Shawn, Maritza. Olmide and Jeff ) thank you very much for making my stay so remarkable, for being so kind, professional and going that extra mile, Words can not began to express my gratitude to Mr. Niedle
for his generosity. I was very pleased with how beautiful the hotel, pool and interior especially the lobby area was, very nice, very well-maintained and front staff was so hands-on. I highly recommend a raise for the entire staff. Mr. Niedle, thank you again for going above and beyond to accomodate me. I highly recommend this hotel to travelors visiting the beautiful Ft. Lauderdale area.

Room Tip: Rm 508 is a very nice room facing the pool area, very relaxing and fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Universal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal Palms Hotel

Address: 4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33390
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#28 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal Palms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Universal Palms Hotel is one block from Lockhart Stadium in the Cypress Creek business district, 11 miles from Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport, and 4 miles from the beach. Adjacent to Interstate 95, the hotel is four miles east of Florida's Turnpike and Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, nine miles from downtown Fort Lauderdale (Las Olas Boulevard), 10 miles from Port Everglades and Coconut Creek Casino, 13 miles from Sawgrass Mills, and 24 miles from Sawgrass Recreation Park (Everglades). Hotel amenities include the sundeck and pool, garden courtyard and exercise room. The hotel also offers free parking, Wi-Fi access in lobby and pool areas, and one of the largest pools in Ft. Lauderdale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Universal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palacio Fort Lauderdale
Hotel El Palacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Universal Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.